Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
17,554 ratings
5,287 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CS
Aug 26, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

SD
Aug 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filter by:

4376 - 4400 of 5,243 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Robert A

Dec 7, 2016

The course was really interesting and provide diverse points of view about the way how we eat. I really like the different perspectives provided by the presenters.

By Marianne M

Feb 11, 2016

Interesting lectures with helpful tips for staying healthy. I would like to have seen more specific examples or supplementary articles to support the information.

By Heather M

May 4, 2017

It was a really great primer! I would not pay for a certificate for the class but loved the addition of a respected author. I'd love a second level of this class!

By Olga S

Dec 27, 2016

this course is really helpful for people who wants to change their eating habits for the best. this course will teach you how to make first step to healthy food.

By Liliana B

Apr 11, 2020

It is very well done but I would have likely been listened to different speakers, in particular scientists and doctors who work in this area of nutrition health.

By Nursultan S

Aug 10, 2019

The course is very helpful. It explains basic and simple rules of nutrition that most of people are unaware. Simply by following those rules, we can be healthy.

By Haley B

Jun 27, 2016

This was a great course in learning more about how and why we eat the way we do. I enjoyed the detailed information I learned, and highly recommend this class.

By Teresita c

May 5, 2020

Entretenido! A veces un poco demasiado básico, con datos interesantes sobre todo en la cuarta semana. En general un punto de vista equilibrado que se agradece!

By RUBI Y

Feb 22, 2018

With the absolutely wonderful lecture, students and learn a lot from the course.But hopefully there will be more professional and advance information involved.

By Juliana

Jan 31, 2016

Course breaks down nutrition simply to someone who is new to a healthy lifestyle, or someone who just wants to refresh their memory on the basics to nutrition.

By Dorota K

Nov 23, 2020

The course contains very useful and very basic information about food. It is presented in a pleasant and interesting form. I really enjoyed doing this course.

By Brenda W

Oct 23, 2020

Pretty basic course if you have already done any nutritional reading. I did get more understanding about types of fats and reminders about nutritional labels.

By Emily S

Aug 25, 2020

This is a good, basic course. A lot of it is common sense though. I really enjoyed the first week's content and was hoping the other weeks would be like this.

By Jordanna M

Jun 8, 2017

Very basic but high quality information. I was disappointed that all the recipes at the end were gluten free, even though very few people need to avoid gluten

By Yongsi C

May 12, 2017

Very helpful information. Simple enough to remember, easy enough to follow every day. Recommended to those who are looking for the first step to eat healthy.

By Amanda B R

Apr 7, 2017

loved the course. I believe this course is vital to all American's today. I believe this class should be a necessary class offered in our children's schools.

By Shinai G

May 26, 2016

Learned a lot of the history of food and procedures it goes through to come to our table. This course helped me start making healthier decisions day to day.

By Maria G

Jan 17, 2020

Very comprehensive. thank you.I would like more specific knowledge about the nutrients of the food and couple of suggestions about the combination of food.

By John M

Nov 20, 2019

Great for someone that knows nothing about Nutrition. Not so great if one wants to go significantly more in-depth. It's a great foundation for it, however.

By Stanislav K

Feb 23, 2016

Good course in a sense of introduction to healthy eating habits. Would like to see more advanced courses with larger emphasis on vegetarian/vegan lifestyle

By Clara D

Mar 17, 2020

The basics for understanding how to take control over your food intake.

A great course that will help you understand how to improve personal eating habits.

By Emiko M

Feb 11, 2017

This corse is very useful as a basic learning of food and health. If you are interested in how to control your health through food, I recommend it to you.

By Sunday H

Mar 5, 2016

Very engaging. Well presented and friendly. I would recommend this to high school students and really anyone who wants a basic primer on eating healthier.

By ANAJWALA A A

Jun 30, 2020

It's been honoured to get basic information about food and nutrition .Content was good to experience , many new things came across me through this course

By Pablo I R

Apr 11, 2020

Está muy didáctico y entretenido. Tal vez un poco más de información respecto a como funcionan los nutrientes en nuestro organismo hubiera estado bueno.