Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,096 ratings
7,286 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

NF

Dec 5, 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

TL

Sep 30, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filter by:

6151 - 6175 of 7,336 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Abha A

Mar 11, 2018

Really simple course! Great visual aid as well. However, I would like it to be a bit more harder (and maybe customizable for vegetarians). It could be longer and more detailed too.

By Barbara M M

Feb 12, 2016

Really interesting! Now a days I act suspicious about the food I'm buying. It's a journey to integrate this information to a healthy lifestyle, the workshop is great help for that.

By Dua J

Sep 14, 2020

it was very nicely explained, and I enjoyed taking this course. but I feel like it could have been a little more informative, other than that it was a course totally worth taking.

By Sỹ H N

Nov 19, 2019

A very well designed course for beginners in the nutrition field like me. It helps me understand the basics of science and inspires me to cook, eat and live better. Thanks Maya!

By Jennifer L

Dec 14, 2020

A great course in terms of information covered and quality of videos. I felt like the beginning of the course was more informative than the latter but overall it was still good.

By Sabina M

Oct 28, 2020

Great topic, simple yet clear however seems like things I have already known as an informed individual who does her own research in order to be healthy so I’m giving it 4 stars.

By Mikaela F

Oct 13, 2020

Very interesting and easy to complete. I learned a lot, but there were also some parts that were a little basic. But overall a great course to get an intro to food and health!

By Olga N

Apr 18, 2016

It is a very basic course, very useful for general public. But if your specialization is nutrition or public health, this course is way too easy and does not have enough info.

By Jaina C

Jan 14, 2021

Super easy and fun to follow along! So much information is packed into such a small course! Highly reccomend for beginners or people who just want something interesting to do

By Lucie S

May 10, 2017

Great introduction course about nutrition and healthy eating habits. It really helps to make better food choices when shopping groceries by following some of the useful tips.

By mingyou

May 24, 2022

First two weeks were pretty useful, the rest were kind of pointless. The last week of lessons were just all recipes and cooking videos. Wanted to learn more about nutrition.

By Dattatray D

Apr 24, 2021

Really an amazing experience and i have explored the new angle of food that it is not just a source of calories more than that it is a basic functional unit of human health.

By MUHAMMAD M I

Apr 17, 2020

I have learnt some different issues which things i do mistakenly to consume food. It will help me to make a good healthier diet and also help me to change my food behavior.

By Anna F

Mar 21, 2017

The information is helpful and practical, but the recipes at the end with all that butter and eggs just do not correspond to the message of this course to eat mostly plants

By Virginie V G D P

Jun 17, 2021

Very straight forward, lacks bit of depth in my opinion. However, it was informative enough to make important changes to my eating habits. Looking forward to learn more.

By NDI B B

Sep 24, 2020

This course has changed my perception on some eating habits.

I will make a better society from the knowledge I gathered.

I am so much happy with the modules of this course

By Glyn W

Apr 6, 2020

All the information was great but for €35 and you get a downloadable certificate that's pretty cheap, if was a employer and i saw a piece of printed paper, I would laugh

By pedro p c c

Jan 7, 2020

I'll gladly will do the continuation of this if you make another course. Thanks for the information as always, nice tips to give to parents who attend my clinic. Thanks.

By Nikita

Jun 18, 2020

Very informative for beginners

Would love to have more knowledge shared about what is insulin , lipids and other such terms used in the course for better understanding

By Allan S

Oct 26, 2016

A great course to establish a fundamental understanding of positive nutrition as well as integral steps that can be taken and implemented everyday to start a meanginfu

By Anyaogu J

Jun 17, 2021

Fantastic course with new philosophy on plate composition, built on more vegetables and less protein. I learnt a new slogan eat food, not too much mostly plant based.

By Qabas Q

Jul 3, 2020

a great course overall.

I just did not like the recipes section being mandatory, it would have been better if it was optional as not all of us consume animal products!

By Иванов А В

Apr 21, 2021

Good quality basic information on balanced nutrition. Lots of practical tips on how to make your diet healthier. Additional bonus - an interview with Michael Pollan.

By Nyamjargal

Apr 9, 2019

It was very informing for beginners and food aware persons who wants to improve their eating habits, but did not know what to eat or how to eat that particular food.

By Marta d l S

May 6, 2020

Basic course about nutrition (maybe so basic). Usuful to have the highlines about food and how to make your plates healthier. Easy to understand and easy to follow.