Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,096 ratings
7,286 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

NF

Dec 5, 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

TL

Sep 30, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filter by:

6176 - 6200 of 7,334 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Tona J G

Mar 13, 2022

Very nicely done. Gave me specific guidelines to easily follow for healthy eating. Could have done without the receipts and more data on specifically good foods.

By Sai V

Jul 8, 2021

A​mazing intro to food ended with easy to follow techniques to improve food habits. However, there could have been atleast 1-2 videos about micronutrients as well.

By Jody T

Jun 5, 2020

The course was very informative and interesting. I liked the ability to clip portions of videos as notes; other courses I have taken have not allowed that feature.

By Robert A

Dec 7, 2016

The course was really interesting and provide diverse points of view about the way how we eat. I really like the different perspectives provided by the presenters.

By Marianne M

Feb 11, 2016

Interesting lectures with helpful tips for staying healthy. I would like to have seen more specific examples or supplementary articles to support the information.

By Heather M

May 4, 2017

It was a really great primer! I would not pay for a certificate for the class but loved the addition of a respected author. I'd love a second level of this class!

By Olga S

Dec 27, 2016

this course is really helpful for people who wants to change their eating habits for the best. this course will teach you how to make first step to healthy food.

By Dr S B G

May 7, 2022

One of the best courses for understanding the concept of Food in relation with health.

It was easy,lucid and enriching to the mind.

Thanks Coursera.

Warm Regards...

By Ramnath S K

Apr 19, 2021

A short but informative introduction to Food and Health. Practical insights with examples. After doing this, one can go for more detailed courses on the subject.

By Liliana B

Apr 11, 2020

It is very well done but I would have likely been listened to different speakers, in particular scientists and doctors who work in this area of nutrition health.

By Nursultan S

Aug 10, 2019

The course is very helpful. It explains basic and simple rules of nutrition that most of people are unaware. Simply by following those rules, we can be healthy.

By Haley B

Jun 27, 2016

This was a great course in learning more about how and why we eat the way we do. I enjoyed the detailed information I learned, and highly recommend this class.

By Teresita c

May 5, 2020

Entretenido! A veces un poco demasiado básico, con datos interesantes sobre todo en la cuarta semana. En general un punto de vista equilibrado que se agradece!

By RUBI Y

Feb 22, 2018

With the absolutely wonderful lecture, students and learn a lot from the course.But hopefully there will be more professional and advance information involved.

By Juliana

Jan 31, 2016

Course breaks down nutrition simply to someone who is new to a healthy lifestyle, or someone who just wants to refresh their memory on the basics to nutrition.

By Dorota K

Nov 23, 2020

The course contains very useful and very basic information about food. It is presented in a pleasant and interesting form. I really enjoyed doing this course.

By Brenda W

Oct 23, 2020

Pretty basic course if you have already done any nutritional reading. I did get more understanding about types of fats and reminders about nutritional labels.

By Emily S

Aug 25, 2020

This is a good, basic course. A lot of it is common sense though. I really enjoyed the first week's content and was hoping the other weeks would be like this.

By Jordanna M

Jun 8, 2017

Very basic but high quality information. I was disappointed that all the recipes at the end were gluten free, even though very few people need to avoid gluten

By Yongsi C

May 12, 2017

Very helpful information. Simple enough to remember, easy enough to follow every day. Recommended to those who are looking for the first step to eat healthy.

By Amanda B R

Apr 7, 2017

loved the course. I believe this course is vital to all American's today. I believe this class should be a necessary class offered in our children's schools.

By Aye C

Dec 7, 2021

T​his course was great.I think everyone who wants a healthy lifestyle should attend this course.Now I know a lot more about carbohydrates,fats and proteins.

By Shinai G

May 26, 2016

Learned a lot of the history of food and procedures it goes through to come to our table. This course helped me start making healthier decisions day to day.

By Maria G

Jan 17, 2020

Very comprehensive. thank you.I would like more specific knowledge about the nutrients of the food and couple of suggestions about the combination of food.

By John

Nov 20, 2019

Great for someone that knows nothing about Nutrition. Not so great if one wants to go significantly more in-depth. It's a great foundation for it, however.