Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
28,619 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CN

May 13, 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

SR

Jul 12, 2022

learned alot on this course. Very knowledgeable and full of healthy recipes. Great way to start your goal. Along with excersice and healthy eating you are on your way to a great healthy mind and body.

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 8,191 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Faeze A

Oct 28, 2021

after this course I'm definitely more eager to cook homemade dishes and experience playing with food with my family.

By Giovanni C

Oct 16, 2021

Adorei o curso, é uma ótima introdução para quem procura se especializar na área da nutrição e estudos relacionados.

By Fifi H

Jun 15, 2021

My first course and I got a lot of knowledge about food science, health food and so forth from this course. Love it.

By MaRwa R

May 19, 2021

This course was Very beneficial to me. It helped me decide how to lead a healthier life and improve my eating habits

By Soco H

Apr 28, 2021

Un curso muy fácil de seguir, con la información precisa. Me sirvió mucho, aprendí y me dio mucho placer realizarlo.

By Nada M

Aug 3, 2020

It was informative and useful course. I already started to correct my eating habits based on this course. Thank you.

By qifan w

Jul 16, 2020

very concise, packed with useful knowledge, good for everyone who wants to get basic understanding of healthy eating

By Faiqa A

Jul 1, 2020

very very informative, all the course content was so simple yet informative.. everyone should enroll for this course

By karen j n c

Apr 16, 2020

Thank you for teaching me to eat healthy, it is more than anything a discipline to choose the right foods to consume

By Lindsay F

Mar 3, 2020

This was a very informative course. It's broken down into parts, which makes it easy to follow and not overwhelming.

By Val S

Aug 21, 2019

Excellent course. I learned many new things. Loved the simplicity and practicality of the course content. Thank you!

By Catherine G

Mar 17, 2019

Loved this class! it supported what I thought was a good diet and clarified a comprehensive out line I could follow.

By Julia B

Apr 23, 2018

Amazing course giving the clear and structured insight that creates a basis to start your journey of healthy eating.

By Bethany L M

Nov 17, 2017

I really enjoyed learning about health and food. I never really thought of it like that, until i joined this coarse.

By Fialkora M

Aug 16, 2017

This amazing course gives the ability to plan nutrition, the basics of dietetics, cooking, responsibility for health

By Mawudekah B

Mar 11, 2023

The course is educative and easy to understand. It helped me to know and read about a lot of new things. Thank you.

By Hairil B S

Jan 11, 2023

A great and reasonable-paced introductory course to understanding some fundamentals of food, nutrition, and health.

By Gayathri G

Dec 23, 2022

The course was very useful for implementing healthy changesin life. Maya Adam's cooking recipes were very useful.

By Vivek C

Oct 3, 2022

its a good experience the teacher was good and the effort and research in the content was good and its worth doing

By Laura L C

Jun 21, 2022

Awesome classes, I am diabetic and I needed to find some classes on nutrition and these are peRfect.

Thank you,

Laura

By Mon l

Aug 16, 2021

ES UN EXCLENTE CURSO, ME HA SERVIDO MUCHO PARA CONOCER Y MEJORAR MI ALIMENTACIÓN. RECOMIENDO TOTALMENTE ESTE CURSO.

By Syed h q

May 15, 2021

It was a very detailed course about how to choose a healthy diet. Choosing this course tend to be my best decision.

By Nidhi S

Mar 2, 2021

Being a yoga teacher, this course has helped in providing the insights I needed in nutrition. The recipe are good!

By Liliam A P F

Nov 26, 2020

Es un curso completo, fácil de entender y seguir. Tiene apreciaciones acertadas que causan interés. Me gustó mucho.