Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,787 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CS

Aug 26, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

TL

Sep 30, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 7,528 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Shabazz B

Feb 19, 2021

Great class for those beginners interested in food and nutrition. It would also be a good refresher course.

By Duane R

Feb 13, 2021

Good introduction to dieting from a North american point of view.

Well articulated, and conveyed information

By Natalia C A

Jan 14, 2021

It is a great and efficient way to learn about food and how make it easy for people on how to deal with it.

By Valeria J P

Sep 14, 2020

interesting ways to eat healthier and be more aware of what you are giving to your body, I really Liked it!

By Jocelyn G

Sep 10, 2020

This course really is so informative from the first lesson to the last lesson, I enjoyed and learned a lot.

By RHEA S

May 13, 2020

This course has been pieced together very well and was extremely informative. To the point and eye-opening.

By valdelino d s

May 7, 2020

very interesting and dynamic course. I had the opportunity to increase my knowledge on the subjects covered

By Kemi B

Apr 13, 2020

Appreciated the brief videos, which I used as a plan for the week. Also liked the recipe videos at the end.

By Amanda F

Apr 8, 2020

The course was very informative and gave me some great resources for dealing with my own nutrition journey.

By Mana D

Jun 21, 2019

Very interesting! This course is probably the reason why I might consider getting a degree in Public Health

By Ziyoda G

May 1, 2019

This course gave me a clear understanding of the healthy eating habits. Enjoyed the course a lot! Thanks!!!

By Sharon D

Apr 3, 2019

I loved this course. Excellent content. Easy to complete. The cooking video's at the end were fantastic!

By Elena K

Mar 19, 2019

One of the best and understandable course I've ever learnt. Recipes are an extra advantage for enrolling it

By abd e j e a

Mar 14, 2019

THE COURSE IS SO GOOD IT'S RICH OF THE INFORMATION WHICH ACTUALLY HELPED ME TO WIN MY HEALTH AND FIND JOB

By T K L

Mar 14, 2019

This course has provided me a good understand in food and how important it is related to out overall health

By Mary F

Feb 15, 2019

Toda persona que no sepa como iniciar un estilo de vida saludable debe completar este curso. Básico y útil.

By Rafael S R

Dec 30, 2018

Very nice introduction and tips for begginers. It will be useful in my reeducation program regarding eating

By Tamara K G

Sep 28, 2018

I would like a part 2. I love the way you kept it simple and very easy to incorporate these ideas into life

By Larisa N

Jul 2, 2018

Great intro course, great lecturers. Looking forward for more detail courses, maybe even some topics based.

By Kateryna S

Nov 21, 2017

Very motivating course! Help to understand how easily can deal with everyday cooking in more healthier way.

By Taylor E

Jul 12, 2017

A great course for someone who wants to get a basic understanding of how to start making healthier choices.

By jung j h

May 25, 2017

Well made lecture participating to the "healthy diet".

I would like to give this lecture to my patients! :)

By Saikat K D

Feb 20, 2017

Very nice course about good food habit and for learning about nutrition. Thanks for this wonderful course.

By Imee A S

Aug 8, 2022

Thank you for this insightful and enjoyable course. The lessons I learned from this are essential in life.

By Muhammad S

Jun 16, 2022

Very informative course providing a lot beneficial stuff relarted to cooking, food and health. Thank you.