Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
25,731 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

GG

Oct 7, 2021

this course changed my view on healthy eating and also instilled healthy cooking habits in me! I absolutely oved the simple , delicious and healthy recipes! definitely trying them out ! Thank you Maya

SD

Aug 6, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filter by:

2251 - 2275 of 7,509 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Guadalupe L

May 18, 2020

I am so happy with everything I have learned in this course and I am excited to apply into my daily life.

By John P

May 7, 2020

Excellent introduction to nutrition. Packed full of useful information to support a healthier lifestyle.

By LAFINGNE

May 6, 2020

Good course to start with lots of basic information. Very glad it mentioned details about reading labels.

By Marília C d S B

May 4, 2020

Very well explained basic information on food x health. Great for people who are trying to eat healthier.

By Mar P

Apr 14, 2020

Great course to understand how different nutrients in food work, and how to have a good and healthy diet.

By Nalini D

Apr 12, 2020

This course was very informative and I was able to learn more about choosing healthy foods for my family.

By CHUI W S A

Aug 26, 2019

A reliable course that offers a good overview on the steps in slecting the Food type for Healthy Living.

By Claudette M

Aug 6, 2019

Very good basic course on healthy eating - gave simple and practical ideas to put into place immediately.

By Akash K

Apr 1, 2018

It's a really good course. I really enjoyed watching the videos and doing the quizzes. Thank you so much.

By Mudit G

Jan 1, 2018

Excellent course for general awareness and mastering self maintenance of health and healthy eating habits

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2017

really helped me to adopt some lifestyle changes that I badly needed. thank you Coursera, Maya and pollen

By Jan F V C

Aug 29, 2016

is a basic course but is a introduction i learn a lot wish it have more the teacher is easy to understand

By Carolina H

Feb 29, 2016

Extremely informational and very engaging, exactly what I was looking for when I enrolled in this course.

By Teresa M W

Feb 7, 2016

Thank you, this was a fantastic overview of nutrition. I feel very confident going further in my studies.

By Jennifer C

Jul 18, 2022

Very informative course, very well presented with great speakers/presenters. Thank you for the recipes.

By Dipika P

Jul 2, 2022

Thankyou stanford , i really enjyoed learning here. It gave me tremendous of knlwodge of food and health

By Андрей И

Apr 28, 2022

Прекрасный курс! Много полезной информации. Пересмотрел своё питание основываясь на данном курсе. Супер!

By Felipe I P A

Mar 9, 2022

Muy util para las personas. Son buenas recomendaciones que todo ciudadan deberia saber. Muchras gracias.

By Véronique D

Aug 23, 2021

J'ai bien aimé le cours ! Oui, ce sont des choses de base, mais qu'on a appris à oublier avec le temps !

By Jelena P

Jul 20, 2021

This Course is simple, with very useful information and guidelines on how to improve your eating habits!

By Katie R

Dec 16, 2020

I was surprised that there are Ukrainian subtitles here, thank you very much for such a wonderful course

By Henrietta E

Oct 28, 2020

The course was very educating on how to eat well and stay healthy. to always cook than to eat junk food.

By Sai C K V

Oct 26, 2020

An insightful course of planning you diet and things to make sure to lead a healthy and fulfilling life.

By Dikla Y

Sep 7, 2020

Very good. Clear explanation, easy to follow. I really enjoyed this course and gained a lot of knowledge