Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
28,651 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

VI

Jan 18, 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

NK

Feb 24, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filter by:

2276 - 2300 of 8,210 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Eriona N

Jan 26, 2020

I am so glad to hear about this course and attend it. It was very well composed in a meaningful, memorable manner.

By monica a

Jun 10, 2019

This course was great for a beginner like me. A lot of great information that will help me make healthier choices!

By Junjie Y

Mar 26, 2019

It is a very useful class that can be understood easily and we just need spend a few time to get knowledge we need

By Ioana I

May 12, 2018

Very useful course! It helped me a lot to make better decisions about my eating habits. I definitely recommend it.

By Raghunath C

Dec 17, 2017

Superb course for those who wanted to understand basic food and diet to loose weight or to have healthy lifestyle.

By Jim W

Sep 22, 2017

Wonderful. My heartfelt thanks to the presenter. It has changed the way I think about food. Thank you very much.

By AnnaMaria J

Jul 7, 2017

Terrific class - very clear and well detailed for those trying to make informed decisions about what they consume.

By PGI G S T

Jan 21, 2023

Excellent. Enjoyable. You should have your own cooking show on Youtube or cookbook. Thank you,Maya and Michael.

By Joe B

Jul 27, 2022

Great information and presentation. Videos were just the right amount of time and always interesting. Thank you.

By Nhan N

Jun 6, 2022

Great knowledge explained in concise. I love this course so much and will introduce this course to my colleagues.

By Chavannes W B

Mar 7, 2022

I'm really glad to know a little about nutrition and nutrients, plant studies and a more balanced vegetable meal.

By Naba F

Jan 30, 2022

great course for beginners interested in learning about food systems and how their behaviour affects their health

By Bhagyashri B

Oct 27, 2021

Must go for this course. Learnt and applied lot of basics. Explained very well. I'm glad that I took this course.

By CHRISTIAN S

Aug 1, 2021

A marvelous course, which helps you understand food and how it benefits us for the long term to have good health.

By Maricarmen P M

Mar 10, 2021

Un buen curso para crear conciencia y sensibilizarnos, sobre lo que comemos y como elegir mejor nuestras comidas.

By Ramya N

Feb 14, 2021

Very easy to understand and teaches you portion control , role of plan food and plant based protein for our body.

By Anu A

Oct 1, 2020

very informative and also makes me reevaluate past decisions I've made concerning my diet and how to improve them

By CÉSAR F B M

Jul 13, 2020

It's pretty easy to understand everything about this course, highly recommended, learned a lot in a very easy way

By Phil N

Apr 14, 2020

Very well done. Easy to follow and digest (pun intended!). Good tips. Kept it simple, yet informative. Thank you.

By Emmanuella P

Apr 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. I learned so much about food and nutrition. Things I should've learned in preschool.

By Juan C B

Apr 12, 2020

Very good, very useful and practical. Each human being must know how to eat properly, so I recommend this course

By Allie G

Apr 10, 2020

This was a great course. It really helps me see food in a different light. I appreciate that. Thank you so much!

By Jordan S

Jan 19, 2020

Great course for anyone who wants to be more mindful about their food decisions and some tips on eating healthier

By Anita Z

Oct 25, 2019

V

e

r

y

e

d

ucative

f

o

r

p

e

o

p

l

e

s

t

r

u

g

g

l

i

n

g

t

o

s

t

a

r

t

a

h

e

a

l

t

h

y

d

i

e

t and is must watch for those who arent cooking at home often.

By Cintia C

May 16, 2018

Great foundational course if you'd like to know about basic nutrition and human health. Great practical tips too.