Chevron Left
Back to Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination by West Virginia University

4.7
stars
3,738 ratings
1,123 reviews

About the Course

Everyday across the world, thousands of businesses are victimized by fraud. Who commits these bad acts? Why? And, how? In this course we are going to help you answer the questions: who commits fraud, why and how. We’ll also help you develop skills for catching them....

Top reviews

AO
Jun 16, 2020

This course is one of a kind, it's simple, professional and straight to point. I've really been exposed to the concept of fraud and it's dynamics. This will take me a long way in my career.\n\nCheers!

RN
Jan 7, 2021

I enjoyed learning this course . It made me aware about the various ways frauds are committed, showed practical examples, discussed data analytic tools . I look forward to learning this subject more.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,122 Reviews for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

By Abhishek J

Apr 26, 2021

It's very good course for those personals who willing to work in Loss Prevention field & want to became CFE. For me it's a small step toward becoming CFE. This cource go through with the length & height of all kind of frauds with simple examples so that everyone can understand easily. Fraud triangle helps most to understand the physiology of fraud perpetrator. Watching examples of fraud is through interesting way helps us very to understand very supportive.

Thanks You for making this course for us to understand how data can be manipulate easily, You guys told us about Data mining, Money laundering & biggest fraud which takes place & how we need to support our company as whistleblower thanks for alerting us from frauds.

By KAIS A A

Feb 26, 2021

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST COURSE I'VE BEEN ENROLLED INTO. I HAVE IMMENSELY GAINED SO MUCH KNOWLEDGE ABOUT FORENSIC ACCOUNTING, FRAUD IDENTIFICATION, FRAUD PREVENTION, FRAUD DETERRENCE, FRAUD EXAMINATION, DATA MINING TECHNIQUES, BIG DATA ANALYSIS, MONEY LAUNDERING ETC. ALSO THE FACULTIES HAVE MADE IT SO EASY TO MAKE US UNDERSTAND THE CRUCIAL TOPICS THAT THE WHOLE COURSE SEEMS VERY INTERESTING.

IT WAS AN AWESOME EXPERIENCE TO DIVE DEEP IN TO THE WORLDCOMM CASE STUDY PUT UP BY THE FACULTIES.

I WOULD LIKE TO THANK THE FACULTIES OF THE WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY FOR DEVELOPING SUCH A GREAT COURSE FOR STUDENTS LIKE ME, ALSO A SPECIAL THANKS TO COURSERA FOR DELIVERING SUCH COURSES TO STUDENTS ACROSS THE GLOBE.

By Kannan S

Mar 14, 2021

Course was conducted in a very professional manner and as an already Professional Chartered Accountant,I am able RATE this Course as one of the Best at par with Industry Standards.I was able to Complete the Course well in time within Three Weeks with dedicated and committed followup with Video Coverage and special Thanks to Mr.Richard Riley,Mr,Richard Dull and Mr.John.Thank You very much.Also while doing this Course,I have developed a Self Motivation to Write a Personal Blog Titled : WHISTLE BLOWING,ARE YOU READY, which is available at https://catchandcater.wordpress.com/2021/03/09/whistle-blowing-are-you-ready/

By Sa'adat S

Dec 26, 2019

The course was designed in a very intelligent and eloquent way--that is, it was designed in a way which pertains to the fact how does a criminal or fraudster think and above all how we can catch them given the resources that we have especially with the help of "Big data" and its tools such as data analysis or text analysis. One distinguishing feature of this course which i liked the most was that it was blend of so many things--accounting, fraud examination, forensic accounting, and data analysis--hence it was less monotonous and more engaging.

By Daniel N A

Mar 18, 2020

The course was filled with case scenarios which broaden my understanding.

The course facilators are competent, they broken-down terms to the basic form which made my learning easy and fun

Finally, the course has lots of Interesting topics ranging from

types of fraudsters,

the elements of fraud,

Fraudster demographics,

Forensic professional skills,

Essential fraudster traits,

Internal control concepts,

Whistleblowing,

And how to detect and prevent fraud.

I have a wonderful learning experience.. I gained so much which added knowledge. 👍👍👍

By Sher K

May 29, 2020

I would first of all pay my sincere tribute and thanks to the honorable mentors of the course who have covered the topics in the best possible way. The teaching techniques of the mentors is perfect based on the best practices in learning.

The course has been very fundamental for my understanding of fraud, its detection and prevention.

The final thoughts given by our respected mentors including the quotes are a benchmark for my future work.

Thanks again to coursera for providing such a wonderful platform for my professional growth.

By Fernando M M

Nov 21, 2020

Quite a difficult online course especially for someone like me with the most basic knowledge in finance and accounting. But as a graft investigation officer and researcher at the Office of the Ombudsman in the Philippines, it was all worth it. It definitely enhanced my knowledge and skills in detecting fraud and corruption both in the public and private sectors of society. Hoping Coursera would develop other related courses for our continuous upscaling. Many thanks to everyone at Coursera and the West Virginia University!

By Yevgeniya R

Dec 30, 2020

This is a very good foundational course in Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination. Though it would not make you ready for CFE exam, it still provides more interesting and useful information for more advance understanding of fraud, fraud investigation, and mitigation than do most other courses and source of introductory information available. I would definitely recommend it to my peers as a source of more in depth understanding of the area when they struggle with understanding of some of the concepts.

By N. S M

Jun 6, 2017

This is one of the best courses in Forensic Accounting. Though I am a person with an engineering background, it was very motivating. The course by itself is not self sufficient. It covers the major topics peripherally and acts as a beacon to start expanding knowledge through self study. The exams are a bit tough and well structured to stimulate reasoning. Overall, an excellent course for beginners in Forensic Accounting, especially with different background other than commerce and accounting.

By Jerushah J

Jul 13, 2021

I started this course because I was intrigued by the title. But, watching each video and attempting each quiz made this much more interesting to me. The case studies were what captivated my interests. A huge thank you to all the professors in this course who explained each concept very well. I really enjoyed learning about forensic accounting and fraud examination. I am definitely sure that I will enhance my knowledge on this topic by visiting the websites mentioned here.

By Prapti B

Aug 22, 2020

I have previously done two more courses in Coursera, likewise this was also one of a kind course I must say but on the other hand, this is my favourite course till date as it gave me a practical experience in this field and i am pretty sure that this knowledge will help in my practice as a company law enthusiast.

I will recommend one thing to change in this course. kindly include the right answer options too along with the explanation. it will be of great help.

By Prem P K

Aug 14, 2020

This is one of the best course on fraud examination, In this course you learn about how fraudster thinks, how,when,where they commit fraud.

and at the end of every week you get to see the interview with person who commit frauds of million dollars.

When I enroll in this course thinking that it focused on financial statements like balance sheet and income statements but its not that , this course is focused on how the fraudster thinks and how they commit fraud .

By Anthony M

Jun 3, 2021

This course was very effective as an introduction to a complex but important topic and for those more interested to encourage further learning on specialized courses. Well done to the three presenters and this course should stand the test of time as an introduction even though with each day the digital world advances and new global frauds appear with more technological and methods of deception. I would heartedly recommend this course to others.

By Kathleen G

Mar 9, 2021

I recommend taking this course if you're interested/eager to know how to detect a criminal having the extent to go far for their own personal selfish interest. The professors also gave very well-rounded tips and tackled a lot of topics about the types of fraud, the stages of money laundering, and the origin of how it started. Thank you for making this class fun and informative, and I appreciate all your efforts in sharing this with everyone.

By Jelah G

Apr 22, 2020

The Course is well organized to impart very crucial and important skills and knowledge to learners. The presentations contains very relevant and current information regarding fraud practices. The presenters are vastly knowledgeable and informed about the fraud as a topic. Thank you so much Prof. Richard Riley, Dr. Richard Dull and Mr.John Gill.

Thank you so much Cousera Team for this great opportunity please feel so much appreciated.

By Nagesh M

Apr 26, 2020

The content of the course is very apt and useful in day to day working. The learnings can be used in corporate environment and is very insightful. Video, case study with relevant examples helped in better understanding of the concept thereby enhancing the required skills for the job. Moreover i could utilize the time and complete the course in a timely manner due to reminder and motivation by the Coursera tool, that too du

By Marvin J D V

Sep 15, 2020

The level of ease with which the topics are explained lets you know that there is still much to learn about fraud investigation. The shared knowledge and experience of the teachers is a very important value to consider this experience as excellent.

Congratulations to the teachers, writers, designers and others involved, for making this learning experience extremely valuable for my personal and professional life.

By akshay n

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent course which clearly explains all the concepts of forensic accounting and fraud examination including fraud triangle, fraud detection, use of data analytics in fraud, Benford analysis, money laundering, whistleblowing etc from a practical perspective with adequate examples from corporate world. "Worldcom" scandal was also discussed as a case study to add a practical perspective to the concepts.

By Alexis B

Sep 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Learned a lot that I didn't know. I wish though the areas of money laundering and executive fraud had been enlarged upon. I also wish that this was a more advanced course or several courses. Will I use this in my position. Absolutely. The main reason though I took it was because of trump. I had some theories and hypothesis about him and wanted to see if I was correct and I was.

By Michael M

May 25, 2021

I would like to thank all the lectures for such a professional way of delivering lectures. I was a very nice time for me. I found all i learnt useful and quite relevant to the current world.

Keep on doing the great job. To all yet to join the course please do it without delay , you will learn something that will positively contribute to the change of the world.

I am currently waiting for my certificate

By Nicole C

Nov 22, 2020

This course is phenomenal, I really have very much enjoyed learning this course as it was first time studying this course; the learning experience was absolutely fantastic and emotional. I am certainly looking forward to learning more about Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination. I would like to give a huge special thanks to coursera, the course lecturers, the camera team and the public officials.

By SUNIL T

Apr 22, 2019

This is well designed course focusing on Fraud Examination and basics on Forensic Accounting. i liked the mix of experts from academic and professional background. The videos and use cases were interesting and provided good insight on approach towards fraud examination. I hope the learning will help me sharpen my skills as fraud prevention expert in a leading bank in India. sunil.tiwari@outlook.com

By Muhammad U K

Jun 6, 2021

The Course Was a Roller Coaster! Really Tested my skill ! Looked really tough with the quizzes but the feed back kept me going, I became confident and took it as a challenging, all three presenters were just incredible! Thank you Dr. Riley, Dr Richard, and Dr. Gill! This was the best course, i've taken in my life! I just cant wait to join another course led by your awsome team!! Thank you So Much

By Lilian J

Mar 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The videos, learning materials, quizzes and feedback were very helpful. There's so much information delivered in the course that is very useful and has changed my outlook about what forensic accountants and fraud examiners actually do. I am more informed regarding fraudsters, money launderers, whistle blowers, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed my studies with you.

By Karen B P

Mar 24, 2021

This is an excellent introductory course in Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination. The detail provided in these videos are in-depth, easy to understand and educational. The course presentation is awesome. The speed of the speaker speech is. Welcoming and encouraging.

I have acquired a greater understanding of Fraud and prevention and detection methods. I highly recommend this course.