Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Forensic Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Forensic Science by Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

4.9
stars
1,151 ratings
359 reviews

About the Course

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Top reviews

NU

Jun 18, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 354 Reviews for Introduction to Forensic Science

By Cornelia H

Aug 11, 2017

A great course to get an overview of forensic science and learn about all the important techniques of the field. It is kept quite simple and can definitely be understood without much prior knowledge, but I personally would have liked parts to go a bit more in depth on the chemical side. Overall really good course though.

By Leanna J

Aug 23, 2020

This class was great! I love all the information, and the videos are extremely interesting. The case studies provoke intellectual thought, and they are fun to solve. The only critique I have is the peer reviews may be harsh on the grading at times. Overall, this class was fantastic!

By Colin k

Aug 09, 2019

Very Interesting. I'm not a chemist so struggle with some of the chemical compound diagrams but understand the principal and description. I really enjoyed the presentation and case studies. The Peer reviewed assignments are hit and miss with how the assignments are marked.

By anuj

Sep 30, 2020

The course is very interesting and gives the basic idea about forensic science. It includes several read case studies. The tutor explains subject in details and maintains the interest through his nice way of teaching.

By Wesley R N

Aug 03, 2017

The content of the course was exactly what I was looking for, and was very well presented. I felt the case studies could have been better prepared and more direction given in how to grade the submissions.

By Louis A K H T

Nov 09, 2016

I have really learn a lot through the participation of the course and would like to sincerely thank the people conducting the course to make the course so enriching and also interesting.

By Darrell W

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent course except for the peer review. Students don't have enough reliable knowledge to correctly evaluate an opinion based argument.

By Deleted A

Nov 07, 2016

The material is good, but the format of the case study submission has allowed numerous cases of cheating and plagiarism.

By Juan J C

Jul 07, 2020

es sumamente interesante, sin embargo se encuentra un poco desactualizado

By Sivasankari S

May 21, 2018

the course you provided was very useful and interesting and easier too.

By Swarnava M

Jul 23, 2017

Very innovative and detailed course. Dr Bates is a very good teacher.

By Abhiram A P

Sep 25, 2020

best course on forensic science and a great explanations of topics.

By Joy S

Apr 01, 2017

good class, watched all the lectures, just won't do peer review.

By DIVYA P

Apr 17, 2019

interesting course for those who wish to study a budding field

By Neena J

Aug 23, 2020

VERY INFORMATIVE. Gives a good foundation to learn forensics.

By Rinshana P

Aug 22, 2020

Excellent course and the Professor teaches it so perfectly

By Jonathan G

Apr 29, 2018

Very informative course. I learned a lot.

By Elise K

Mar 25, 2019

Les devoirs à rendre étaient un peu long

By GANJIKUNTA C

Sep 05, 2020

It is very interesting and very useful.

By Shuvra D

Jul 07, 2020

it was a great experience. thanks

By Aravind k

Apr 04, 2019

pretty good and knowledgable

By BOÏ K

May 12, 2018

It's Innovation courses

By Janani P

Jul 21, 2018

interesting subject

By Yohan M G

Oct 08, 2018

quite gooodddddd

By Famke J

Nov 10, 2016

-