Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
102,037 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

If you have experience with data and data exploration. This will be a piece of cake or more precisely a walk over toward the course.

However, still recommended to earn a pace towards this learning

DA

Invalid date

Very good course, giving beginners an overview of various aspects of data analysis, as well as having data analysts share their experiences, which is a great way for learners to get to know the field.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Sanja J

Sep 30, 2022

As being a person without previous knowledge on data analyisis I find this course very sistematic and delivered in very organized manner. Tasks given to be done during the course in my opinion had very good function to help us to better understand course material. As I am not the native speaker, I need to notice that all through the course there are given all over again refreshments of the previous elements/lectures which were organized in a manner to better explain all the relevant issues about data analysis.

By Jennifer M

Oct 6, 2021

This course is a good overview and basic introduction to data analytics. It seems like a lot of negative reviews are based on the perceptions of those who already have some data experience and are looking to brush up on their skill set. Yes, a lot of the information is elementary. However, this is designed to reach various levels of education - including individuals who have no data experience. If you already have experience you will breeze through with a refresher, if not, you'll get the introduction you need.

By Ben Z

May 11, 2023

I really liked and appreciated this simple and easy-to-understand introductory course. I was one of those who used to think that data analysis was way too complicated and scientific for my understanding and education background. After taking and passing this course, I have no more worries like that. Data has everything to do with our life and work in so many ways that we cannot avoid analyzing them to get a better plan for the future or a solution for existing problems. I can't wait to take the next course.

By Irina

Mar 30, 2022

I found this course very informative and enjoyable, with real-life examples and application. Having the information broken into smaller chunks (e.g., 5-minute videos) was very helpful. I also very much enjoyed the section on fairness in data analysis and loved the fact the presenters in general were different ages, and genders, and nationalities. The quizzes and self-reflection exercises helped reinforce the knowledge and also provided additional real-life scenarios of data analytics application. Thank you!

By Khemjira P

Aug 26, 2021

Great content for zero background in data like me. The course touches on programming languages just a little, not too much, but leaves an excitement for what's next. English subtitles really help me understanding the speakers better as I'm not a native English speaker, so thumb up for that. I love to feel the energy of the speakers, but there are also times when I can feel that they are tired of speaking and recording. Anyway, analyzing data is fun, and I'll keep learning until the end. Thanks, staff team.

By William B

Mar 13, 2022

I loved this course. It is set up in a great way that introduces the concepts in a fun way to investigate and then it progresses into building some technical skills to put to use that prior knowledge. And I love how the questions on the tests are a bit sneaky in that they actually make you think with how they are worded to see if you really understand the concepts. You can't just go back and review the notes you had written down. You have to understand the material to do well. I can't wait to keep going.

By Maria F d l R R

Aug 15, 2021

para personas como yo que no tenemos experiencia previa en ánalisis de datos, este es el curso perfecto. Es muy completo y te explican de manera didactica la logica dentras de esta profesion. Te explican los fundamentos y lo hacen a través de videos, lecturas, ejercicios practicos y exámenes. Logran que el conocimiento se interiorice de tal manera que el alumno aprenda y no solo memorice. Lo recomiendo para toda persona interesada en cambiar de carrera o en incluir Data Análisis en su set de habilidades

By Cecia T

Jun 9, 2022

Hello, so far I have enjoy this course and I feel that I need to share my experience with other people by writting this review . I am very new in this field and also I finished high school a very long time ago and this course is so good beacuse provides all the material that people need to learn this field and all the videos are great I have learned so much in just one course specially because I did not have any previous knowledge about Data and now there is so much I can tell about it . Is Great !!

By P R A K J

May 18, 2021

I took many courses online for the past few years. But, this course is simply awesome. I am a beginner and I don't know a small thing in the field of data. But now, I gained much knowledge in the field of Data Analytics. The instructors are also very good and one important this to note that I learned it from Financial Aid, they approved it easily. Thanks, Google and the Course Instructors for giving this awesome course. We'll use this knowledge in the future to solve many problems too. Thanks again.

By Yosua R

Jul 27, 2023

This foundational course really helps me on building base knowledge about data analytics, what insights can we get from a data, how to become a good data analyst, what to be expected from becoming a data analyst, data analytics tools, and also this course give us insight about job market for data analyst. Although there is not so much practical side on this course, I believe this intended us to build strong base about data analytics, before going further exploring the tools that data analyst use.

By Artem G

May 14, 2023

I have been impressed by the rigor and the contents of this introductory course, it has really widened my understanding of what data is and how to treat it well. The video lectures walk you through in a friendly way without pushing you too much to the knowledge, you can go at your own pace, although some readings are boring a bit and I felt overwhelmed a bit (may not be true for you). So, give it a shot, I recommend enrolling in the course if you want to switch careers or get new valuable skills.

By Lucia

May 15, 2021

This has been a very useful introduction to data analytics! It has answered all the questions I was afraid to ask, and made me feel really enthusiastic about becoming a data analyst. I also very much appreciate the structure of the course, especially how it combines watching / listening, reading and writing. Special thanks to all people involved who are so passionate about their work - it makes me believe I can become one of these people some day (passionate about their work). Thank you!

By John I

Jun 15, 2023

I really really love this course, because when I first started I didn't have any idea about data but through this course I have understood that, we implement data in our everyday life and activities and, there are so many things you can explore with the power of data.

Although when I started I wasn't consistent cause, it was boring at first but on getting to week four things, started to really get interesting, and am hoping to learn more the the other remaining courses on data analytics.

By Matthew B

Dec 10, 2021

The sessions are engaging and easy to get through due the the variety between video segments, readings and exercises. The structure of the course is fantastic and does a great job of taking the learner from a complete novice to having a great overview of the analytical process. Tony provides clear presentations throughout the course and I couldn't imagine someone better for introducing the course. I look forward to the remaining 7 components of the google data analytics certification!

By Melissa E

Jun 29, 2022

This is a great intro course to Data Analysis that will give you insights into what skills are needed in this career field. It covers a broad range of topics such as the steps used by data analysts, the data life cycle, common tools and terms used by analysts, and the industries which use data analysts. The course uses videos in combination with active learning prompts and quizzes to keep students engaged. I learned more than I expected and I would recommend the course to others.

By Luis G

Dec 17, 2021

I have to say, this was just an shocking first step into Data Analysis, how the instructor explains and grabs your attention regarding the importance of data to make actionable and data driven decision making is truly impressive, also I liked a lot is how the instructor welcomes every participant into the world of data analysis, is a top level introduction to every aspect of the process of DA, tools used and of course the best practices every data analyst should be accountable for.

By Oluseyi E

Jul 5, 2022

The course gave me a great perspective to data analysis, and how our daily life revolves around data. I have since realized that decisions cannot be taken without the use of data either for a business or an individual. I am excited to continue the course and become a data analyst.

The course facilitator made it simple to understand and assimilate and the constant assessments helps a great deal as it ensures continued review of the notes and videos which makes what I learnt to stick

By Alejandro L P

Jun 27, 2021

This was an excellent introductory course, it covers all of the basics and I particularly loved the final test, where you are presented with a real world situation and has to answer questions about that, instructors where really clear whit the topics they where teaching specially the main instructor of this course, I'm not a native English speaker, and he was by far the easiest to understand and also the most passionate, I can't wait to try the other courses in this micro-degree

By Nicolez P

May 30, 2023

I signed up for a few coding heavy online classes on data analytics it is fun at the start however halfway through, I will lose sight of my goal as learning code gets very overwhelming sometimes. This course is a very refreshing change the pace is comfortable and there are many checkpoints for self reflection to put my goals and understanding in place. This course makes me feel empowered that with every progress I make, I am getting closer to my goals of becoming a data analyst

By Bùi Q B

Jul 30, 2023

The course is designed to equip learners with the skills needed to apply for introductory-level data analyst jobs. The course covers key data analytics topics and is taught by current Google data analysts. Learners who complete the course will gain an understanding of the practices and processes used by a junior or associate data analyst, learn about key analytical skills and tools, and discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst.

By Phomthep S

Jul 10, 2021

The course provides concrete concepts as a good background and short vdos which is good for non-native speaker in order to catch up.

Sometimes quizes assign to write an little essay but mostly question. Usually, writing an essay takes time for me. This causes me difficulty to estimate the time to finish weekly assignment. I would like to know a type of an assignment whether questions or writing essays. However, if it doesn't provide, it's still o.k. Thank you very much indeed.

By Ashley B

May 6, 2021

This course was easy to follow. Easy to juggle while being a stay at home mom. With 1 or 2 hours a day doing some course work I was able to finish this course in less than 1 month. :) I am excited to finish the rest. Also, I learned quite a lot in this one course. I feel they are setting me up for great success. I also love how I get to review and thumps up or down the process throughout the entire course to help make suggestions on how they can improve it for the next student.

By Noam S

Jul 7, 2022

This course provides the basic know-how of the Data analysis process. it introduces one to the challenges he might encounter, as well asthe tools and strategies needed in order to solve them.

The experience of people who already work in the field is used to illustrate all of the above, and to motivate the aspiring analyst to keep on working towards the goal

Overall, i feel that it's a great introduction to the field. and an essential stage on the path towards becoming an analyst

By Amitesh K

Jun 23, 2021

The course has its uniqueness in building up of concepts in a very phased manner which was a good experience for me. Also the self paced nature of this course takes out the stress equation. I am a working professional and not able to devote much time however, the course so far benefited me in providing me the foundation concepts which are crucial for a data professional. However, A little more additional reference materials like mock case studies could be an added advantage.

By Nishant P

May 11, 2023

This course has been an excellent opportunity to learn more about data analytics, and I'm proud of the new skills I've gained. I now have a deeper understanding of analytical thinking skills by solving problems and identifying patterns. Furthermore, I learned that spreadsheets, query languages, and data visualization tools are critical for data analytics. This course has taught me the importance of asking effective questions to gather both qualitative and quantitative data.