Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
121 ratings
40 reviews

About the Course

Through dynamic video lectures and practical application questions, you will learn about the Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering. In this course you will learn about the current lack of synchronized, efficient, and integrated healthcare systems, which are some of the drivers for improvements to healthcare delivery. Also in this course, you will learn about the different types of systems and how they are translated to the healthcare field for appropriate systems engineering process applications, with exemplars. Upon system type articulation and mapping, the systems engineering approach will be introduced to help begin the process of: 1) investigating healthcare challenges, needs, and requirements development; 2) developing system concepts, that are derived from requirements, and then realized in physical and process form; and finally, 3) the establishment of means to verify, validate, and deploy healthcare systems that address the need and meet requirements. Applications and exemplars will be provided....

Top reviews

MJ
May 8, 2021

Helps to understand the systems engineering for any of the important product we are going to made and also to how we need to solve any kind of problem and the solutions we are going to give.

SA
Jan 22, 2021

This was a great course. Really enjoyed learning about the intricacies of healthcare systems and how we can reimagine healthcare delivery.

Filter by:

26 - 39 of 39 Reviews for Foundations of Healthcare Systems Engineering

By Pragavi P

Feb 6, 2021

Superb course

By Abishek.M M

Sep 22, 2020

Video .. good

By Ronaldo M

Oct 15, 2020

It was great

By Rahat S

Apr 28, 2021

Nice course

By jessamae o

May 26, 2021

Excellent

By Ghaida A

Dec 22, 2020

Love It

By Onalenna R K

Apr 7, 2021

I really learnt alot about healthcare systems engineering. Starting from identifying the right systems to use, flow, partterns and also ways in which those can be distrinctively applied.

By Thomas G

May 13, 2021

A good introduction, but still containing a considerable amount of fluff and lacking the rigour that should be expected in the context of an engineering setting.

By Elisa R S S

Apr 19, 2021

It is great that I can understand the topic easily and in easiest way to understand.

By David H

Mar 2, 2021

Interesting overview of the application of Systems Engineering to Healthcare

By Nourhan E

Jan 15, 2021

very good course , I’m very happy to study it because very useful

By Uwera k M

Dec 20, 2020

very helpful, need more practical skiils

By Swaroop S

Oct 20, 2020

nice course

By Manuel H

Nov 13, 2020

From my point of view it focusses too much on general systems engineering and too little on its application to healthcare systems. Yes, there are some examples, but I have missed a global approach. I did learn some interesting concepts but on the whole I felt there was too much repetition along each week's material.

On the technical part, sound quality was at best below average; most of the times it seemed as if the lecturer was coming to and going away from the mic while speaking. I also missed in-lecture quizzes like other Coursera courses have, just to stop and reflect on what had just been taught. In general, I believe there is a lot of room for improvement.

Thanks for offering the course, nonetheless. I think it may show a starting point for people without any knowledge of Systems Engineering.