Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Public Health Practice: The Public Health Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Public Health Practice: The Public Health Approach by Imperial College London

4.8
stars
40 ratings
17 reviews

About the Course

The Public Health Approach course is the first instalment of the wider Foundations of Public Health Practice specialisation from Imperial College London's Global Master of Public Health (MPH). The scope and content of this course has been developed from the ground up by a combined team of academics and practitioners drawing on decades of real-world public health experience as well as deep academic knowledge. Through short video lectures, practitioner interviews and a wide range of interactive activities, learners will be immersed in the world of public health practice. Designed for those new to the discipline, over four modules (intended for four weeks of learning), learners will become familiar with the scope, origins, ethics, principles and paradigms of public health practice. But there is also important foundational content for those coming from more experienced practitioner backgrounds. The 'Public Health Approach' is a phrase that is used widely to describe an up-stream, preventive, values-driven and evidence-based approach to improving population health. By the end of this course, learners will be confident with identifying and describing a wide range of public health challenges using the language and reference points of the public health profession. The subsequent courses require the knowledge from this course, as learners will be introduced to the public health toolkit of health needs assessment and evaluation, before taking deeper dives into behaviour change and health protection....

Top reviews

RM

Apr 15, 2020

It is nice experience to learn from Dr. Richard the quality teaching would be really helpful me to strengthen my public health understanding. Thank you coursera.

NK

May 21, 2020

Amazing Lecturer, fantastically organized course\n\nThank You so much to Coursera & Imperial College London

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Foundations of Public Health Practice: The Public Health Approach

By Anna H

Apr 19, 2020

Well-organized and easy to understand. Aside from comprehensive lectures, there are plenty of external materials to refer to, where you will make it easier to relate to the real world and therefore learn better.

If you are a complete beginner, beware: some of the lectures and quiz need some (basic) background in epidemiology, which can be misleading and difficult to complete if you have no idea what the terms are. If I did not have the previous background I would appreciate being told early in the course that such knowledge might be necessary, so I could prepare in advance.

By Laura J

May 04, 2020

I really enjoyed taking part in this course. The lectures were clear, informative and engaging - the latter point surprised me, as I have not previously taken any online ourses. However, after this I will definintely continue with the next module. Thanks to the teaching team for a great introduction to Public Health!

By Kweku B

May 04, 2020

Richard Pinder has put together a well thought out course, I didn't expect to gain so much from undertaking this course. The explanations are concise and coherent and ultimately easy to follow, the resources complement learning. This has given me a strong foundation in Public Health.

By Isabella M

May 07, 2020

What an introduction to Public Health ! Unbeatable. Usefull for healthcare practitioners but also other professionals that may be envolved in health policies, decision making politics, etc.

By Ranjeet S M

Apr 15, 2020

It is nice experience to learn from Dr. Richard the quality teaching would be really helpful me to strengthen my public health understanding. Thank you coursera.

By Deborah S

Apr 17, 2020

This course was very informative and very interesting. I really enjoyed learning about Public Health and thought the instructors did a great job!

By Joyce B

May 02, 2020

I really like the shorter video's and quizzes in between, the content was concise and thorough

By Shaibu I

Apr 18, 2020

Great content and lecturers, keep it up

By Silvia I

May 27, 2020

So much eye opening facts for beginner

By Emmanuel C u

May 10, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience

By S R

May 11, 2020

Very good useful information and new technologies are learnt. It is useful for future generation students also.

By Compaoré G D

Feb 11, 2020

It was an interesting practical course. The instructors were excellent !

By Nicole P

Apr 09, 2020

Incredibly well-delivered and organized. It is clear how much work went into the preparation of this course.

Strengths: provided relevant external material to support the learning process, such as publications and public health reports that allowed us to be critical about best practice.

The only thing that I feel could be improved upon would be better engagement with the faculty/staff of the course.

By Hosam M G A

May 25, 2020

The course gave me valuable insights into the public health practice, although I already work in the field for a while but a lot of information were new to me. Thank you Imperial College London and thanks to Coursera.

By Maanpreet K

Jun 01, 2020

Lecturers did a great job in their delivery and the course was structured really well. Precise and interesting throughout.

By Nithyalakshmi k

May 21, 2020

Amazing Lecturer, fantastically organized course

Thank You so much to Coursera & Imperial College London

By Nsisong O

May 22, 2020

The course was easy to understand & impactful. Excellent work Imperial college!

By Elisa H

May 19, 2020

Very good and complete introduction on PH.

By Adeela A

Jun 01, 2020

I wish instructor was a bit more clear when explaining something. Overall, it was a good course.