Chevron Left
Back to FPGA Softcore Processors and IP Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for FPGA Softcore Processors and IP Acquisition by University of Colorado Boulder

4.1
stars
32 ratings
7 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to all aspects of development of Soft Processors and Intellectual Property (IP) in FPGA design. You will learn the extent of Soft Processor types and capabilities, how to make your own Soft Processor in and FPGA, including how to design the hardware and the software for a Soft Processor. You will learn how to add IP blocks and custom instructions to your Soft Processor. After the Soft Processor is made, you learn how to verify the design using simulation and an internal logic analyzer. Once complete you will know how to create and use Soft Processors and IP, a very useful skill. This course consists of 4 modules, approximately 1 per week for 4 weeks. Each module will include an hour or two of video lectures, reading assignments, discussion prompts, and an end of module assessment....

Top reviews

BT
Jun 11, 2021

Must-take Course for Hardware Engineeer. This course provides new concept about NIOS II 32-bit RISC Architecture and How HDL Simulation work

OS
Dec 8, 2020

I feel I did another small step towards mastering designing with fpga. Thank you!

Filter by:

1 - 7 of 7 Reviews for FPGA Softcore Processors and IP Acquisition

By Brandon R V

Oct 11, 2020

Loved the course!

I'm trying everything on my new DE10-Lite.

There's a steep learning curve on the first two weeks, but it all comes together mid week 2.

I had a lot of issues but all of them got solved in the discussion forum.

By Ovidiu S

Dec 9, 2020

I feel I did another small step towards mastering designing with fpga. Thank you!

By KIMBULOBBE H M T M S S

Oct 14, 2020

I learned a lot about modelsim that I was really needed.

By Saadiqbal

Aug 3, 2021

This course brought a great deal of insight in the designing of:

1. NIOS-II processor

2. Integration of pre-existing IP-cores with your design

3. The simulation, debugging and verification of hardware

The core concepts (I have taken from this course) are gemstone and will be guiding star for my future "Embedded system Designing endeavor".

By Binh D T

Jun 12, 2021

Must-take Course for Hardware Engineeer. This course provides new concept about NIOS II 32-bit RISC Architecture and How HDL Simulation work

By Habte G

Jan 2, 2021

Well prepared lessons(videos). Concise and complete.

By Claudio C

Aug 2, 2021

In t​his course they do not teach you how to create a soft processor, they simply enumerate some of the existing soft processors and other IPs from major FPGA vendors. Then, they show you how to instantiate and configure a system using the Altera's NIOS-II soft processor and enumerate some of the miracles of the eclipse plugin system not knowing exactly what eclipse is.

There is also a very brief introduction to ModelSim for simulation and verification, which the only useful part of this course, and a less than brief introduction to Altera's SignalTap logic analyzer.

As with the rest of the courses of this "specialization", it is 10% useful and 90% useless.

Summarizing: In general, this course is at the level of a badly done free low quality webinar.

Not worth any money, not worth your time.