Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Network Communication

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Network Communication by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
1,544 ratings
323 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we trace the evolution of networks and identify the key concepts and functions that form the basis for layered architecture. We introduce examples of protocols and services that are familiar to the students, and we explain how these services are supported by networks. Further, we explain fundamental concepts in digital communication, and focus on error control techniques that include parity check, polynomial code, and Internet checksum. Students will be required to have some previous programming experience in C-programming (C++/Java), some fundamental knowledge of computer organization and IT architecture and a background in computer science is a plus....

Top reviews

A
Aug 16, 2020

It was a very good start in Network communication.\n\nThe lectures, quizzes, and materials are designed in a very good manner to reach the end of the course with the needed fundamentals.

AS
Jun 28, 2020

It is a good course to cover the basics computer networking. It is simple and the workload is less. Try to go through other sources simultaneously to get in-depth knowledge on the topic.

Filter by:

301 - 321 of 321 Reviews for Fundamentals of Network Communication

By kamanaboyina n

Jan 23, 2020

good

By Pranai R

Apr 4, 2018

Good

By Lars D

Feb 7, 2020

The learning material is comprehensive and provides a good introduction in network communication.

However, the course quizzes contain some faults which causes lot of confusion. Sadly, the instructor and teaching staff do not respond to any questions in the discussion forums. Instead, these forums are spammed with the same topic over and over again.

By Andrea I C

Jul 3, 2020

It is very encompassing. The lectures are not so clear, especially in the middle. The quizzes are sometimes just wrong in the sense that the correct answer is not there, or that the questions make no sense. It is interesting and for someone who doesn't know anything about the subject it is great to start.

By Brianna M

Aug 28, 2020

This course is not good for someone with a beginner level understanding of networks, as many terms are used in the definitions and explanations of the topics presented, which were not defined and having no previous understanding of them, it was difficult to understand the concept presented.

By Gurmukh S

Nov 26, 2019

content is great but is not for complete beginners to networking. I had to refer a lot of material outside this course to fully understand the concepts. Nevertheless, I did learnt quite a lot about computer networks while doing this course and watching some videos on youtube.

By Julian M R

Sep 5, 2018

Good presentations - the examples could be more fleshed out and I would prefer longer videos with more time spent explaining the content of the slide. A good introductory course though!

By Paul B

Apr 16, 2021

There is value in the course, but errors and lack of maintenance make it mediocre. Participation in the forums and discussions was low when I did this course.

By YOG R D

Aug 27, 2020

The accent of speaker is bad, very difficult to understand what he is talking about...

But content is very good🤘🤙

By Mohammad I

Aug 11, 2020

pronunciation is not so good

By Suryaveer S

Sep 8, 2020

lack of clarity

By Nathan W

Sep 9, 2020

Honestly, I'm rather disappointing in this course. For starters, this course going from very simple and giving some really very basic information about networking protocols and the OSI model layers. To extremely complex mathematics as If I'm doing a super hard University degree. Not to mention the instructor unfortunately can't pronounce English clearly, making it a terrible listening experience. I honestly didn't learn much and I'd say to go do a better course. Personally I recommend Googles IT Specialisation courses.

By Meng F J

Aug 27, 2020

It tries to cover too many content within too little time. Not enough explanation of the content but simply reading through the slides.

By oussama j

Nov 29, 2020

I have understand a lot of things by this course, thank you

By tungpth

Oct 26, 2020

Not teaching just slides reading.

By Mithun G

Mar 26, 2021

1. The instructor has a very poor command over english.

2. Reading from the slides is not an ideal method of teaching, if reading is all there is to be done, i can do it own my own without paying $500 or an instructor.

3. Course material is not designed peoperly.

Note: Frankly, instead of going with a distinguished personality who cannot teach, it'd have been better if you guys could hire a sophomore who's good at teaching & explaining things.

By Colm F

Apr 11, 2021

Lecturer's accents makes it very hard to understand.

Topics covered too lightly to be able to appreciate the detail needed to answer the questions.

Listed as free, but requires the purchase of additional books to be able to complete course.

This was the first course that I did from Google Garage, and it leaves a very bad impression. Not sure I'll bother with any others.

By Cyrus

Feb 11, 2021

The content of this course is interesting but the delivery is horrible. The presenter's speaking ability is so poor that it is totally distracting from the material. Your best bet if you want to go through the course is to skip watching the lectures and make due with the slides and reading materials by themselves.

By 221910303052 V S A

Dec 21, 2020

my grade has literally got over-ridden only because of plagiarism. the point is theory and definitions are always the same! how would u consider this as plagiarism? hate this.

By DEWAN M S R S

Sep 18, 2020

Worst course ever. Instructor couldn't clear anything. Waste of time.

By DOMMARAJU R K

Dec 21, 2020

aannnuuu cheee yaaakk thhuuuuu