Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
14,495 ratings
3,755 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

AR
Apr 17, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

CS
May 9, 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 3,728 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Anastasia B

Nov 13, 2016

This 4 four week were very inetesting. For me, I got new knowledges in sphere of graphic design. I improve and develop my skills. Thank you to authors and people who make this big work.

By Hugo

Nov 26, 2015

Even if you are an experimented designer, it's useful to come back to the basics and maybe discover something you've forgot or something new. A good one for people interested in design.

By Meduri D S

Jun 22, 2021

This course is so Interesting and i have gained knowledge in so many aspects.

I recommend this course to the people who are interested in graphic design and also you learn from scratch.

By AIKATERINI T

May 8, 2021

Nice course enjoyed the fact that it was simple and did not give you so much information that will get you discouraged. It gives a very good way of thinking, creating, and methodology.

By Tushar G

Jan 20, 2021

This course is for people who want to learn the creativity part of graphic design. They don't teach any software here. But this is a amazing course for increasing our creativity level.

By Alim B

Dec 17, 2020

This is some really professional grade knowledge. I did not know that this course could have such a great impact on my ideology of design. This changed everything I think about design.

By Rom B

May 4, 2020

excellent teacher and course.

i considered giving 4 stars because some students rating my assignments not according to the rules so i hope you will consider a way to solve this problem.

By Kristen B

May 16, 2018

Very detailed and easy to understand course on everything graphic design. The course goes over the fundamentals in a fun, engaging way. Definitely recommend for anyone pursuing design!

By Jun

Jun 18, 2021

As I expected, this course help me a lot to improve my knowledges of graphic design. I have learned so many new stuffs and I am really grateful that I got a chance to take this course

By Vinicius S A

Aug 12, 2020

I learned a lot doing this course. The metodology is very objective and the contents are very accesible. I am starting now the next course in this specialization. Thank you very much.

By Karysia d A M

Dec 13, 2021

E​xcellent!! The professor explains effortlessly clearly and with passion. Now I have some basic and really useful knowledge to keep my studies in graphic design by myself. Loved it!

By Valentina H C

Jul 17, 2020

This course is really good, is an amazing opportunity to get a first contact with basics of graphic design. The course methodology helps to learn everything in a pretty didactic way.

By Kevin E

Sep 12, 2018

Really cool. Richard Worthington is a dude, not so Lebowski, but more Rand. I really enjoyed the videos and the information. Super. Thank you kindly. Keep up the good work. Good bye.

By Sanda L

Dec 6, 2016

This was a very nice course for beginners and it helped me very much. I'm now on the last module and I am very excited to make the final project. I strongly recommend it to anyone.

By Mauricio G F

Mar 14, 2016

Fundamentals of graphic design is a terrific introductory course!!! This was my fist contact with art and graphics. Thank a lot for your lessons and advices.

Mauricio García

Colombia

By Thomasina I

Feb 17, 2016

This is a good course and you will learn to be creative and learn about things you haven't done before. I would suggest anyone who wants to learn the fundamentals to take this course

By João R P

Jan 30, 2016

I've barely started this course and it's already been a great artistic breakthrough for me. It certainly has opened my mind to the variety and depthness that graphic design can have.

By Mariana M

Dec 26, 2015

I really enjoyed the classes and the explanations were clear, precise and professional. thank you very much for preparing this classes. The exercises and references were very useful.

By Fran C

Feb 14, 2021

This was a great introductory class to graphic design. The assignments really helped get my creative juices flowing. A great course for anyone who is interested in any design field.

By Mariela

Feb 4, 2021

It was great fun! I have learned so much in such a short amount of time! I just wish I had more Instructor grading and feedback than peer, not that I appreciated peer feed back ofc.

By Harry B

Jun 29, 2017

The instructor was great! His tone, style and word execution kept my focus. His projects invited learning and experimentation which is very important in working with Graphic Design.

By Maria C V

Jan 11, 2016

Excellent course. Enjoyed the classes and all of the projects. I recommend doing the optional projects as well, because you get a chance to apply everything that you learn on class.

By Renaldo Q

Aug 7, 2017

Thank you for a great introduction to Graphic Arts and helping and old student reach his goals and dreams to work in the Artistic field. CalArts is awesome and well worth the cost.

By Ausi S

Sep 5, 2016

This course teach me a lot about graphic design in a whole. For those who wanted to learn more about graphic design and has no knowledge about this, I recommend to try this course.

By Alex Z

Dec 26, 2015

excelente, me gusta que puedo ir a mi ritmo, el profesor explica de manera muy digerible, los temas son amenos y los brief despumes de cada capitulo ayudan a reafirmar lo aprendido