Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
15,034 ratings
3,899 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

GA

Aug 20, 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

MN

May 18, 2022

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 3,874 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Angelica U

Sep 15, 2020

Un curso muy completo, saca la creatividad adelante y siempre destaca que no hay una sola técnica exacta o un patrón a seguir sino que los elementos se adapta a tu visión, me gustó mucho.

By Anastasia H

Mar 25, 2022

I`m very satisfied this course. I knew a lot of useful information about Graphic Design. I recommend the course to everyone who wants to improve their skills and learn more about design.

By Dorsa R

Dec 31, 2021

I loved everything about it. the studies were detailed. the classes were helpful and so was the grading system. I learned alot from this course and I look forward to more from CalArts :)

By Isabel M

Aug 15, 2021

After learning some fundamentals in this course, I remade my CV being careful with the typography and the hierarchy of the elements, after that I got a job. Thanks for all the teachings.

By Siddhant M

Aug 4, 2020

This course incorporate the best way of learning that is to get your hands dirty. The course enhances the learning process by practical approach rather than just one sided communication.

By Maria I F

Jun 28, 2020

I had a lot of fun creating in this course. I learned a lot about the fundamentals of design, and I believe this will help me a lot in the future. Thank you very much to the instructors.

By Sonali K S

Jun 1, 2020

Fundamentals of Graphic Design has helped me refresh my old school memories after 26 years. It's an amazing course for all beginners and people who wants to refresh their skills like me.

By Gashinskaia V

Apr 13, 2020

Very helpful course! Made me look at the design from a different angle! The way the lecturer delivers information and encourages you to CREATE is amazing! Thank you for this opportunity!

By Karan S

Apr 16, 2017

Learnt quite a few new techniques, methods and concepts. I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn the fundamentals of design in a step by step lucid and easily understandable manner.

By Alice G

Mar 4, 2016

Absolutely loved this class. Found it to be very helpful and worth my time and money. I think the professor did a great job with his lectures and I enjoyed the assignments.

Thank you.

By Trang P

Feb 19, 2016

This course was organized in a very easy manner for all types of learner. As someone who have had experience with Graphic Design, I thoroughly enjoyed this class and all the assignments.

By Nirmal E R

Aug 28, 2021

This is a great course giving fundamental, theorretical aspects of Graphic design that will help anyone help in design ideas and the elements of graphic design and their relation ships.

By A_62_ M A

Apr 5, 2021

The course is very well designed. Having all the inputs required to start with and experience the joy of graphic designing. Wonderful course for beginners who are completely new to art.

By darshan b

Feb 21, 2021

Fundamentals of Graphic Design is a excellent course it covers most of the basic topics for designing, it's a good and helpful course for beginners entering into the field of designing.

By Angela S

Dec 6, 2020

Very basic and easy to follow course for people new to the field. Many of the things discussed were things I already knew but he just helped me put them in context. Nice course overall.

By Dayanne L F P

Oct 6, 2020

Amé este curso. Te enseñan los conceptos y te animan siempre a divertirte con lo que creas. Pensé que no sería buena porque no tengo muchas habilidades, pero entendí todo y di lo mejor.

By sriram p

Aug 10, 2020

This course is a good one for beginners, this gives a brief introduction fore the topic of graphic design its really useful if your gonna pursue in further courses in the specialization

By Alejandra S Q

Mar 27, 2019

Excelente Profesor. Explica la toería de forma amena y clara. Propone trabajos prácticos muy acordes y enfocados a la experimentación de diferentes técnicas de diseño. Muy recomendable.

By Anastasiia B

Nov 13, 2016

This 4 four week were very inetesting. For me, I got new knowledges in sphere of graphic design. I improve and develop my skills. Thank you to authors and people who make this big work.

By Hugo

Nov 26, 2015

Even if you are an experimented designer, it's useful to come back to the basics and maybe discover something you've forgot or something new. A good one for people interested in design.

By Meduri D S

Jun 22, 2021

This course is so Interesting and i have gained knowledge in so many aspects.

I recommend this course to the people who are interested in graphic design and also you learn from scratch.

By AIKATERINI T

May 8, 2021

Nice course enjoyed the fact that it was simple and did not give you so much information that will get you discouraged. It gives a very good way of thinking, creating, and methodology.

By Tushar G

Jan 20, 2021

This course is for people who want to learn the creativity part of graphic design. They don't teach any software here. But this is a amazing course for increasing our creativity level.

By Alim B

Dec 17, 2020

This is some really professional grade knowledge. I did not know that this course could have such a great impact on my ideology of design. This changed everything I think about design.

By Rom B

May 4, 2020

excellent teacher and course.

i considered giving 4 stars because some students rating my assignments not according to the rules so i hope you will consider a way to solve this problem.