Chevron Left
Back to Our Energy Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Our Energy Future by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
870 ratings
243 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to introduce students to the issues of energy in the 21st century – including food and fuels – which are inseparably linked – and will discuss energy production and utilization from the biology, engineering, economics, climate science, and social science perspectives. This course will cover the current production and utilization of energy, as well as the consequences of this use, examining finite fossil energy reserves, how food and energy are linked, impacts on the environment and climate, and the social and economic impacts of our present energy and food production and use. After the introductory lectures, we will examine the emerging field of sustainable energy, fuel and food production, emphasizing the importance of developing energy efficient and sustainable methods of production, and how these new technologies can contribute to replacing the diminishing supplies of fossil fuels, and reduce the consequences of carbon dioxide release into the environment. This course will also cover the importance of creating a sustainable energy future for all societies including those of the developing world. Lectures will be prepared and delivered by leading UC San Diego and Scripps Institution of Oceanography faculty and industry professionals across these areas of expertise....

Top reviews

AM
Sep 28, 2016

Very informative course even for someone with a prior knowledge in a particular segment in renewable energy. Covers diverse energy resources along with economic, and environmental considerations.

JJ
Oct 30, 2016

Great learning experience! Easy way to get an idea of the work that is being done to better our lives in the future in terms of energy. Very interesting lectures and would highly recommend it.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 241 Reviews for Our Energy Future

By Zhaoyang M

May 5, 2016

quite good!

By María G F O

Oct 5, 2020

Love it!!!

By Olivier N

Oct 11, 2020

Excellent

By Flt L G R

Jul 21, 2020

THANKS...

By Siddharth R M

Sep 30, 2019

Excellent

By Roberto A

Jul 10, 2019

Excellent

By Yamil E P R

Dec 22, 2018

Excelent

By zephan w k e

Jul 1, 2020

amazing

By Kshitiz G

Aug 7, 2020

gyuiop

By Karissa D S

Jun 30, 2020

awsome

By Nikita S

Jul 19, 2020

grEAT

By 80_SMIT P

Feb 3, 2021

Nice

By Mayankkumar a r

Jan 16, 2021

Good

By KRISHAN G S

Sep 29, 2020

good

By maitrey

Apr 5, 2020

good

By Venkatesh p

Mar 20, 2020

Good

By Devendra Y

Feb 23, 2020

good

By Rohith A

Apr 16, 2019

Good

By Refreshing S

Dec 15, 2018

nice

By Anusha P B

Nov 19, 2020

The course is well designed. It needs to be updated with respect to facts and figures. The professors who conducted lectures explain the topics well. The question-answer session after every topic is very useful in thinking beyond the lecture material and understand the concepts in depth. One thing that can be improved is that presentations in the first few lectures were difficult to read as they were talks given in auditorium. Presentations can be shared so that it can be useful in future also. Overall a good course for beginners.

By Chan T W

Mar 20, 2021

A very interesting topic in general, but as a person not so good in biology, the Week 5 is a bit dull for me and really hard to get through. I shall say the technologies discussed here are something we need to at least be aware of. One technology is better than the other, but who knows, some other technology may become much better the next morning.

By Marthe v L

Sep 13, 2015

Very good and interesting overall, the slides are very helpful. The only thing for me is that it's going a bit fast sometimes. The content can be quite technical and for a social science graduate like myself it would be nice if some very technical things could be explained just tiny bit more. But overall it's understandable and clearly done.

By karthik s

May 2, 2021

This course gives you a major insight on what energy is and what it can be if we think rationally and intelligently. All professors taught us with so much passion. Loved it. Very informative and I would surely recommend it to everyone looking forward to expand their knowledge on our ENERGY Future. Thank you so much !!

By Aida G

Apr 24, 2017

Such a great course! Very interesting course with a lot of information on the renewable energies of the moment, its operation, numbers on it and advantages and disadvantages, also a lot of information about fossil fuels, in short an energetic vision of the moment.

By David R

Mar 22, 2021

Very informative and well presented. It is a little dated, however. The course was created in 2015, I think, and some of the concepts are dated. For example, I don't think that energy experts are still as worried about the end of fossil fuel. Could use an update.