Chevron Left
Back to Our Energy Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Our Energy Future by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
508 ratings
151 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to introduce students to the issues of energy in the 21st century – including food and fuels – which are inseparably linked – and will discuss energy production and utilization from the biology, engineering, economics, climate science, and social science perspectives. This course will cover the current production and utilization of energy, as well as the consequences of this use, examining finite fossil energy reserves, how food and energy are linked, impacts on the environment and climate, and the social and economic impacts of our present energy and food production and use. After the introductory lectures, we will examine the emerging field of sustainable energy, fuel and food production, emphasizing the importance of developing energy efficient and sustainable methods of production, and how these new technologies can contribute to replacing the diminishing supplies of fossil fuels, and reduce the consequences of carbon dioxide release into the environment. This course will also cover the importance of creating a sustainable energy future for all societies including those of the developing world. Lectures will be prepared and delivered by leading UC San Diego and Scripps Institution of Oceanography faculty and industry professionals across these areas of expertise....

Top reviews

AM

Sep 29, 2016

Very informative course even for someone with a prior knowledge in a particular segment in renewable energy. Covers diverse energy resources along with economic, and environmental considerations.

JJ

Oct 31, 2016

Great learning experience! Easy way to get an idea of the work that is being done to better our lives in the future in terms of energy. Very interesting lectures and would highly recommend it.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 149 Reviews for Our Energy Future

By Alberto O

Dec 02, 2019

It was a very helpful course! I didn't knew a lot about biofuels, so it was very complementary with the knowledge I already had about other technologies and their sustainable development.

By Fernando B

Dec 26, 2016

Me gusto mucísimo el curso. 90% de la información es nueva para mí y sé que la aprovecharé para desarrollar una idea que tengo para crear mi propia empresa que sea ambientalmente amigable

By Fernando M

Jul 26, 2019

This course is recomendable because it includes multiple approach, pros and cons, different alternatives, explain the situation around the world. in summary a very complete course.

By laila k k

Jul 07, 2019

Even though without scientific background, I found this course simply brilliant. Pragmatic, with much data on the future sources of energy that I hope will replace fossil fuels...

By Shivaji S K

Oct 03, 2015

One of the great course I ever attended...well structured, very fruitful...definitely guided me to do something for clean energy and green environment..Thank you all professors...

By Cristina D O G

May 26, 2017

It gives great insight into biofuel production, but also how other renewable energies work, and the necessity of them coming together to cope with global energy demand :)

By Jim L

Jan 02, 2019

A very thorough survey of clean energy options, with an emphasis on bio-fuels. Numerous lectures by leading experts in their respective fields. Very well done.

By Nancy W

Sep 18, 2018

A lot of really great material, and the Week 9 "Office Hours" are well worth the time. The course would benefit from mentoring and perhaps some more recent data,

By Andres F D M

Jan 22, 2017

Fantastic course, great material and very complete and insightful. It would be great if the information could be upgraded to see how we currently are.

By Irving E G

Apr 25, 2016

An excellent course for environmentally conscious individuals interested in the different options we have to create a 100% renewable energy future.

By Moulay D E A F

Aug 23, 2015

This course is an excellent introduction to energy topics especially in the optic of the energy challenge that humanity faces with global warming!

By Toni C

Aug 15, 2015

A very good course. I totally recommend it for those who want to get some insight into the world of energy from different perspectives.

By Donald A

Jan 12, 2020

Great course, fine balance. You did not disappoint. You gave fair treatment to some solid technologies, that "Will last the course."

By De V N

Aug 15, 2017

Great course in order to understand that energy solutions are as with many other things, a trade-off. There is no either-or solution.

By Alexander K

Oct 12, 2015

Very good, informative course. A broad field of science is included, from biotech to sociology, and lots of information. Recommended!

By Gabriela C

May 04, 2016

Me parece un curso que proporciona la cantidad y a la vez variedad de temas introducidos de una forma simple con vocabulario t

By Lars B

Nov 24, 2016

A very good overview of energy that opened my eyes for how to solve in a sustainable way the global warming and food issues.

By Muhammad R

Dec 26, 2015

Excellent course for those who have interest in Renewable Energy and very comprehensive and informative for everyone.

By Richard M

Dec 10, 2016

Excellent course with well explained instructions. Broad range of topics and in depth enough to have a good grasp o

By Richard H

May 01, 2016

I am a retired US Army Officer and Wind Energy Professional. This is a superb course and is immensely relevant.

By Vishwaknath R P

Apr 07, 2019

I am very thankful to the instructors as they allowed me to learn some great things about OUR ENERGY FUTURE

By Pawan K S

Nov 07, 2017

its an awesome course....everyone should have to study this...it should our responsibility to do it....

By João N

Jun 30, 2016

Excellent teachers, thanks to you all.

Dr. Stephen Mayfield inspire respect for the subject, Congrats!

By Susana M

Oct 06, 2016

They give an overview of the most used and innovative sources of alternative energy, well explained!!

By fadi k

Aug 24, 2016

very encouraging course , nicely put and very hard work to put all these themes together.Thank you