Chevron Left
Back to Our Energy Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Our Energy Future by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
506 ratings
151 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to introduce students to the issues of energy in the 21st century – including food and fuels – which are inseparably linked – and will discuss energy production and utilization from the biology, engineering, economics, climate science, and social science perspectives. This course will cover the current production and utilization of energy, as well as the consequences of this use, examining finite fossil energy reserves, how food and energy are linked, impacts on the environment and climate, and the social and economic impacts of our present energy and food production and use. After the introductory lectures, we will examine the emerging field of sustainable energy, fuel and food production, emphasizing the importance of developing energy efficient and sustainable methods of production, and how these new technologies can contribute to replacing the diminishing supplies of fossil fuels, and reduce the consequences of carbon dioxide release into the environment. This course will also cover the importance of creating a sustainable energy future for all societies including those of the developing world. Lectures will be prepared and delivered by leading UC San Diego and Scripps Institution of Oceanography faculty and industry professionals across these areas of expertise....

Top reviews

AM

Sep 29, 2016

Very informative course even for someone with a prior knowledge in a particular segment in renewable energy. Covers diverse energy resources along with economic, and environmental considerations.

JJ

Oct 31, 2016

Great learning experience! Easy way to get an idea of the work that is being done to better our lives in the future in terms of energy. Very interesting lectures and would highly recommend it.

Filter by:

126 - 149 of 149 Reviews for Our Energy Future

By Katelyn J

Aug 26, 2015

This very interesting course looks at both the science and economic factors that influence energy technologies.

By Liliana C

Sep 26, 2016

Una excelente introducción al mundo de la energía, super completo,entendible, profesores de primer nivel!!

By priyank

Sep 02, 2018

This is an introductory course to sustainable energy. Its a good place to begin with

By Aditya S

Dec 05, 2017

Amazing lecture series. Improved my vision towards energy and environmental fields.

By Mushahid H

Jul 29, 2019

It is a fantastic subject. I have learned a lot from it. I like it.

By paulogalindo5000@gmail.com

Mar 20, 2018

Is a good and interesting course. I recommend it.

By 郭逸飞

May 11, 2018

Thanks very much for your contributions!

By Aleks L

May 22, 2019

Slightly outdated and very US-centric.

By Dr. M K B

Oct 12, 2017

I am proud to do the course Sir

By GERMÁN A V P

Dec 06, 2015

It is an excellent course

By Sudhir N

Oct 18, 2016

Truly enriching stuff.

By Juan C D M

Dec 08, 2015

I liked it..

By Xavier C

Feb 08, 2018

Good course

By Nico G

Nov 21, 2019

Outdated. Compiled in 2012, this course presents an outdated situation of the market. All data shown are from 2012 at the latest. the industry has considerably changed in the last 7 years. Plus most of the companies mentioned in the presentations that were active in the biofuel sector went bust or simply closed which poses the efficiency of all the solutions described during this course.

Some of the lectures are too detailed especially on the scientific side and fail to grab the big picture. Fortunately each lecture is followed by a Q&A from Dr Murphy who seems to be the only one to replace the topics in the general context.

By Marika

Jan 19, 2017

A good course, giving a thorough understanding of the various types of renewable energy, their issues and opportunities. I cannot rate the course higher because some of it is so out of date. It really needs to be re-done. The Paris Agreement wasn't mentioned, some of the research is from the early 2000s, many of the lectures are at least 3 years old. This is an area that is changing rapidly, monthly, and this course can't really be seen to be current any more. Particularly the politics section in week 8.

By Giorgio G

Jan 02, 2019

In general I found it quite interesting and with a good amount of information. However, a lot of numbers, figures and forecasts are from several years ago and the lessons should be updated with the latest available information.

By Stephannie

Dec 22, 2016

Too much information for a short amount of time to compile. I liked the questions in the middle of the videos, but I would be great to always have the justification of the answers for a more profund learnning.

By vinod p c p

Jan 28, 2018

This course is old. Many of the information provided are outdated due to fast changes happening in energy sector.

By Rushil

May 11, 2016

Nice course with lot of numbers and facts.

By Michael B

Dec 29, 2016

This class was bizarre. Some of the content and lecturers was fantastic, but some lecturers were quite dull and some lectures and quizzes were poorly written and misleading. The class was also strangely designed and executed: the amount of content per week varied significantly; the vast majority of the content was in a very specific energy sector (biofuels) and other key sectors were almost entirely overlooked; it also seems like the content is already a few years old. It was more of a description of UCSD's research than of the "future of the energy".

By Chase S

Jan 09, 2020

Much of the data is from 2011-2013. It's talking about problems that have already been solved, with numbers that are outdated. You can't use this to get anything but historical knowledge

By Guillaume C

Aug 29, 2015

Not adapted to an online format. Low quality videos.

Interesting topics, but no efficient progression. Many sections become an update about UCSD research, not adapted to the audience.

By Muhammad Q J P

Aug 07, 2019

Very sick course. No management. Very non-productive lectures and quiz.

By Arash Z

May 09, 2017

Not Realy related to energy, mostly Bio fuel