Chevron Left
Back to Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure by Google Cloud

4.7
stars
41,642 ratings
7,153 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to important concepts and terminology for working with Google Cloud Platform (GCP). You learn about, and compare, many of the computing and storage services available in Google Cloud Platform, including Google App Engine, Google Compute Engine, Google Kubernetes Engine, Google Cloud Storage, Google Cloud SQL, and BigQuery. You learn about important resource and policy management tools, such as the Google Cloud Resource Manager hierarchy and Google Cloud Identity and Access Management. Hands-on labs give you foundational skills for working with GCP. Note: •Google services are currently unavailable in China....

Top reviews

AN
May 9, 2020

Thank you so much for this amazing interactive course. I enjoyed every part for improvement suggestions please consider increasing the lab projects' time a bit so that students can be on less pressure

GF
Jan 28, 2017

Great course to introduce the specialization. It could be more robust, but it does the job and you are also provided with links for documents that will help you build on what you learn in the course.

Filter by:

6776 - 6800 of 7,117 Reviews for Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure

By Andy A

Sep 23, 2019

o

k

By Raja S

Jul 2, 2019

NA

By Andrea P

Feb 21, 2019

ok

By Isaac T

Sep 12, 2018

;)

By MARIA T J N

Mar 1, 2020

m

By sandeep s

Oct 6, 2019

E

By Cristian S

Nov 8, 2017

Although the topic itself is very interesting, I was disappointed with the way the course was presented. First of all, with all due respect for the trainer, he used a flat voice tone that is challenging you to stay awake. Secondly, I think more details and real-life examples would've been useful.

I liked the labs and the platform, I think this was the most useful part of the course.

One last mention, I don't if this is a Coursera feature or the course itself, but the progress tracking could be improved in my opinion. There were time when you had to scroll all the way down for the next video and the scroll all the way up to see it.

By Dmitry M

Oct 25, 2017

Even though it’s an introductory course, I believe it could and should be exciting and encouraging. Unfortunately, it’s quite the opposite. Boring and monotonic, it feels very formal, and it is presented without even the slightest spark of interest from the author.

To add insult to injury, there are a lot of small flaws and bugs in the Coursera interface. That’s quite unexpected and, in the end, simply disappointing.

On the bright side, I did learn new things, and I am genuinely grateful for that.

By Jan Z

Jan 26, 2017

That was a pretty good introduction on how various systems work, together with a nice practical tutorial. However, the delivery has ENORMOUS potential for improvement... for now it's just slides with an extremely impassive voiceover. There are so many good ways to engage with the learner and yet none of them have been employed here. After doing a great Deep Learning course by Google on another platform, this one was a huge disappointment in that regard.

By Christopher T

Oct 22, 2019

As a tech manager the course was great to introduce the many services and their uses, especially detailed use cases. Some labs were enjoyable to see how the services are used, but some were cumbersome and the directions were poorly written. On occassion the google jargon got to be a bit much and I had to rewatch a sentence 3 times. Perhaps that's not the course's fault, but it's akin to a dictionary using the work being defined in it's explanation.

By Raymond J B

Jun 5, 2020

This course work is not for a beginner... it assumes the student is comfortable with the command line environment. I am not sure how many students from my cohort (myself include) understand these prerequisites.

Also, the instructors are great, but the script is too granular for a new learner or a non-english speaker to understand. I don't think the graphics in the presentations really support what is being stated.

By Dennis v d P

Apr 14, 2018

Gives a good and comprehensive overview of GCP, with a nice mix between videos, demos and hands-on codelab tutorials (with various tools). Even understandable for those without knowledge of setting up Linux systems :-)

However, some information is already outdated (or doesn't even match with what the presenter is saying) and the presenter has a slightly slow pace making the videos more lenghty than needed.

By Roberto R

Sep 3, 2021

I am p​retty sure this course was supposed to be broken down into multiple weeks. 1 week with over 12 hours of content but they recommend 4-6 hours a week for the course. That is at least 3 weeks of content in that case. You can tell something funny happened the way the modules are broken down in the course. Easy to follow and awsome powerpoint slides, but they need to fix the layout in this course.

By Lisa L

Nov 18, 2019

While I'm finding these courses very helpful in my journey to the cloud, this one seemed a little higher level to me, I'm not a developer, I'm more of a project manager so it helped to learn the terminoligy, I won't be using the skills from the labs. Also, I forget which lab it was but the screen shots in the instructions didn't match the screens in the lab, had to poke around to finish.

By Barclay

Jul 10, 2017

Slides are cool but illustrated examples are always better. The quizzes are way too short and don't do a good enough job of reinforcing the information. Come up with more quiz questions (like a lot more) and have a final exam at the end of the course like linuxacademy. In fact the more you can emulate linux academy the better because their courses are much easier to retain.

By Gururaj N

Mar 12, 2018

The course content is probably good. At least as an intro to the platform. However, the presenter's monotonous voice and pace is excruciatingly boring. I tried increasing the speed to 1.25 and 1.5 times then started missing on some key points. They could have made this more engaging by either using a different format or by using a different presenter.

By Robert B

Oct 20, 2017

The content was in-depth enough to understand enough about GCP. There was some previous knowledge needed about Python and Bash which would be difficult for some beginners. The structure of the content was fairly well organised, although some concepts were repeated. Doug did an excellent job of explaining the concepts although his tone is very dry.

By Chuck W

Aug 9, 2021

This course provides a general overview of all major aspects of GCP, but I found some of the content to be stale as it appears some content dates back a few years.... the UX has changed for some products (i.e. Stackdriver).

Otherwise, I would recommend this course to provide anybody who needs to work in the GCP environment a good foundation.

By Shardul K

Jun 26, 2021

Content & lab sessions are good. The sessions are pre-recorded - if the pace is not up to Google expectations, why to pursue with "the assessments might be checked bit late if submitted late". What is intention of threat? :D Understood the good intent that momentum should not be lost but the msg istnt quite received well.

By Mary M

Aug 28, 2020

There was useful information but I found it a bit overwhelming esp in the labs as I am new to this area and required more time and details on where to find items, there were so many acronyms/abbreviations I had to look up to be able to follow along with the discussion. It is incredible how much is going on in the cloud.

By Chelsea H

Sep 7, 2020

Learned quite a bit. I love the opportunity to solidify new knowledge with labs and quizzes. Some of the labs were not working initially but resolved in the end. This course felt very generalized for the knowledge we should be learning but it is a lot to figure out, so perhaps future courses will elaborate.

By Omar M

May 4, 2018

Applied for the "Architecting with Google Cloud Platform Specialization," only got financial aid for this course. This course is basically a brochure of what the cloud can do, finished this in a day. If you're brand new to the cloud, it's fine but this course doesn't offer much after that.

By Abhishek S

May 29, 2020

The course was pretty good and it had many new things to learn. Just the issue was with few labs and there explanation. The written explanation and video explanation of the lab was not similar.

Other than that everything was perfect. Thank You Coursera for thus wonderful course.

By Mike H

Feb 20, 2021

A decent overview, but dips into sales talking points of Google Cloud services. Would be much simpler to just talk about the basics of how the Cloud is built, what needs it serves and how various users use it and then demonstrate the various offerings that fit those needs.

By Parth M

Jul 18, 2018

Information is a decent overview but they quickly blow past a lot of information. Labs are generally unhelpful and often take longer to simply set up than actually complete. Not worth $50 but there's no other training courses for GCP out there so this one it is.