Chevron Left
Back to Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Foundation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Foundation by Google Cloud

4.7
stars
15,456 ratings
1,718 reviews

About the Course

This accelerated on-demand course introduces participants to the comprehensive and flexible infrastructure and platform services provided by Google Cloud with a focus on Compute Engine. Through a combination of video lectures, demos, and hands-on labs, participants explore and deploy solution elements, including infrastructure components such as networks, virtual machines and applications services. You will learn how to use the Google Cloud through the console and Cloud Shell. You'll also learn about the role of a cloud architect, approaches to infrastructure design, and virtual networking configuration with Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), Projects, Networks, Subnetworks, IP addresses, Routes, and Firewall rules. Prerequisites: To get the most out of this course, participants should have: • Completed Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure or have equivalent experience • Basic proficiency with command-line tools and Linux operating system environments • Systems Operations experience including deploying and managing applications, either on-premises or in a public cloud environment >>> By enrolling in this course you agree to the Qwiklabs Terms of Service as set out in the FAQ and located at: https://qwiklabs.com/terms_of_service <<<...

Top reviews

MM
Apr 2, 2021

This is an excellent training course with great labs, allowing in depth hands-on to the real Google Cloud platform. This alone allows for a better understanding of what's Google Cloud Infrastructure.

HP
Sep 5, 2020

Thanks to Google and its team for producing such a wonderful training content. It was a breeze to know about GCP and core services even for a guy like me how has not been hands-on for over 20 years.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,715 Reviews for Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Foundation

By Arash B z

Jul 31, 2019

The script is very boring. Narrative is very monotonous. It is better to read the script, which makes me to question the experience, and the money I paid for this.

By Harindu P

Sep 6, 2020

Thanks to Google and its team for producing such a wonderful training content. It was a breeze to know about GCP and core services even for a guy like me how has not been hands-on for over 20 years.

By Mario M

Apr 3, 2021

This is an excellent training course with great labs, allowing in depth hands-on to the real Google Cloud platform. This alone allows for a better understanding of what's Google Cloud Infrastructure.

By Arthur B R d S

Jul 7, 2019

Excelente para aprender os princípios da nuvem e todos os recursos de redes oferecidos

By Varun G

Jul 16, 2020

This was an excellent course that gave insight into the most basic GCP IaaS products such as VPCs and Compute Engine VMs. It thoroughly explained their usage and the labs helped with interesting practical applications to familiarize us with the platform.

By Ashwin D

May 24, 2020

A must do for anyone new to GCP. It provides a strong foundation of the Networking concepts used in GCP which is fundamental to doing anything here. Also covered are the VMs in fair bit of detail.

By Rohith K R

Jul 8, 2020

This is an Awesome Course where I got to learn a lot about the VM Instance and its usage and the Storage Bucket concepts. And in specific, the Lab for deploying a Minecraft server was super cool.

By Pritish U

Jun 26, 2020

Very illustrative course and labs are created with Ample amount of practice time to understand the subject effectively. I loved to worked on the labs and understand the concept in this course.

By Tasbir I

Jul 8, 2019

Hands-on labs are great! Overall gives a good understanding how things can be setup. Good course if you would like to brush-up on things. Some small updates are needed as UI has changed.

By Alejandro M

Oct 1, 2017

Content is good, a great intro to get started with GCP, need some minor updates on content and labs to be aligned with latest GCP,, but nothing you shouldn't be able to figure out.

By Lasitha M D

Apr 24, 2020

Exploring GCP concepts and services gave me new perspectives in managing and using servers. Cloud computing is the next best way to cater the growing demand of the Software Industry and this course gave me a good understanding about firewalls, networks, subnets, routes, and vms (disks, scripts) etc.

The course is well balanced for a beginner in GCP and the knowledge is sufficient to peruse our own research of the services explained here. One this that i should point out is the lack of MCQs in the course, In the Google Cloud Platform: Core services, there are extensive amount of questions available through out the course and helped me to re-evaluate the knowledge i abstracted but in this course, only 2 MCQ sessions existed. I'm suggesting at least increase it to 4 because more deep diving in services needs extensive evaluations of concepts. I hope that this suggestion will be considered in next session of this course. Thank you Google, QwikLab and Coursera ...

By Aliaksei K

Aug 29, 2018

Unlike Core Infrastructure, which is more like a good overview, this course is designed so that you can feel the differences in details. The thing I liked most is the structure of the labs: they allow you to understand the platform step by step as well as encouraging to play with it by giving extra time (they all can be restarted, I know, but there it is as a default option). The other point I wanted to highlight is about quizes: though they do not have many questions, I believe they incorporate the key points which were sufficient to understand the module.

Last but not least, I really liked Philipp as a lector. Actually, there are two recommendations I would like to give: 1) giving pauses for the audience to examine complicated slides (even though pauses are always available); 2) hovering the elements on slides which are currently being discussed.

Thank you!

By Ilia M

Sep 2, 2017

I think the course is great, but some of the GCP interface has changed since the labs were made, making it difficult in certain cases to follow them and get the results that you want. Having said that, one should realize that GCP is constantly changing, innovating, and coming out with better ways of doing things, so keeping the course current becomes rather difficult. The advantage is that one has to actually understand what they are trying to achieve and "poke" around the interface to achieve the required result - which in the end teaches you more than simply following instructions and exploring the platform a bit more. I would encourage the instructors to give a little more time for the labs due to inconsistencies between instructions and GCP UI. Thank you!

By Amit B

Oct 22, 2020

This course given in-depth knowledge about new emerging technology (Cloud Computing) and the role of Google in this technology. Complete specialization given thorough understanding of Cloud and courses having flexibility, good interaction and convenience. To complete online courses it requires a lot of self-discipline.

Online courses are not made for every person or field of study. Traditional education will still exist, but online education will become more and more present in our daily lives.

By Abhishek J

Sep 7, 2017

The course is must for understanding various benefits Google Compute Engine provides over on-prem solutions and how to manage different VM instances. The lab sessions are the most important and useful part of this course. Not to mention the instructors are really well versed and explain complex concepts using simple analogies and diagrams. Thanks to the instructors, Google and Coursera for this course.

By Alex T

Apr 5, 2020

Learning about Classless Inter-Domain Routing, Bastion Hosting; makes one realize there's more to the cloud than someone's computer. You need to understand how virtual machines operate, their costs, the types of required boot disks and memory while still being able to access valuable info through StackDriver and Logging on your GCP; it's more than just computing it's an art.

By charles

Aug 7, 2020

this is so far, out of all the courses i took. Right on par with the machine learning course by andrew ng. This has a good mix of lab and theory, which is unlike the prerequisite for this course, which is quite useless if you ask me. And what is even better is the walkthrough for the labs, it helped me alot in understanding the steps and logic for each item we want to do

By Syed U H

Mar 3, 2020

As an Undergraduate guy. I am very passionate learner, who only want to keep himself different from his batch mates by learning new technologies. Since the day 1, I have learnt a lot with this course regarding Virtual Machines. How to make your server live and make projects look cool. I am really happy with course. Thank you Google Cloud <3

By Stephen F

Sep 8, 2018

Everything is great. You should feel powerful and moderately competent with GCP once you've finished this course.

It's up to you to make the most of it. The instructors are good, the quizzes are difficult (making sure you know what you're talking about) and the depth is adequate, especially considering the breadth of material covered.

By Julio C A

Jul 21, 2019

Fue un excelente curso que complementa al curso de Core Fundation, se especializa en el uso y configuración de funciones avanzadas de Compute Eangine, crear scripts, cron jobs, instancias bastion, uso del firewall y reglas, respaldos automatizados mediante SSH etc. Es uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado. Recomendado

By ALEJANDRO D F M

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you so much for this second course of the series Cloud Arquitecture with GCP. I learned a lot and I will certainly re-study and study again each one of the videolectures and qwiklabs of this course, because all of their interactivity, useful and practical content worth it. Thanks again. Regards, Alex de Fuentes.

By Junior S

Apr 28, 2020

I learned soooo much about GCP and about working in the Cloud. I like that Google makes a lot of knowledge and information freely available for those looking to learn on their own. I recommend that new comers get a Qwiklab subscription after completing this course, to continuing practicing and growing in GCP!

By Paul-Roland J

Sep 24, 2018

I loved this course, but i found that the guide is incomplete when trying to create bucket for backup. We have to reauthenticate one more time in commandline by using the command "gcloud auth login" before execute the command "gsutil mb gs://$YOUR_BUCKET_NAME-minecraft-backup" to create the bucket

By Yi H L

Jul 28, 2017

Very well created course for GCP, suits generally anyone that has interest with and wanted to explore Google Cloud Platform.

Content were built in smaller bits, helps for easier digestion and understanding.

The qwiklab sessions are great as well, to give a hands on for the related course content.

By Gunjan M

Jun 7, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience. I am working in DevOps since last couple of years on Azure and Openstack environments. This course give me a very good understanding about Google cloud. Labs are quiz are very good, some are really very tough which will really check your knowledge.