Chevron Left
Back to Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Foundation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Foundation by Google Cloud

4.7
stars
16,096 ratings

About the Course

This accelerated on-demand course introduces participants to the comprehensive and flexible infrastructure and platform services provided by Google Cloud with a focus on Compute Engine. Through a combination of video lectures, demos, and hands-on labs, participants explore and deploy solution elements, including infrastructure components such as networks, virtual machines and applications services. You will learn how to use the Google Cloud through the console and Cloud Shell. You'll also learn about the role of a cloud architect, approaches to infrastructure design, and virtual networking configuration with Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), Projects, Networks, Subnetworks, IP addresses, Routes, and Firewall rules. Prerequisites: To get the most out of this course, participants should: Have completed Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure or have equivalent experience. Have basic proficiency with command-line tools and Linux operating system environments. Have systems operations experience, including deploying and managing applications, either on-premises or in a public cloud environment. >>> By enrolling in this course you agree to the Qwiklabs Terms of Service as set out in the FAQ and located at: https://qwiklabs.com/terms_of_service <<<...

Top reviews

MM

Apr 2, 2021

This is an excellent training course with great labs, allowing in depth hands-on to the real Google Cloud platform. This alone allows for a better understanding of what's Google Cloud Infrastructure.

HP

Sep 5, 2020

Thanks to Google and its team for producing such a wonderful training content. It was a breeze to know about GCP and core services even for a guy like me how has not been hands-on for over 20 years.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,779 Reviews for Essential Google Cloud Infrastructure: Foundation

By Ilia M

Sep 2, 2017

I think the course is great, but some of the GCP interface has changed since the labs were made, making it difficult in certain cases to follow them and get the results that you want. Having said that, one should realize that GCP is constantly changing, innovating, and coming out with better ways of doing things, so keeping the course current becomes rather difficult. The advantage is that one has to actually understand what they are trying to achieve and "poke" around the interface to achieve the required result - which in the end teaches you more than simply following instructions and exploring the platform a bit more. I would encourage the instructors to give a little more time for the labs due to inconsistencies between instructions and GCP UI. Thank you!

By Amit B

Oct 22, 2020

This course given in-depth knowledge about new emerging technology (Cloud Computing) and the role of Google in this technology. Complete specialization given thorough understanding of Cloud and courses having flexibility, good interaction and convenience. To complete online courses it requires a lot of self-discipline.

Online courses are not made for every person or field of study. Traditional education will still exist, but online education will become more and more present in our daily lives.

By Paul-Marius N B

Mar 29, 2022

Le cours est très complet et permet rapidement de comprendre et prendre en main les possibilités de Compute Engine.

Maintenant, il y a tellement de cas d'utilisation possible, qu'il faudrait vraiment avoir un besoin spécifique bien déterminé pour naviguer dans tout ça et trouver la meilleure configuration.

Ce cours est très explicite, avec des cas pratiques qui permettent de bien prendre en main les choses.

By Abhishek J

Sep 7, 2017

The course is must for understanding various benefits Google Compute Engine provides over on-prem solutions and how to manage different VM instances. The lab sessions are the most important and useful part of this course. Not to mention the instructors are really well versed and explain complex concepts using simple analogies and diagrams. Thanks to the instructors, Google and Coursera for this course.

By Alex T

Apr 5, 2020

Learning about Classless Inter-Domain Routing, Bastion Hosting; makes one realize there's more to the cloud than someone's computer. You need to understand how virtual machines operate, their costs, the types of required boot disks and memory while still being able to access valuable info through StackDriver and Logging on your GCP; it's more than just computing it's an art.

By charles

Aug 7, 2020

this is so far, out of all the courses i took. Right on par with the machine learning course by andrew ng. This has a good mix of lab and theory, which is unlike the prerequisite for this course, which is quite useless if you ask me. And what is even better is the walkthrough for the labs, it helped me alot in understanding the steps and logic for each item we want to do

By Syed U H

Mar 3, 2020

As an Undergraduate guy. I am very passionate learner, who only want to keep himself different from his batch mates by learning new technologies. Since the day 1, I have learnt a lot with this course regarding Virtual Machines. How to make your server live and make projects look cool. I am really happy with course. Thank you Google Cloud <3

By Stephen F

Sep 8, 2018

Everything is great. You should feel powerful and moderately competent with GCP once you've finished this course.

It's up to you to make the most of it. The instructors are good, the quizzes are difficult (making sure you know what you're talking about) and the depth is adequate, especially considering the breadth of material covered.

By Julio C A

Jul 21, 2019

Fue un excelente curso que complementa al curso de Core Fundation, se especializa en el uso y configuración de funciones avanzadas de Compute Eangine, crear scripts, cron jobs, instancias bastion, uso del firewall y reglas, respaldos automatizados mediante SSH etc. Es uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado. Recomendado

By ALEJANDRO D F M

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you so much for this second course of the series Cloud Arquitecture with GCP. I learned a lot and I will certainly re-study and study again each one of the videolectures and qwiklabs of this course, because all of their interactivity, useful and practical content worth it. Thanks again. Regards, Alex de Fuentes.

By Junior S

Apr 28, 2020

I learned soooo much about GCP and about working in the Cloud. I like that Google makes a lot of knowledge and information freely available for those looking to learn on their own. I recommend that new comers get a Qwiklab subscription after completing this course, to continuing practicing and growing in GCP!

By Paul-Roland J

Sep 24, 2018

I loved this course, but i found that the guide is incomplete when trying to create bucket for backup. We have to reauthenticate one more time in commandline by using the command "gcloud auth login" before execute the command "gsutil mb gs://$YOUR_BUCKET_NAME-minecraft-backup" to create the bucket

By Yi H L

Jul 28, 2017

Very well created course for GCP, suits generally anyone that has interest with and wanted to explore Google Cloud Platform.

Content were built in smaller bits, helps for easier digestion and understanding.

The qwiklab sessions are great as well, to give a hands on for the related course content.

By Gunjan M

Jun 7, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience. I am working in DevOps since last couple of years on Azure and Openstack environments. This course give me a very good understanding about Google cloud. Labs are quiz are very good, some are really very tough which will really check your knowledge.

By Bharath K

Feb 25, 2018

The course was informative and useful. Few suggestions - When access to Qwiklabs is introduced in first last lab, flow can be streamlined and bit more detail can be provided. As many have said the videos are too short. Some of them can be combined and for some, more details can be added

By Nick H

Apr 22, 2020

I think this course does justice as an introduction to the many options that are available when using GCP to architect your applications. I will most probably have to revisit it because it contains a lot of information but fortunately at a high enough level to get through in two weeks

By Soujanya A

Aug 16, 2019

Great Course, ideally, i would suggest this as starting point for completing this specialisation (Architecting with GCP) as it goes deeper into each concept very well and labs and examples are so well documented and explained that you truly get feel of setting it up in real world.

By Usman Z

Jan 20, 2020

I have learned a lot of new things from this lab. this course has everything you need to know about cloud infrastructure. My plan to choose Cloud computing as career is turning out to be a very good choice. its interesting and also very informative that how GCP actually works.

By JeremySS

Apr 19, 2020

Great introduction for those that want to get serious about Cloud computing with Google. If you are a network engineer or a technician that used to setup physical servers for companies, this can be done in 1-2 days, grasping the equivalent services to create similar on GCP.

By Aaron A

Jan 14, 2019

This was well presented with good labs. If you already have a lot of AWS experience, this is a little slow because the concepts are very similar but there are some really important differences that you can miss if you aren't paying attention (networking in particular).

By Madhur P

Jan 19, 2020

Excellent course to understand the basics of compute engine various options available and impact on cost due to various choices. Network subnets topics are bit complex but with labs those are easy to understand to build base for further study into this area

By Elizabeth N

May 23, 2021

Extremely informative and well thought out. The course follows a logical step by step approach building a solid foundation and later filling in the “details”. I find the course easy to follow and very comprehensive. See you in the Cloud!

Elizabeth Neri

By Gursimrat S

Apr 21, 2020

Training videos are brilliant and made it easy to comprehend difficult theories which otherwise would be difficult to understand. And with the help of hands on labs by QwikLabs, I was able to get familiar with various modes of achieving objectives in GCP.

By kz 0

Oct 30, 2018

great course and great start to learn more about google cloud services

helped me better understand

networking aspects with in gcloud

setting up of virtual machines

how to restrict vm from internet access

set up of bastion host

disks, set up of persistent disks

By Harold M

Jan 18, 2018

This is an essential course on GCP. This course shows all the available features of services such as Compute Engine, Networking in the Cloud (Networks, Subnets, Firewalls, Routes) , Load Balancers and Backend services. Highly recommended.