Chevron Left
Back to General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Learner Reviews & Feedback for General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application by Rice University

4.7
stars
985 ratings

About the Course

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Top reviews

MM

Invalid date

This is an outstanding course. The concepts are explained clearly, and the problem sets tie everything together.

ZK

Invalid date

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 248 Reviews for General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

By Ugbosu F O

Jul 21, 2020

I'm really happy about my success in this course, at first it was looking bulky but now I'm done, not just done but I've also acquired so many skills on this course.

A big thank you to everyone at RICE and Coursera.

By Ritchelle A P

Oct 11, 2020

i would like ti thank my instructor for having this kind of lecture.. chemistry is one of my favourite subjects during my junior high school. it is indeed an amazing experience to gather learnings about chemistry

By Aaron J S M

Nov 3, 2020

Hello! This rating reflects how great the course is! I just need to acquire my Certificate, I thought it was given automatically after the course. Please do tell me ASAP if I need to do something for it.

By 18UCHA041

Aug 2, 2020

It was new study approach. It was different and it always kept me on my toes. I kept questioning and understanding topics from different perspectives throughout. Thank you

By Md. R U C

Jun 9, 2020

I enjoyed the course very much. None of the lectures was boring. Mr Steven Hutchinson is a dedicated teacher. I'll ensure to keep up my way of learning.

By Revathy R

Jul 13, 2020

Thank you Dr. John Steven Hutchinson. The course was systematically covered and questions were challenging too. Looking forward to your next course.

By JACKLINE N S m

Aug 23, 2023

I got the general knowledge on basics of chemistry and the application on additional to the vapour liquid equilibrium and the phase changes.

By Nguyen D L

Jun 2, 2021

I love the lecture and quizzes. I am more confident to help my son with Chemistry now. Thank you Prof Hutchinson and Rice University Staffs.

By Myles M

Jul 10, 2023

This is an outstanding course. The concepts are explained clearly, and the problem sets tie everything together.

By Elsadig A M A

Apr 7, 2022

Thanks for this training general chemistery concept I requierd mor courses semiller to advance exciperiance .

By Igbaroola S A

Aug 12, 2020

This course has been quite amazing. I hope to apply it in my further knowledge of concept in chemistry.

By IBEZIM I T I

Aug 23, 2022

It was very educative and improved on the knowledge that covenant university had already taught us.

By Oscar C

Aug 23, 2021

Muy bueno, sigan así con más cursos como estos , pero se necesita certificación por favor, gracias

By 蒲長恩

May 8, 2023

A complete step by step teaching program leading to a fully understanding of general chemistry!

By Anni J R R

Jun 20, 2022

Muy buenos materiales de exposición además de las retroalimentaciones en cada examen, excelente

By Manuel L

May 29, 2023

A simple and very interesting method to raise knowledge of chemistry. I enjoyed it very much

By Abhishek P

Jun 16, 2020

I explore chemical kinetics and equilibrium. Further, i learned some new concepts as well.

By Suthakaran k

Dec 6, 2020

Exam papers are really great because each questions are very intelligent and bravely

By Utibe V E C

Jul 22, 2021

it was a really enlightening course and i am glad i got the honour of doing it.

By Shaik L

Aug 26, 2021

Thanks to course community, I have to enjoyed this course.

By

Dr. SHAIK LAKSHMAN

By sjpradeeba C

Jul 9, 2020

Excellent course. I have completed the course but i didnt receive certificate

By Dr. C K

May 2, 2020

good basic learning program,thank you to the Professor for easy expaination.

By Ms. S B

Jan 21, 2022

The course really very helpful to learn the concept much better and easier.

By MARY A M T

Oct 13, 2020

Thank you so much for this cousre. I get more ideas. Really interesting...

By Alvin I

Aug 6, 2020

This course is amazing. It helped me to understand chemistry in a fun way.