Chevron Left
Back to Sit Less, Get Active

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sit Less, Get Active by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
1,567 ratings
498 reviews

About the Course

Physical inactivity and sedentariness are “silent killers”. Do you feel like you spend too much time sitting? Do you feel like you would like to be more active? Are you unsure about how to incorporate physical activity into your daily life? We are here to help. Join us on a journey to learn about how to sit less and become more active. Use this FREE course to learn how to monitor your own activity and set physical activity goals. We will feature various examples of how physical activity could be increased in different settings, such as your neighbourhood, home or work, to give you ideas of ones that could best fit your lifestyle. Are you a health professional? Use this opportunity to learn how to incorporate physical activity into your daily routine and also how to empower your patients to be more physically active. If time with a patient is an issue, you can simply “prescribe” this course to your patient. This course offers you a unique opportunity to receive weekly physical activity health messages and monthly video-reminders on how to increase physical activity in various settings for 6 months after the initial 3 week course. So, join us on the Sit less, get active! journey. Follow us on Twitter @GetActive MOOC, #GetActiveMOOC or follow our Online Learning Twitter feed @uoe_online. Visit our YouTube channel to check out the promo videos (more are to come) https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6xpBMzJXnffdUaY32-zPdA If YouTube is not available in your country, you can access the promo videos here https://media.ed.ac.uk/search/searchkeyword/sit%20less%20get%20active...

Top reviews

ND
Sep 4, 2019

The greatest course ever! It is so realistic that can apply for every one, not only myself.\n\nI have got a range of tips to sit less, get active in here. Once again, thank you alot for your effort.

MM
Jul 24, 2016

This is a very useful and short course that covers all you need to get active, and is well seupported by a well chosen set of optional readings for anyone wanting to learn more. Highly recommended.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 500 Reviews for Sit Less, Get Active

By Sohail

Apr 5, 2017

very good

By Agar F

Jan 12, 2019

Awesome.

By Vasumathi D

Apr 16, 2017

was nice

By Gobi D

May 13, 2020

Useful

By Kleber L d S

Oct 15, 2019

ÓTIMO.

By Langesh

Feb 13, 2019

Useful

By Sanika B

Jun 10, 2021

test

By Ayesha F

Oct 25, 2020

👌👌

By I P S A W

Sep 28, 2020

good

By Pradeepraj.C.A 1

Feb 24, 2020

Good

By Mai

Oct 15, 2019

good

By Thiều T H

Oct 15, 2019

good

By Glenn B

Sep 25, 2017

A+++

By Dr P

Aug 3, 2017

good

By Nguyễn N P

Mar 25, 2017

Hay

By selva k

Jun 25, 2021

H

By Naema A A

Jan 17, 2021

l

By Anne Y

Jun 21, 2020

e

By Rosie

Nov 14, 2016

G

By João B

Apr 13, 2020

Sit Less, Get Active is very well structured, with videos having a good length / depth of information ratio, and with a practical approach on how to be active in different settings (daily life, work, pregnancy, etc...). The teachers are clear about their messages and the video's optional material is very interesting. As a recommendation, I would suggest to add a section on breaking physical activity myths (like the utilization of Swiss ball at work which is only referred to marginally). Congratulations to everyone involved on this MOOC.

By Ange R

May 25, 2017

A light and easy course to help educate and encourage you to get moving. A lot of the content was stuff I already knew, to be honest, but I still appreciate the simple breakdown, inclusion of new information (with modern research), and links to external resources. For example, I didn't realize that getting up every half hour is more important than working out at the gym (paraphrasing)! Easy, encouraging, educational. No reason not to take it!

By Shilpi C

Jan 16, 2019

It's a must course who want to be more and more active in day to day and motivate their family friends and peers to be more active in their life. It's also very useful for all those who are medical practitioner or associated with other clinical activities. I have seen a marked difference in the last one week since I have started the course. I am more active now and try to be more and more active on daily basis.

By Bettina S

Sep 18, 2017

In this course a lot of different activities for people of all age are being introduced. The short movies are good to follow. In case you are interested further the authors provide a lot of website links with more information. Some things were repeated quite often. Instead I would have liked more information about motivation and habit formation.

By Austin W

Sep 4, 2018

Very good course, the videos and the bibliographic links and resources at the end of each part of the course were very useful tools. It put several empiric ideas that I had into perspective and has given me tools to improve my health and wellbeing by being more active at home and at work, ideas such as Active Travel for instance are great.

By Abdallah M

May 29, 2020

The course is beautiful and wonderful. One of the best benefits or the axis around which the course revolves is to facilitate making your life more active, and it does not have many negatives, but it is a repetition of information in it and lengthy, but interesting, not boring. Thank you very much. May God reward you.