Chevron Left
Back to GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Learner Reviews & Feedback for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality by University of California, Davis

4.9
1,199 ratings
228 reviews

About the Course

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 223 Reviews for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

By Saroj U

Sep 09, 2016

Fantastic course and the instructor is also really nice. I would highly recommend this course to my friends.

By Pushkar B

Aug 08, 2017

Superb Course. A must for anyone wanting to get started with GIS and Spatial Analysis.

By Olushola ( A

Oct 14, 2017

Challenging but interesting. Most especially the final graded project!

By Claudios H

Apr 16, 2016

Jus what i needed

By Romulo S G d O

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent!

By D. C

Jun 12, 2016

I enjoy this course , Excellent learning resource for Gis Data Formats, Design and Quality that teaches with examples ,

By Ivana B

Jan 30, 2017

This is a really good course, I strongly recommend. In this course we've learned lots of new analysis tools which are very useful in different kinds of work. Thank you UC Davis, thank you Nick Santos and thank you Coursera for this opportunity.

By Diana S

Jan 09, 2017

Excellent course =)!!

By Marcos G

Aug 12, 2016

Awesome course! Thanks!

By James M

Aug 17, 2016

Another really good course on GIS. I followed on from the first in the specialisation and I think I would have been quite lost without doing that.

I like to follow the videos with the demo materials in an open version of ArcGIS - this can be quite hard as some of the demo materials are very big and my laptop struggles to keep up with big processing, a slight improvement could be to have smaller demo files.

By April H

Dec 26, 2017

This course continues building on the foundation introduced in the first course in the specialization, providing a good quantity of new information using the same easy-to-follow format. One of the exercises in this class involves going through a tutorial provided by ESRI and, while it's very informative, the comparison makes it clear that the instructions with screenshots for exercises created by the instructor are easier to understand and follow. The instructor clearly put a lot of thought and effort into the content and structure of the class and materials. While the course focuses on ArcGIS specifically, many of the concepts demonstrated can be applied regardless of which computer application is used.

By karmvir s r

Mar 19, 2017

Takes one step above from Funadamentals of GIS...Must take course!!!!

By Jitan D

Jul 26, 2017

An interactive course! I'm happy to be enrolled.

By Wen H

Nov 12, 2016

Great contents, very wel presented and fun to do assignments!

By V. D

Feb 23, 2017

The course provides required knowledge to understand GIS File types, data formats, Design, Spatial Analysis and Creating Web Maps etc., My sincere thanks to the Instructor Mr.Nick Santos.

By Sujesh S

May 29, 2016

great.

By Alaa H F H

Nov 04, 2017

great course!

By Timothy B

Nov 14, 2016

Great course. Very useful level of detail into the various data types and storage formats used in GIS. Includes functional workflows and some of the key tools used by GIS professionals to conduct and share usable analysis. Definitely recommended.

By Albert J

Mar 08, 2018

Clear presentation. Good level of difficulty.

By Ravinder V

Jan 14, 2018

Thank you Nick!

By Sarper Y

Apr 09, 2017

Design was the one we have longed for

By sara s u

Aug 12, 2016

Very good and beneficial.

By Trishna D

Aug 08, 2016

I found this class to be a little more slow in places...mainly when it came to the big section about th data types etc. But it is important to know about them, so I'm glad I stuck through and finished the course. Learnt interesting and smart ways of adding tables and conducting analysis.

By Janix K A

Aug 10, 2016

Great Experience

By Sujit B

Oct 16, 2016

Great course! Thanks Nick, UC Davis, Coursera and fellow learners!