Chevron Left
Back to GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Learner Reviews & Feedback for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality by University of California, Davis

4.9
1,198 ratings
228 reviews

About the Course

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 222 Reviews for GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

By monikamendoza

Jun 16, 2016

Excellent course. I will take the next one :)

By Thrudur H

Oct 25, 2016

So useful! The teacher is also absolutely brilliant. Thank you!

By MAGGIE G M

Aug 24, 2016

useful course

By Heitor C d S

Jun 01, 2017

Very good professor, with high skills on the subject. I learned a lot in usign ArcGIS.

By King V

Jun 10, 2016

Excellence!

By Cole F

Aug 13, 2017

Wonderful. I found this much more challenging than the first course, and to be honest, my enthusiasm for the course was not as strong as it was for course 1. But, that is normal for me with coursera classes. I'm proud to say this is the first Coursera specialization where I completed TWO of the classes. Normally, I would complete 1, and not finish the second. But I was very determined, and I managed to finish this one. Great job Nick. I love your teaching style, and the clarity of the instructions of your assignments is second to NONE on this website. Congratulations on a job well done.

By Pei P

Aug 07, 2018

Great!

By Anastasiya S

Sep 06, 2018

Very useful and interesting material + great teacher.

By David K

Oct 08, 2018

I particularly liked that the course had a strong focus on data bases and attribute tables, even if it is a quite dry topic.

By Jasminka K

Aug 20, 2018

I learned a lot at this course.

By khalid m

Sep 26, 2018

A very good course. Extraordinary effort is put in to developed and inculcate the ideas.

By Priti R

Oct 21, 2018

Great course to learn about geodatabases and analysis tools!

By Rizwan k

Nov 03, 2018

This course gives me so much information about ArcGIS and i got lot of experience in ArcGIS tool.thank you

By Leda R P

Aug 28, 2018

Muy claro y útil. Buena dinámica.

By DHARMKUMAR S

May 01, 2019

NICE EXPLANATION BY EXPERIENCED FACULTY

By Ziyi W

May 02, 2019

Once again, great course! I like all the guided tutorials and the independent assignment component. Highly recommend it :)

By Md. S B

Apr 13, 2019

Just a geat course indeed..

By Will G

Apr 13, 2019

HELL YAH!

By Aninda S H

Apr 01, 2019

Great Course.

By Jenevra W

Apr 28, 2019

This course is definitely worth your time, especially if you use GIS in your everyday work. There's a lot of information packed in to 4 weeks, but the final assignment is incredibly rewarding. I would recommend anyone who has taken the first course in this specialization to continue on with this course.

By Ya-Yin Y

Mar 23, 2019

Very informative course. Some concepts are not easy to understand at the first glance, but it is always interesting to learn and apply in the projects. The final assignment made me frustrated in the beginning. But as soon as getting the whole and clear picture of the project, it was fun to apply the knowledge into the real project, and designed our own workflow. The videos explained explicitly some core concepts which were very helpful and I found myself revisiting many times again when doing the project. Forum was helpful as well. I learned and got clarified some problems there many times. Overall it was a great course for anyone who wants to dig into GIS more!

By Kinsie R

Apr 08, 2019

I enjoyed this course. On to the next!

By Jan S

Apr 08, 2019

Solid content. Pace is faster than in the Intro course (1st course in specialization). The final project was challenging and rewarding.

By Gonzalo G

Mar 28, 2019

Great course! You will learnt a lot about GIS, ArcGIS and data analysis.