Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,525 ratings
1,399 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

VM
Oct 4, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
Dec 27, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,359 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Sayed S

Sep 24, 2018

Thank you for this interesting first course in the field of GIS as a beginning in this field

I wish you further progress

By Nyi N N L

Apr 10, 2021

Very knowledgeable, interesting, and well instructed with properly planned lessons on basic of GIS and ArcGIS software.

By Tripti A

Mar 22, 2021

Excellent course. Comprehensive material, clear instruction. Nick Santos is one the best instructors I've come to know.

By Taryn S

Feb 23, 2021

The homework assignments have a step by step walk thru which is immensely helpful for hands on learners such as myself.

By Victor D C P

Jul 21, 2020

It is a great opportunity to briefly learn about the big world of GIS and how to start and finish and map in a nutshell

By Mo'men S M

Dec 2, 2019

a great course to know the basics of GIS science and how to work on arcgis to make labeled maps and processing the data

By Mani N

Oct 22, 2017

Really more useful for basic learner ...and its very help for me...the way of teaching and practical works are amazing

By Khaled M S

Jun 8, 2020

The course was very amazing. I want to give thanks to my course instructor. The resources he gave me was very useful.

By Inaqui L

Dec 3, 2019

A great introduction to using the software and the many accessible materials are available for download for use later.

By Jorge M S

Oct 2, 2019

It's been a great way to learn about GIS software, and the teacher is great, you can really see how he loves teaching!

By Elena

Sep 19, 2019

Fundamentals of GIS was a great course! I loved the tutorial assignments and the final project wasn't too challenging.

By Pablo V S

Sep 11, 2019

This course gives an introduction to ARCmap in order to apply for basic works. I am very happy to achieve this course.

By Francois

May 20, 2016

A course totally accessible to newcomers. Very clear explanations from the instructor and detailed support documents.

By Diego A S C

Oct 3, 2020

Un curso que a pesar de ser los fundamentos de GIS, aprenderás mucho, es muy completo y didáctico, 100% recomendado.

By Gery A H S

Aug 16, 2020

Very thorough and covers essentially everything you need to start exploring and utilizing GIS in your work or study.

By Ayeshah B

May 25, 2020

This course is of great interest . Also, our instructor taught it very well. Usage of ArcGIS is of great importance.

By Jon

Aug 12, 2019

Thank you for a great course! Lots to learn in GIS, this course really got me excited about learning this software.

By Maile G

May 15, 2019

This was a great introductory course that covered a lot of material. The assignments were very helpful. Thank you!

By Arul J A

Apr 20, 2019

Structured in a nice way.. Easy to understand the fundamentals. Thanks to Nick for narrating in an organized manner.

By Mohamed A A

Feb 8, 2019

a very useful & Important Course for who cares/interested to fundamental of geography & Cartography & Designing maps

By James W

Dec 31, 2018

The peer graded section in the first section are a little sketchy but everyone has to learn to advance in the course

By Md. A H

Nov 22, 2018

It was indeed a great course. I have learned enough from this course. Now I am able to use ArcGIS more proficiently.

By Mohammed A

Nov 15, 2018

Changed my view to Cartography. Fantastic course I enjoyed it and learned alot from it. Instructor was perfect too.

By Scott P

Dec 6, 2017

Nice introduction for someone (like myself) who knows little about GIS. Final project helped bring it all together.

By Teresa P

Jul 19, 2017

Loved this course. It is very useful even if you have some knowledge on GIS. There's always something new to learn.