Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,126 ratings
1,247 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

VM

Oct 05, 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,205 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Uyen T

Jan 07, 2019

It's really practical and easy to follow the instruction. Highly recommended for newbies (like myself) :)

By Shannon S

Jan 05, 2019

Very informative. Good assignments which make you review and use the things you learnt during the course.

By Prithwish R

Aug 24, 2017

this course is very good. it has good course materials, all the video provided and is very to understand.

By Samantha A S

Jan 27, 2017

Great foundational information! An excellent entry into GIS using professional tools. Highly recommended.

By Garvin D

Sep 28, 2020

Very informative!!! Very simple!!! Great for practically anyone, you don't even need a GIS background...

By Roberto R

Jun 28, 2020

basic fundamentals to enter the world of GIS with the Arcgis program

excellent practical and functional

By Nicholas M

Jun 16, 2020

Great introduction to GIS. Makes you want to continue with the learning and complete the specialisation.

By RIFAT A F

May 23, 2020

It was an awesome course... i enjoyed learning very much... and looking forward to learn something more.

By Lina M S T

Feb 08, 2018

Really good course, lots of topics but i learned them pretty well thanks to Nick, he is a great teacher.

By Boitshoko B

Mar 05, 2019

It was helpful, I've learnt a lot of new things and I believe that my confidence level is up a notch:)

By David F

Jul 27, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. Clear and informative tutorials and challenging but achievable assessments.

By Albert J

Feb 27, 2018

This course was organized well and presented clearly. The instructor was both informative and animated.

By Martin K

Mar 25, 2016

Appreciated the lectures and the assignments made it possible to gain confidence in using the software.

By Beatrice M W X

Aug 27, 2020

It is a good platform to learn about fundamental of GIS. Thank you very much for the knowledge shared.

By Barak G

Jun 06, 2020

I think total number of reviewers per each submitted assignment should be more than 2 ppl. 3 at least.

By samir b b

May 04, 2020

Very detailed and with a great amount of information for the students to understand the basics of GIS.

By Melissa T

Apr 12, 2019

Very helpful way to get a basic understanding of GIS and to kick start the specialization certificate.

By Ratan D

Aug 09, 2018

Very Nice course. The prof. explains the concepts very well. I am feeling very happy with this course.

By Andrew E

Mar 13, 2018

Very good discussion of the basic terms and concepts of GIS as well on its the real life applications.

By Sandeep K

Aug 26, 2017

The course was very productive. Now I am familiar with ArcMap software and thanks for the license too.

By Francisco R S A

Jun 08, 2017

Es una buena opción para comenzar con el software de Gis para aquellos que no tienen mucha experiencia

By David S

Jun 19, 2016

Excellent detail, well presented, easy to follow instructions throughout, guidance provided if needed.

By Dulce P

Feb 26, 2016

The lectures were very easy to follow and easy to understand even for ArcGIS beginners like me. Kudos!

By Tanzila k

Jun 21, 2020

I am happy because of coursera because it gave me opportunity to learn worldwide to refine my skills.

By Biraj A

Feb 02, 2020

Very good introductory course. I'm excited to start with the following courser of the specialization.