Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
stars
4,050 ratings
1,218 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JA

May 04, 2020

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho, aprendí demasiado sobre las cosas básicas y el profesor es muy bueno !! Super recomendado si no saben nada de GIS y están empezando a comprender las herramientas

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,177 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Kara F

Oct 17, 2017

Useful course explaining the basics of GIS data and how to perform simple geoprocessing and cartography tasks using ArcGIS for Desktop.

By Laura F A S

Apr 24, 2020

It is a great course. I liked it so much because I really learned about the basic things of GIS. Nick Santos is a really good teacher.

By Shehzeb A

May 06, 2018

It included detailed easy to understand instructions a lot of good practice material and an active link to the GIS-Coursera community.

By Lina Z

Jan 10, 2018

Well organized, manageable course. I had lots of fun learning about GIS and making maps! I'm now considering doing the specialization!

By Jesus A G

Jun 18, 2020

This course is simple and easy to understand. I really hope that the next course is as simple as this course to understand and learn.

By Patrick M

Jun 04, 2020

A good starting point which build to technical complexity quickly but without being overwhelming. ArcGIS access is also very helpful.

By Jamie S

Sep 10, 2018

Great intro to GIS with well structured instruction, demos and practice assignments of foundational concepts. Nick does a great job!

By Marta S

Dec 17, 2016

An excellent course, well crafted lessons and videos. Challenging assignments, great tutorials and resources. I highly recommend it.

By Arun K S

Sep 07, 2020

Very detailed and excellent explanation. I am very happy to complete this course. It has increased my confidence to do GIS projects.

By Visveswara K M

May 19, 2020

Very nice course and really well taught.

The assignments are really helpful and the final assignment covers all the topics very well.

By Alejandro A E

May 01, 2020

It is a very good course for people who are new to geographic information systems or even for people with experience in the subject.

By Mushtaq M

Aug 13, 2018

This course really helps me understanding the basic GIS functionalities. This course is designed to teach GIS as easily as possible.

By Mohammad M I

Aug 10, 2018

This course really helps me understanding the basic GIS functionalities. This course is designed to teach GIS as easily as possible.

By Veronica A S

Jun 19, 2018

Amazing course! It requires a lot of reading and practice, but it is easy to feel like learning, it is very complete and fulfilling.

By OBBY N L

Jan 18, 2018

This Fundamental course is well structured for new learners to GIS and l therefore recommend it to everyone that wants to learn GIS.

By Eduardo D

Dec 12, 2017

Great course, perfect as a first contact with GIS. Very practical covering the basic theory around GIS as well. Definitely worth it.

By Harish S

Dec 05, 2016

Fantastic course! Require a lot more effort to complete the course than what Coursera estimates, but extremely rewarding in the end!

By J A B

Mar 29, 2020

Clear and thorough instruction on a surprising amount of information. I learned a lot more than I expected for a beginner's course.

By David C

Jul 15, 2019

Very organized course. Material is logically and succinctly presented in manner that supports the completion of the final project.

By John S

Aug 12, 2018

Good pace and presentation. Assignments feel appropriate for skill level. Awesome that an education license for ArcGIS is provided.

By Ankita C

Sep 03, 2020

Course Instructions are very clear, also readings are very detail oriented and explains everything step by step, Good Job Team !!!

By Nubia L V

Jun 03, 2020

excellent course, very practical and provides all the tools to learn and improvide knowledge about geographic information systems.

By Donald U

Oct 24, 2018

This course is a good basic introduction to ArcGIS and you will be able to review spatial data and produce a basic map by the end.

By 杨之龙

Apr 09, 2018

Many details, you need to often review the videos and spend a lot of effort to explore so that you can learn, worth spending time.

By Evan W

Sep 26, 2017

This is an excellent course with lectures that are easy to understand. If you want to learn how to use GIS, this course is a must.