Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by University of London

4.7
stars
3,118 ratings
909 reviews

About the Course

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Top reviews

SS
May 28, 2020

Great course. I had a general interest in diplomacy and wanted a little taste of what it was, this course has provided me just that. It has amazing resources to help enhance our knowledge of diplomacy

MS
Oct 31, 2019

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 889 Reviews for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

By Yathy S S

Jan 24, 2021

Provide new knowledge about diplomacy

By Andre S

Feb 5, 2017

Good course, but very introductory.

By Mohammed T ( M

Jun 2, 2017

A very open ended course.

By Phumlani M

Aug 24, 2017

Great course! Thank you.

By 俞婧瑶

May 30, 2018

课程再系统化一些就好了,目前只有几个教授的访谈

By Rakesh N

Jul 27, 2020

Wonderful course.

By Marna P

Aug 21, 2018

good introduction

By Tahmid A

Jun 12, 2020

Well explained

By Isabella C S

Nov 11, 2019

Great Course!

By Maluwe G K J K

Feb 9, 2017

Excellent Job

By Kgotso N

Feb 2, 2021

Great course

By Darijo P

Apr 30, 2020

Good course.

By Bucher L

Apr 3, 2020

Great !

By Lugard O

Oct 3, 2019

Helpful

By Mfitundinda A B

Aug 22, 2020

4/5

By PerinAnn K

Aug 12, 2020

Depending on what you're looking for, you might find this course very insightful or a complete waste of time.

For someone new to the concept of diplomacy, using this to get a base level understanding and come to your own opinions of what composes diplomacy, it's a good course. The material is pretty straightforward, gives a multi-faceted purview, and basically facilitates the learner to draw their own meanings.

However, if you want anything beyond this, you might be disappointed. The instructor (Dr Simon Rofe) contributes virtually nothing beyond asking 3 questions to a number of different people. There are no insights from his side, and no attempt to synthesise the varying opinions. The peer-review assignments are a mixed bag, as I did read many insightful answers, but received very minimal feedback on my own answers.

I also found the Discussion Forums completely useless - not a single student seemed to be here to talk about the subject or learn more. Everyone just wants reviews on their assignments to pass on to the next week. If the course could be tweaked to encourage more healthy discussion, or students could even take initiative to respond on these forums, this might have led to a more purposeful learning experience.

To conclude, for someone who had never learned about diplomacy before, I got an introduction that was useful and enabled me to draw my own understanding on the topic. If I was paying for a certificate, however, I would have been disappointed. (Also, each week's content is very brief and this takes no time at all to complete - again good for if you want to rush through it, not great if you were looking for more detailed insight.)

By Fred V

Aug 2, 2020

We have a lot of respect for SOAS (actually, we studied there long ago). We have a lot of respect for the diplomacy profession. We think we could learn a lot from this course. Our expectations were high. In this review, we benchmark the course to what how good it may have been.

By professional habit or not, the course does not always steer away from a self-serving representation of diplomacy as the work of heroes who can save the world from conflicts and others. The course keeps to general presentations of out-of-action diplomats. We regret not to have seen more and deeper analysis on case studies of diplomatic negotiations: the national and personal dilemma, the planning and execution of negotiations, the gate-keeping of politicians and journalists, interactions with intelligence, etc. This may be a matter for another course?

By Erica L

Jul 4, 2020

I felt the course was a comprehensive 'introduction' to diplomacy. The texts were relevant and some of the video interviews were interesting if at times a little repetitive. I felt that the course instructor had more of a 'facilitator' role than a teaching role and this was a disappointment.

My other critique has to do with the gender and diversity balance of those interviewed as part of the course - while it maybe be reflective of departments of international relations or foreign service demographics, I found it very pale and male. I would recommend this course to those with little to no background in international affairs or diplomatic studies.

By Jemima D

Feb 9, 2021

I found the course extremely informative and I enjoyed learning more about the meaning of Diplomacy. I was disappointed, however with the lack of women's input in the videos or academic articles. This lead to people writing 'he' when addressing a diplomat (implying that all diplomats are men) in the responses, which is offensive and blatantly untrue. The course would benefit by providing reading materials that refer to diplomats in a gender-inclusive manner, as well as being influenced and written by women.

By Francis M M

Jul 6, 2020

I believe it is too easy to pass. There were some "peers" who I reviewed who have no right to pass this course as their answers show that they have no idea what they are talking about. I wish the course was crafted better in the sense that I really have to earn the certificate. I am an actual diplomat so to me this was a bit disappointing.

If interested, I can help craft a better course than this. I'm happy to get a Certificate but I don't think I really learned or earned anything.

By Paulina H

May 29, 2020

The course is a good introduction and has spike in me further interest in the topics explored here. I will be taking its sister course on diplomacy and the UN. I would give it 4 stars but there was no attempt at gender balancing the speakers. I got tired of the opinions of white, British/Anglo-American males. Only 2 female speakers out of 12! Unacceptable. The readings were rather good, especially that by Harry Rudin.

By Leonardo d R R

Feb 24, 2021

Very good material and lectures but its more like a first approach. Reflections on qualities diplomats must have...I seemed a bit flat. I feel it could have gone more in depth, and explored what are the more practical aspects like how many regions and languages they nowadays need to master and also new trends in Diplomacy, like diplomats no mot analysing and shaping policies but more like running programmes.

By Weill S

Jun 7, 2017

Interesting reading materials and relevant interventions of professionals. I also appreciated the fact that we had to grade and be graded by other students in a "diplomatic" way. Nonetheless, the programme was a little too general to be really demanding and challenging I think, and I would have appreciated more actual reading materials and/or references from the presetn time in the videos.

By Luca N

Nov 30, 2020

Interesting course, that offers the possibility to broaden the general knowledge of what is diplomacy. It offers a few topics of discussion and gives tips to think a bit more in depth about the topic. It do not see it as a career-changing course, as it does not really provide new skills, but it surely offers food for thoughts.

By Michael O

Aug 13, 2020

The course is ok. The tasks are very easy and basic, the videos are informative enough. The first few readings seem pretty unrelated, but they get better and towards the end become more interesting and informative. You can complete the whole thing in a couple of days no problem.