Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by University of London

4.6
1,291 ratings
348 reviews

About the Course

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Top reviews

DS

May 14, 2019

Excellent course for those aspiring to be career diplomats. Engages us with a history of diplomacy ever since it was widely practised and accepted as a form of conflict management and resolution.

HD

Oct 28, 2017

A great course with a unique style of instruction. The interactions with many teachers, researchers and persons with experience in diplomacy gave some amazing insights about global diplomacy.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 337 Reviews for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

By Obumneke O Q

Sep 17, 2019

This course really helped me understand what diplomacy means as well as its key role in our everyday life. Diplomacy is key in today's world and actions, be it political or otherwise. A great course seen from different perspectives!

By Kavya S

Sep 20, 2019

Informative and precise. Gives perspective from different angles.

By Mustafa B K

Feb 17, 2019

It was definitely a useful course to start learning about Global Diplomacy, but it could be a lot more comprehensive and longer. Still, with the recommended readings, it is possible to broaden your perspective about modern diplomacy.

By Anna S

Feb 13, 2019

I liked the course, but it is a little tenuous. I would like to have a little bit more theoretical material.

By Nilmadhab H

Sep 25, 2018

I would have liked to see some more videos on diplomatic case studies and methods to practically develop the qualities of a good diplomat. Thanks.

By Marna P

Aug 21, 2018

good introduction

By Bill W

Jun 18, 2018

I would like to have seen more videos showing individual (outstanding) diplomats and listened to them discuss why their recent negotiation was difficult and how they worked through it.

By Edmund B

Jun 03, 2016

I am finding that the material is very relevant to our present era. I see now many news items which relate to the learning available in this course. I like writing about the topics, the activity firms up my understanding of those topics.

By Andre S

Feb 06, 2017

Good course, but very introductory.

By Lokko F

Dec 06, 2016

This is an educative programme. I have gained some knowledge in the subject area. It as increased my interest Global Diplomacy. Also opportunity to read more about the theory and practice of Global Diplomacy. It will go a long way to enhance my skills as a diplomate to influence leadership positively at all levels of life to build positive net work, develop appropriate diplomatic skills to enhance international relations, negotiations, and ensure peace and security in contemporary global world.

By Maluwe G K J K

Feb 09, 2017

Excellent Job

By Stephanie K

Aug 22, 2017

iT WAS REALLY GOOD I LEARNED A LOT BUT I FEEL IT COULDVE BEEN ORGANIZED BETTER AS FAR AS THE ASSIGNMENTS GO

By 俞婧瑶

May 31, 2018

课程再系统化一些就好了,目前只有几个教授的访谈

By Laura M S

Jun 08, 2016

A solid introductory course, with some interesting course materials and thought-provoking questions.

By Ciaran P

Jul 28, 2017

For anyone who believes diplomacy to be still the occupation of upper middle class, middle-aged white males this course is an eye-opener. It has been enhanced for me by the great feedback from my fellow students.

By Sophie S

Feb 20, 2018

Peer-reviewed assignments occasionally make it difficult to finish the course on time, as you have to wait for peers to rate your work. Being able to shift course streams helps this!

By suber a m

Feb 12, 2017

This course is fascinating and the lecturers are so great.

By Muhammed S

Mar 08, 2018

Good educational materials and interviews

By Ben S

May 25, 2017

I have really enjoyed this course. It is very insightful and a great introduction in to the world of diplomacy.

By Fern T

Jun 06, 2017

Very informative and well put together.

By Tersoo M A

Aug 07, 2017

The course is basic but with deep talks on Diplomacy. I have gained understanding of the term.

By Spencer R

Aug 20, 2017

Great content but the peer reviewed marking system was too simplistic. There were assignments that I evaluated that were given 100% based on the rubric as they simply made the effort and discussed the topic, even if it was a half-hearted effort.

By Johnathan A

Jul 09, 2017

Could have used more intense discourse and student peer reviewed items.

By Sam B

Dec 04, 2017

Overall a good course and well structured, but could seek to be more explicit about the questions it raises and more practical in terms of what it teaches. For example, we now know what diplomacy is (sort of!) and what skills diplomats need (sort of!) but we don't have much in the way of concrete examples of those skills. Just a thought. But still enjoyable!

By Venkatesh M

Feb 11, 2018

Helpful and effective videos and lessons (reading) , simple assignments which yet test your comprehension and allow you to express yourself based on learning and what that means to you, clearly defines important useful concepts of the subject.

The reading material could also be summarized for the benefit of learners who have pressure of time to read fully. Some of the articles are rather long and also written in not the simplest of the ways requiring more time to read.