Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by University of London

4.7
stars
4,736 ratings

About the Course

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Top reviews

TR

May 1, 2020

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

SS

May 28, 2020

Great course. I had a general interest in diplomacy and wanted a little taste of what it was, this course has provided me just that. It has amazing resources to help enhance our knowledge of diplomacy

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,354 Reviews for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

By Igor V S

Sep 14, 2017

Diplomacy is talking french, talking nothing and talking falsehood...

I think crearors of this course mastered at least two major diplomacy skills.

By Gaïa V

Jul 21, 2020

This course is great. It is only an introduction to diplomacy and only teaches the basics, so if you already know about what is diplomacy, when it is effective, why it is successful, then I would advise not to take this course. The content is interesting : the course is made by short videos, which are interviews, and lectures, which are sometimes quite long but definitely worth the reading. This course presents you loads of different opinions and you don't have an imposed one, so you have to create your own understanding and opinion. To summarize, this course is a great introduction to diplomacy and is easy to understand, thanks to the diversity of stories, thoughts and examples.

By Hans-Christoph S

Jul 16, 2020

- The course provides barely any content. Every session consists of one or two short videos (approx. 5 minutes) and one extensive reading that I did not always find very relevant.

- The course is only about the most basic definitions of what diplomacy and a diplomat is. The course does not share any new insights that would be unknown to an average person or provide any interesting information about recent important diplomatic events

- I can definitely not recommend taking the course and especially paying a considerable amount of money for it.

- It is the second course I have taken with Coursera and it lets me seriously doubt the content that is provided by Coursera

By hbk

Apr 29, 2020

so easy and the peer assisment is a bad idea people are beging for review.

By Omar J G B

Aug 23, 2018

Excellent and perfectly structured Course !!

Provides plenty of both audiovisual and written substantial information along with dogmatic and professional sources of knowledge and wisdom on the field of Diplomacy and its evolution through History.

Instructed by experienced and qualified professionals, this Course is the best source for those willing to learn the most important and basic concepts required to be instructed on the discipline of Global Diplomacy.

By Carolyn

Dec 1, 2021

An excellent course that includes historically fascinating reading material. The valuable insights into diplomacy can be continuously applied. The course is delivered by skilled experts in the subject.

By Jorge I “ I T R

Jul 29, 2019

Wonderful opportunity to educate with real classes, and open the eyes for a better future, thanks.

By PROF. L

Nov 25, 2018

Very informative and approachable. What a great move?

By Manu S

Feb 17, 2022

It definitely needs to be updated, and it requires a comprehensive rewriting with a paedagogic attitude. It is not about being too simple or too complex, it is about grading, organising the contents, providing sufficient contents and these having a rational, graded, progressive order.

By Jaime V

Jul 22, 2020

No se aprende mucho más de lo que ya sabemos o tenemos conocimiento. Bastante mediocre este curso y su sistema de entrevistas en vez de cátedra no sirve mucho.

By Abdullahi D

Mar 19, 2023

"I recently took the Global Diplomacy course offered by the University of London through an online platform, and I have to say, it exceeded my expectations. The course covered a wide range of topics, from the history of diplomacy to the role of international organizations in shaping global relations.

The teaching style of the instructors was excellent. They were engaging and knowledgeable, and their lectures were well-structured and easy to follow. I particularly enjoyed the case studies they presented, which allowed me to apply the concepts learned in class to real-world situations.

The course materials were also top-notch. The textbooks, articles, and videos were relevant and up-to-date, and they provided valuable insights into the world of diplomacy. The assignments were challenging but manageable, and they helped me solidify my understanding of the course material.

As for the course format, it was well-paced and interactive. I appreciated the discussion forums, where I was able to engage with other students and exchange ideas. The resources provided by the course, such as the glossary of terms and the reading list, were also very helpful.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in global diplomacy. It provided me with a solid foundation in the subject and helped me develop critical thinking skills that I can apply in my personal and professional life. I would give this course a rating of 4.5 out of 5."

By Sualiho O S

Jan 17, 2023

Overall, I found the course on global diplomacy in the modern world to be very informative and enlightening. The material covered a wide range of topics, including the history of diplomacy, current global issues, and the role of diplomacy in resolving conflicts.

One of the strengths of the course was the use of case studies and real-world examples to illustrate the concepts being discussed. This helped to make the material more engaging and relevant. Additionally, the instructor was knowledgeable and passionate about the subject matter, which made the class more enjoyable.

One area that could be improved upon is the use of more interactive activities and group discussions. This would have provided an opportunity for students to apply what they have learned in a more hands-on way and engage in meaningful dialogue with their peers.

Overall, I feel that this course has greatly enhanced my understanding of the intricacies of global diplomacy and the challenges faced by the international community in the modern world. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in this field.

I am delagtht by the servecs.

Student This is my piont of view.

Sualiho Sanyoh.

By Anderson C

Dec 18, 2017

I've really enjoyed the course. I'm from Brazil and it's the second time I'm attending the same course. In the first time I've missed the opportunity to finish it but I'd love to share with you that it was very useful.

It's interesting sharing with you my personal experience. When I first attended the course I couldn't figure out how useful it could be, so I've just optimized my vacation time studying a little bit.

Few months later I've decided to create a huge innovation center here in Brazil and I've suddenly started using the knowledge I'd acquired in this course. So, I've decided to do it again.

You gave me the opportunity to learn something that would be impossible without the online option. I couldn't have stopped my life to attend a course in London at this time. That's why I'm so grateful related to your attitude to share your knowledge with me. Now I'm doing the same here in Brazil, with an innovation center that will help people challenge the status quo sharing knowledge and offering a great space to research, study and work. Sharing is caring and it's contagious.

Thank you so much!

Anderson Criativo

[<o>]

By Morocco M

Nov 28, 2020

Diplomacy is a method that we find in our daily life among individuals that you must have the ability and flexibility to resolve daily conflicts with the least costs and losses through the promotion of dialogue, not adhering to one opinion, listening to the other party, and using logic and reason instead of loud voices and violence that only results in an increase in rivalry and negotiation. Or bargaining between people to reach a peaceful solution or conclude a trade deal, which can be considered an application of diplomatic culture.Home, schools, universities, television programs, and seminars have a great role in teaching and teaching diplomatic culture, so that diplomacy becomes the distinguishing characteristic for our children to be diplomats in dealing with their daily local issues, and diplomacy also benefits them during their dealings with other peoples, and whoever does not possess diplomatic qualities in local issues, he must seek the help of a party A third diplomat to resolve conflict instead of violence,

By Leison G

May 14, 2024

El curso "Diplomacia global - La diplomacia en el mundo moderno" parece ser una oportunidad excelente para explorar y comprender los complejos entramados de las relaciones internacionales en la era contemporánea. La diplomacia desempeña un papel único en la resolución de conflictos, la promoción de la cooperación y la gestión de asuntos globales que afectan a todos los países. Este curso ofrece una perspectiva multifacética sobre la diplomacia, abordando temas como la diplomacia pública, la diplomacia digital, la diplomacia económica y las nuevas formas de diplomacia que surgen en un mundo cada vez más interconectado y diverso. Además, dada la rapidez con la que evolucionan los asuntos internacionales, un curso que se centre en la diplomacia en el mundo moderno seguramente incorporará análisis de eventos y tendencias contemporáneas, lo que lo hará relevante y estimulante. Leison Guerrero Rep. Dom

By Subrata B

Aug 30, 2020

One of the best programme online I ever attended. I have learned new things. The platform Coursera is I think the best among others, because at every time I received messages about the progress of my course and always the administration in touch with me. The University of London -as I know for a long time one of the fountain heads of learning in the world-the professors are outstanding scholars and have enough empathy for the learning outcome of the students. All are wonderful. I would like to thank to all professors and the Course Coordinator Professor Dr J. Simon Rofe, SOAS, University of London for excellent coordination, leadership, management of such important programme at the height of its success. My sincere regards to you for what I have learnt this will add unique value to my career as a student of Political Science, International Relations and European Studies. I am grateful to you !

By Marvin S

Jun 14, 2021

I am please to have completed this course which gave me an incite into Diplomacy and its impact on the Modern World. The material was concise and it provided very good content that will help to foster my future participation in this realm. The real world examples, hearing from persons who would have held these positions of authority coupled with the reading material helped to boost my knowledge and appreciation of the works in this area. It also help me to better understand the arduous task of international relations and being able to represent one's government on the international stage. Another take away from this course was the realization that formally diplomacy speaks to the relations between states, however, diplomacy is also used in everyday life from as simple as negotiating a reduction in the price of an item at a store. All in all I enjoyed participating in this program.

By miguel a

May 25, 2023

There are times and times, there are times to do, there are times to do a course, and there are times to do a course in global diplomacy. I want to point out that I was fortunate that my moment and the moment that the University of London gave us coincided. I would like to thank the university of london for giving me the opportunity to teach the course of global diplomacy. i feel that it has contributed and enriched me enormously, at a time when i am incipiently exercising this juggling act called diplomacy. thank you all. i would like to call the attention of the person who reads this: think about the common good, let yourself be carried away by the idea of transforming water into wine, superior feelings like sharing peace, ethics and aesthetics. Surpass yourselves.

By Vivian S

Aug 12, 2022

I'm Viviane, Brazilian and I was delighted with the simple way of teaching. The Diplomacy in the Modern World course showed me that, in all areas of this life, we are all diplomats. Every prepared content, video interviews, Book Chapters, Recommended articles, assessment tasks and for us to be evaluated, all of this made the course even more bright and I am very satisfied. I leave it as an observation and improvement, always keep the links updated, for example, always leaving the username and password next to the links of the recommended articles, so that we can have access to the indications and not be blocked on the platforms when downloading and carrying out the proposed readings. Also, congratulations to everyone involved in the course.

By hachalu a

Aug 27, 2022

I Have grasped some interesting points about the concept of diplomacy from this course. Previously I am almost like a person who travels in the dark without knowing how to reach where he/she wants to go. However, currently, I have some basic understanding of the concept of diplomacy that indicated me what diplomacy is, how to use it, what are the good and bad experinces in diplomacy (success and failure). Hereafter I can easily continiue to my Master of Diplomacy from University of London or else where online if I get scholarship. I woul like to thank Coursera the best online learning platform and University of London for the offering of the course. Thank you again!!!!!!! HACHALU ADABA GALETA, FROM THE HORN OF AFRICA.

By Hanbhin S

May 5, 2022

This lecture is an excellent one that I want to recommend to other students.

The four weeks were meaningful experiences in my life. Through learning and thinking about global diplomacy, I could get a lot of confidence about my future major that I will go on to and my future career. Moreover, I was so pleased with other student fellows' feedback on my assignments. I could broaden my perspectives by reading their feedback and thinking of answers to their another question. Thanks to "professors in a series of lectures and student fellows", I have kept on pursuing my dreams.

Thus, this lecture should be definitely recommended to other students interested in a global society and international relations.

By ABEGA F S P

Feb 9, 2022

Très bonne approche d'enseignement, vidéos très explicites, pas longues et facile à comprendre, technique d'évaluation originale. Pour un cours sensé conférer une connaissance globale de la diplomatie, nous donnons Cinq (5) bons points, parce qu' il s'agit d'une initiation qui permet d'avoir une compréhension complète de sa nature et de sa pratique dans le monde en général, et dans le monde moderne en particulier. Un cours qui constitue une bonne entame avant de se diriger vers une formation plus approfondie et spécialisée sans être troublé ou perdu. Mon prochain objectif avant de passer à une autre formation c'est d’acheter ce précieux certificat dès que possible. Merci

By Abdirahman i a

Apr 13, 2021

the course of Global Diplomacy was actually full of knowledge the course facilitators were diplomats, the videos and transcripts were well organized the resources also well contented, I have profoundly lucky enough to learn these international tool of Diplomacy its ways of success and failures and etiquette needed it is context where it is cordiality, ethics and institutional milieu, as well as knowing the weaknesses of others and yours too.

as Diplomacy is foriegn policy's instrumental process it always related negotiations and conflict resolution process as states always creat conflicts , international organizations want to stand up reconciliation

By Rossitza D

Jul 20, 2019

Best short course ever taken!

Initially I was annoyed because I had to evaluate my mates and let three randomly chosen evaluate my homework. Also provided materials weren't smart-friendly - you need to print them out for reading.

Couple of weeks later I realised there is no other way - reading-friendly documents are easy to manipulate and content could be modified by anyone and distributed with amendments. And no one would notice! Besides, if your classmates evaluate you as a diplomat, you don't need lecturer's confirmation.

Thank you, Dr J. Simon Rofe, for teaching me this lesson. Keep-up the good work and take care! :D

By Jose F S A

Mar 5, 2020

Taking this course was a very important choise. Diplomacy in a modern world is highly needed for all professionals because of the new challenges we are all facing in a new global business scenario. The Agenda 2030 and the SDG 17 highlights the need to strategically integrate and revitalize the "global partenership" for sustainable development. Thus, successful diplomacy is basically reaching some kind of agreement or deal within the governments´ international affairs framework and it is fundamental to understand your diplomatic role to push up the needed dialogue and actions to achieve that agreement.