Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by University of London

4.7
stars
4,733 ratings

About the Course

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Top reviews

TR

May 1, 2020

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

SS

May 28, 2020

Great course. I had a general interest in diplomacy and wanted a little taste of what it was, this course has provided me just that. It has amazing resources to help enhance our knowledge of diplomacy

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,353 Reviews for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

By Allen R P

Jun 1, 2020

The course opened an opportunity for me to better understand diplomacy. The program has a number of strength that helped me developed a deeper understanding of what diplomacy is and how plays a critical role in the world today such as: (1) Simple yet understandable Audio Visual Presentations, (2) Relevant readings which gave a clear picture of the topics, and (3) Peer review is a very helpful tool, you get to learn new ideas from the perspective of others and you are being exposed to other valid interpretations. Then you realize that the world of diplomacy is a complex thing.

By Fritz-Gerald D

Sep 5, 2021

Aside from obtaining a great understanding of "Global Diplomacy", particularly, how it is materialized in the modern world, I had the privilege of listening to the hearts and thoughts of some great, sensational instructors from London University and many others. I am in awe of the amount of information received from this exceptional group of people. This Global Diplomacy class is an eye opener, an attention grabber and a must know in order to be or become a serious, well acclaimed, well informed and true Diplomat.

Fritz-Gerald Delice, Ph.D. (United States) Sept. 5, 2021

By christianah o

Apr 25, 2022

I am delighted to have come across this course. It has been very helpful to my career and ambition to go beyond the local level. I have learned that diplomacy is not just about politics, public lies as it seem but friendly interactions between a group of representatives aimed at using continuous dialogue and negotiation to resolve an ongoing conflict and ensure peace between people or nations. It has taught me that all skills necessary in diplomacy are natural skills that every one must learn to be a mediator or peace maker.

By Kateryna K

Mar 27, 2023

Thank you to Simon Rofe & Coursera for the course 🧶Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by the University of London. We got a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies.

An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. Knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts.

By Fernández M I B

Mar 7, 2020

well,This diplomacy course is incredible, each of its exhibitors have well-founded knowledge, with this course I have learned to better manage my clients from my business, better manage situations of controversies between friends, it will also serve as a basis to be a diplomat for benefits of My country, combining it with 7 Masters in Business, will be a tremendous tool that will open barriers to the benefits of many sectors in need. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to participate and benefit from this course

By Sixtus M B

Jun 27, 2019

It has been a short journey with great achievements. I have learnt a lot in the Global Diplomacy that I completely didn't know before. Thank you for the course and thank you for the lectures, guidance and I thank all my peer reviewers for reviewing my work and giving me their grades. It was worth taking it and I would strongly recommend others to take it. You will never regret on your time and money by taking this kind of course. Thank you University of London and Thank you Coursera for making this happen. My Kudos

By Isa P

Oct 22, 2020

I think this a great introductory course about diplomacy. I really enjoyed the way the course was structured and the videos provided. The readings were manageable and interesting. Reading the contributions of my fellow course mates and providing feedback, for me was also very great way to learn. One thing I was missing is the historical overview (at least some kind of introduction) of diplomacy. For me this would have been very interesting. However, the course provided me with a great input on diplomacy generally.

By Vicky C

Feb 10, 2021

Interesting. Requires commitment.

A number of videos to go through as well as reading material. Kept deviating from script and went into the various links plus did quite a bit of research on the topic.

If you are interested in life long learning and keen to understand the challenges of diplomacy this is a good introductory course.

Yes, as interesting as the topic was nothing can beat the feeling of accomplishment.

Plus amazing peer support, awesome team!!!

A course well worth your time. Thank you to the Coursea!!!

By MAXAMED A S

Mar 30, 2021

I learned in this course more about Global diplomacy such as: Diplomacy in action , the Quality of good diplomat, the difference between good and bad diplomacy, articles of Diplomacy

Conclusion of course what I learned from this course I can't summarize here what i learned I did not know before I started this course

I would like to thank the platform of coursera, the University of London and the professors who took part in this course and presented their expertise in diplomacy

from Somalia: MOHAMED AHMED SUFI

By Ho N

Aug 2, 2020

It was an incredibly perfect insight into the modern diplomacy in the world, which is happening in day-to-day life but I have never really to noticed. The materials provided in the course also helped me understand the basic nature of diplomacy & a job of a diplomat, and give me the clues to study the famous cases of diplomacy in the world of politics. This insight & knowledge will help me realize what I need to learn & practice to get a career in Internation Affairs. Thank you for this opportunity.

By VENI K

Jun 27, 2020

A relevant course for the current economic situation which really needs a global handshake among the leaders around the world to boost the post pandemic Covid-19 situations. The stigma of modernisation though is needed but the old school protocols still works better in foreign policy in order to understand a country's rituals and culture when a diplomat represent his or her country. Every political negotiations has its own pros and cons which works best for their own country an the end of the day.

By Maxim B

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent, well organized and very professional course on Modern Diplomacy. Happy to join, learned so many interesting things and structured my knowldge in he best way!

--

Maxim Behar

Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Sir James Mancham International

Center for Peace Studies & Diplomacy

http://www.manchampeacecentre.com/

Honorary Consul General

of the Republic of Seychelles

in Bulgaria

60, Bulgaria Blvrd.

1618 Sofia, Bulgaria

mobile: +359 888 503113

email: max@m3bg.com

www.seychelles.bg

By Sasy S

May 4, 2017

I really enjoyed learning about Diplomacy in the world, its application, and real life examples. The course was very helpful in terms of delivering the subject, and the speaker videos really simplified the concept and made it more clear to understand. Although online learning might be a little bit of a dry material but the weekly peer reviews created a kind of interaction and ideas' sharing that I believe made this course-beside its topic- a more enjoyable experience.

By Carla G

Nov 10, 2020

I've truly enjoyed this course and the different videos and readings in each segment. I also value the reviews and commentaries from my peers on the e-tivities. It's good for giving an introductory insight into Global Diplomacy. I would have liked to see though, a more in depth and detail video commentaries on real case scenarios and their applications, as some of the examples were very general. Great course! I recommend it for beginners in this subject.

By Ana R R d S C

Apr 27, 2020

The course was great, and I definitely learned different and interesting subjects regarding Diplomacy. It presents the topics in a clear way, and it is quite didactic (with articles, videos, and reports). I did the course in 5 weeks, and more or less spent 3/4 hours per week on it. I would recommend the Global Diplomacy course, especially for those you want to learn the basics of Diplomacy or want to know if you should or should not pursue this field.

By Paul V d E

May 14, 2020

I have taken many on-line courses, but is is one of the only ones where I looked worked to the next lesson. Course material was very well presented and allowed me to find additional material to enhance the learning process. Assignments were challenging, but well worth the effort required. The review of peers also contributed to a very good learning climate. Of course, now I have no other choice but to take similar courses for my own development.

By Andrew M

Jul 7, 2023

Amazing course! It opened my eyes for what diplomacy is and how important it is throughout our entire history. Cheers to the professors and guests for sharing their knowledge and thoughts with us. I'd also like to thank the other students for their great analysis and cooperation during the course's activities.

This is perhaps the best course I've seen that's not related to my field of study and work (which is Software Engineering). Thanks again!

By Mohamed A

Sep 12, 2020

The course is sophisticated but you have made it very simple, clear and easy with practical interviews of heavyweight diplomat or profs. I have gained a lot and I can see from the peer assessments that my peers also grasped a good of knowledge of diplomacy. Well done and I thank you for the lecturer, Dr Rofe, and Coursera giving us this opportunity. I advise to all my peers to upgrade and get the certificate in order to see their achievements.

By Shamrir A

Mar 2, 2021

This was an excellent course. I truly admire the distinguished professors and instructors who brilliantly delivered their lectures on global diplomacy. For anyone trying to learn about diplomacy, its practice, the current state of diplomatic affairs, and its scope, this course is a must-have. I also like the fact how not only one or two but lectures of almost 8 instructors were compiled to provide insights and knowledge from different angles.

By Fred N

Feb 3, 2023

I'm a processional intern at the ministry of foreign affairs and international cooperation of Rwanda. when my friend recommended this platform to me, i did not hesitate to start immediately because i found out that is accepted in my country. this platform is easy to use because you can apply for financial aid with ease. i would like to recommend each and everyone of you to realize your dreams on coursera. thanks to the Founders.

By Juan P C O

Jul 14, 2020

Un curso que me permitió entender y abordar múltiples perspectivas de la Diplomacia, su evolución y estado actual, un tema fascinante que merece ser revisado con cuidado. Los docentes que hicieron sus contribuciones, aportaron desde su posición, la cual fue enriquecida con la investigación y los trabajos propuestos en cada unidad. Muy feliz de culminar este curso, de la mano de una universidad a la cual quisiera pertenecer

By LIUVA R M

Jan 11, 2021

An exceptional course that brings you the basic knowledge about Diplomacy and International Affairs, integrated by great experts and proposing different and interesting perspectives (all equally valid) to address any topic you propose in the Global sphere. Thanks to this Coursera course I have discovered that Diplomacy is my passion, and I am completely sure that I am going to specialize my career over that area of study.

By Eftychia L

May 11, 2020

Really enjoyed learning about Diplomacy, which of course contains a lot more than my 5 week study.

It is a field that interests me and l never had the chance to study or exercise it in depth. Any diplomatic knowledge is helpful in our every day life and in understanding how things around us work, especially in the political level of our country and the world in general, at least at some point.

Thank you for the opportunity!

By Jesús D M T

Jun 12, 2022

This is a great course that help me to develop all those necessary concepts that everybody mentioned around the world. Those video with a big information the explanation, example, all those magnificent information help to understand the problematic that I saw in different country. In my diary of life, I will be more concern about the international problematic and studies what part the diplomatic is taking care.  

By Rhio D F

May 31, 2020

The course is very helpful in understanding the basic concepts and forms of diplomacy, and how it works in the real world. It gives the learners the opportunity to integrate their learning with what they know and have experienced in the past. The structure of the course also provides opportunity to learn from others and at the same time provide feedback on how others fared. I will recommend this course to others!