Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by University of London

4.7
stars
3,235 ratings
954 reviews

About the Course

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Top reviews

SS
May 28, 2020

Great course. I had a general interest in diplomacy and wanted a little taste of what it was, this course has provided me just that. It has amazing resources to help enhance our knowledge of diplomacy

TR
May 1, 2020

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 931 Reviews for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

By Charlie B

May 6, 2020

I

By Dipesh T

Sep 21, 2017

U

By Thomáz D M

Nov 20, 2017

The course does a good job at presenting contemporary views on diplomacy in an accessible way. There's nothing too academic going on, and the relation between the new conception of diplomacy presented here and the recent changes in international law (particularly when it comes to human rights) is only hinted at; but overall it serves as a nice introductory course to the subject and offers some interesting insights.

The course material is also quite interesting. My only issue with it is that the "classes", which are actually interviews with specialists, are cut so that only the section related to the theme being discussed in a given week will be displayed. At week 5, however, the whole interviews are made available, and you have to watch the same clips from previous weeks along with the new bits. I found that watching the interviews without cuts was much more interesting than watching the clips, and I wish I had known about them sooner.

By Josh C

Mar 5, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and thought it provided a good introduction to diplomacy in the modern world. Personally, I would have liked if the course was slightly more onerous but I appreciate there is only so much that you can do with this MOOC format.

I liked that for each topic there were contributions from a variety of speakers — obviously, each speaker's background influenced their views on the topics explored and I thought the course was richer for that. I felt that the video content was actually a little light and would have enjoyed longer-form videos in which the speakers were more directly addressing the question. Sometimes it seemed as though the videos had been retrofitted to the stated question (i.e. occasionally speakers did not appear to be addressing the topic at all).

It would also be good to provide suggestions for additional supplementary reading.

By Shaheena K

Jan 16, 2018

Global Diplomacy offers a comprehensive introduction to the subject. It is clear and course requirements are not arduous - yet stimulating and thought-provoking. I would have appreciated knowing the different lengths of submissions in advance, this would have assisted my balancing commitments better to submit the assignments. Also, leaving almost 2 hours of valuable videos to the last session could be adjusted. The last series of videos could easily fit into one of the first two weeks. The content of these videos would have assisted my understanding of the topic and not detracted from the specific subject matter from week 2-5. Also, with a longer paper due in the last week, one would have been able to absorb the video material earlier and have more time to critically engage with the final assignment.

By Raimundo Q J

Dec 14, 2017

This course was very good for me and i enjoyed so much it will help me improve and discuss with different people about Diplomacy, which is the main reason for what state and non-states actors act together to do business around the world. Was extremely useful for me now i understand little beat about the agreement that states makes it is not only for goodwill of other country but the diplomats has to work very hardy to convince other parties to come and do business with us. Not only i cold learn other process and saw when we have a weak diplomacy what is the results. This course was very good but i think it would involve more areas and extend the period of his duration.

By Valeriia M

Jan 23, 2020

The course may be interesting in case you want to learn about different points of view on diplomacy, and it makes you analyze the opinions of others as well as to form your own. It makes you think more and gives you new ideas and helps to choose the concept of diplomacy which fits best with your worldview. However, I personally would like to ger more theoretical information and facts. Maybe I just need to find another course for it. Anyway, I would like to thank all the experts and the team that made the course. They all did a great job!

By Lokko F

Dec 6, 2016

This is an educative programme. I have gained some knowledge in the subject area. It as increased my interest Global Diplomacy. Also opportunity to read more about the theory and practice of Global Diplomacy. It will go a long way to enhance my skills as a diplomate to influence leadership positively at all levels of life to build positive net work, develop appropriate diplomatic skills to enhance international relations, negotiations, and ensure peace and security in contemporary global world.

By Monica G

Mar 16, 2020

I found the interviews and videos very interesting and very well prepared. They present different approaches and perspectives on Diplomacy, with historical, social, cultural references and its role in modern society.

I believe that the course only needs to strengthen its evaluation system through some kind of Multiple choise or similar system to give more legitimacy and support to the training received and the evaluation it deserves.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

By salsabila s

Sep 18, 2020

I appreciate the courses which are compact and resourceful, as it engages many insights and perspectives from foreign policy experts instead of one. It also makes sure that the students do pay attention to the materials given by engaging one another in the assignments. However, it would be great if the course could give a more comprehensive introduction to what to expect from the course and give a bigger picture of what the context of the lessons would be in the coming weeks.

By E M

Feb 15, 2021

This was a really interesting and enlightening course, which prompted me to consider new aspects of the modern world of diplomacy and be more conscious of its place in history.

One thing I would say is that some of the readings appear a little outdated and could be replaced, or complemented by, some more contemporary sources. Also the transcripts of the videos could do with a proofread - some parts are miss-transcribed and could be confusing for non-native English speakers.

By Uwemedimo E

Oct 14, 2020

The course was very enlightening as it exposes the student to the various aspects of negotiations in the international systems. It also teaches the principle by which nations relate with each other in the International system. We were taught about the roles of diplomats in the International system. I recommend this course to anyone who works for a foreign mission or International organization. It puts on your hand the tools of a diplomat and the skills of negotiations.

By Venkatesh M

Feb 11, 2018

Helpful and effective videos and lessons (reading) , simple assignments which yet test your comprehension and allow you to express yourself based on learning and what that means to you, clearly defines important useful concepts of the subject.

The reading material could also be summarized for the benefit of learners who have pressure of time to read fully. Some of the articles are rather long and also written in not the simplest of the ways requiring more time to read.

By SANTIAGO G T

Aug 14, 2020

Un curso sumamente importante y con muchos elementos que ayudan a conocer la diplomacia, buenas entrevistas y definiciones de los conceptos. Creo que es importante añadir más elementos, como ejemplos de diplomáticos históricos y modernos, como funciona la diplomacia en organismos como la ONU y algunas explicaciones referente a la diplomacia de algunos países. De igual forma, considero que este curso sirve para sentar bases importantes de lo que es la diplomacia.

By Cynthia P P C

Apr 23, 2017

It was very enlightening; it made me realize the complexities and evolution of diplomacy while understanding what it takes to become a good diplomat in general. Specifically, I got new insights on how I can impact positively within the realm of nature conservation from a global perspective and how to tackle the threats we are facing in the near future. I would have liked though a bit more interaction with the experts and opinions from them on my/our submissions.

By Sonny W J H

Nov 11, 2019

The course was great, it offers a lot of differing perspectives from experts on the field. Another good point is the understandability of course material offered, as well as many non-technical knowledge it taught me, for example, is how to review other people's paragraphs. I also love the fact that this course offers many useful resources and insights that we can use outside the course. Overall, I'm very thankful for the opportunity to learn. Great work team!

By Lyla B

Feb 3, 2018

I enjoyed the course, however, it said I was done before I ever finished the last E-Activity, I think. Also, much of the last week's lectures were all repetition of previous videos previously presented. I think of the courses I have thus far enrolled in, the glitch factor is higher than I would have suspected it would be. That being said, I still will plan to enroll in Global Diplomacy - The United Nations course and am looking forward to a good experience.

By Liane L

Dec 4, 2017

Really helpful and self-driven course. Good introduction to modern diplomacy, if you have had some background in IR to help you along. Otherwise it isn't that difficult to follow. Wish it had some quizzes that weren't just peer-reviewed very short essays, which, while some may be insightful, are not always so. The fact that it is completely free, however, makes up for it. It is impossible not to learn anything after having committed to this course.

By Uladzimir V

Jul 6, 2020

In general, course is well composed from the most essential topics to make a strong view among participants. Meanwhile actuality of the course material leave much to be desired, since it is grounded on the events of 00's. However, the World has changed since that time. So I would recommend to the course master to develop the material with up to date information.

By Sam B

Dec 4, 2017

Overall a good course and well structured, but could seek to be more explicit about the questions it raises and more practical in terms of what it teaches. For example, we now know what diplomacy is (sort of!) and what skills diplomats need (sort of!) but we don't have much in the way of concrete examples of those skills. Just a thought. But still enjoyable!

By Andrea M M F

Aug 31, 2020

It has been rich to know the perception of diplomacy in other countries and exchange general concepts. My only suggestion shall be to add other specific concepts related to this field, for example, the most important Conventions that regulate this profession. But overall, I'm satisfied and I congratulate Coursera for having these kind of courses.

By James C

Mar 21, 2021

Great course, lots of content. The marking system is great in terms of reading peers' work and reviewing it. It's great to receive broad feedback on work. Being a MOOC, it's impossible for the organisers to give feedback on all work, although a mechanism for feedback on the final essay would be ideal if this could be built in to the course.

By Vijayhardik J

Jun 27, 2020

I love the way the course is designed so that the people learning can interpret the material and form their own opinion on it. The course covers the various facets of diplomacy from critical thinking to conventional forms of diplomacy. It provided a great insight into the world of diplomacy and how international relations are shaped by it.

By Marco A R C

Jun 26, 2020

Es un muy buen curso, te da material de lectura, videos con opiniones y claves para identificar casos exitosos en los que se uso la diplomacia correctamente y te motiva a seguir estudiando el arte de la misma, lo unico que falto fueron en las ultimas semanas incluir mas articulos o guias para el uso de la diplomacia con la globalizacion.

By Barbara B

Jun 20, 2017

Interesting and enjoyable course. Easy to follow, with clear instructions, good material, excellent videos, interesting and interactive forums. Excellent support through the chat when asking questions. There may be merit to propose a more advanced module for those interested to learn more. Thank you for the opportunity.