Chevron Left
Back to Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World by University of London

4.7
stars
4,758 ratings

About the Course

The Global Diplomacy course is a unique offering to the MOOC environment. Bringing together cutting edge research in the broad fields of Diplomatic and International Studies, award winning distance learning delivery and the instructors previous experience of delivering a successful MOOC. Please see the volume Global Diplomacy: Theories, Types and Models authored with Dr Alison Holmes, (Westview, 2016), and the Understanding Research Methods MOOC from Coursera. The Global Diplomacy MOOC has a direct heritage in the University of London International Academy/SOAS Global Diplomacy MA Programme launched in April 2013 which have attracted hundreds of students from around the world. The Global Diplomacy MA Programme is provided by the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy which has been teaching postgraduate courses in Diplomacy for over twenty five years. After completing the 'Global Diplomacy' MOOC, learners will have: 1. The ability to demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and development of global diplomacy, drawing on a variety of relevant contributing disciplines in the broad field of International Studies. 2. An understanding of changes in diplomatic practices and procedures and the relationship of those changes to contemporary politics. 3. A sound grounding in both theoretical and empirical approaches to debates in diplomacy so that students have been exposed to the and skills needed to analyse global diplomacy. 4. knowledge of issues in global diplomacy in historical and contemporary contexts....

Top reviews

MS

Oct 31, 2019

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

TR

May 1, 2020

Absolutely incredible course in diplomacy that gives you a perfect glimpse of understanding how diplomacy works in practice and what achievements you need to posses in order to become a good diplomat.

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 1,362 Reviews for Global Diplomacy – Diplomacy in the Modern World

By Tara C

Oct 28, 2017

All the content was really informative, and I found the videos engaging and interesting. My only issue is that some of the assigned readings were unavailable or difficult to access.

By Zarin T M R

May 7, 2020

Even though all the informations were very basic but this course is really helpful to build your perspective about how important and vast is the use of diplomacy in today's world.

By MIGUEL B E

Nov 1, 2020

Thank you very much I enjoyed the course, although I had to share the time with other activities, I took the time to fill out the course and I really enjoyed it. A hug to all.

By Anna I

Jul 19, 2019

I enjoyed this course very much but would have liked more challenging assignments. The peer review system is not very robust as some people just say 'good response'. The

By Fredrik H

Dec 26, 2019

Good and interesting content. However, I would like to have more practice or examples because the course is enormous theoretical and depends on your personal knowledge.

By Faith H A

Apr 21, 2024

This was an interesting journey. Information was not just given to you randomly. There were given to the Learner bit on bit as a sort of building upon the foundation.

By Firoz G

Aug 8, 2022

They let you take the course for free, but you must pay 46$ for the certificate. Makes no sense. It is missing quizzes, you're not really evaluated, very subjective.

By Mubeen U H

Jun 18, 2020

I really liked the course and gained quite some knowledge. It would have been better if international relations would have been added but still a good learning curve.

By thavha m

Sep 11, 2021

I enjoyed the course and completed it with ease. What i found interesting is that diplomacy is not only state to state relations. There are different levels to it.

By May K K O

Nov 25, 2020

I have learned many things about modern diplomacy from this course I have many tips to learn more about it. But I would like to learn more about video lectures.

By Yvonne

Oct 8, 2019

Interesting but not very challenging, sometimes a lot of repetition in the opinions. I would have liked to see more examples of diplomacy in our world of today.

By Vidushi S

Jun 20, 2023

The course certainly contributed to my knowledge stock through its profuse collection of resources and the accommodative nature of allowing self-paced courses.

By Alexander M R

Jan 18, 2017

Really enjoyed the course. Professors appear to be very competent and the lecture content is thoroughly interesting. Wish there was a bit more content overall.

By Amin M

Apr 17, 2024

I enjoyed Global Diplomacy in a Modern world because it was the right amount of challenge. It was not to over the top. The course professor kept us engaged.

By Elen R

Jun 10, 2020

Interesting course and not too taxing to get through materials. Found the assignments useful to provide an opportunity to consider different perspectives.

By ANANAYA A

Jan 1, 2020

Amazing course with topics discussed elaborately. Assignments helped me revisit what I learnt and discuss it with my peers and know their perspectives.

By Fatima A

Aug 16, 2021

It was a good course designed for someone who is completely new to the concept of diplomacy thus strengthens the very bases of diplomacy. I liked it!

By Rena T P

Dec 3, 2023

Very good course. Easy to understand. Learnt lots of things like what diplomacy really is and how to be a successful diplomat. Would do this again.

By Deb

May 13, 2021

Enjoyed hearing different opinions and examples from different people/views. I would of enjoyed a bit more interaction between you and the guests.

By Nilmadhab H

Sep 25, 2018

I would have liked to see some more videos on diplomatic case studies and methods to practically develop the qualities of a good diplomat. Thanks.

By John C C

Jan 28, 2021

Informative but I did not like how I had to wait for other students work to progress. Also I would have preferred actual teacher to mark my work.

By Francisco J A M

Feb 9, 2023

Un curso muy adecuado para introducirse en los conceptos claves de la Diplomacia y cómo desde ellos construir una comprensión sobre la materia.

By Muhammad F

Jun 6, 2023

Informative course. The readings are very helpful. The videos are nice way to start into a module. The Coursera peer review model works well.

By Vivi F

Mar 26, 2022

i would have liked more conversation between the experts but it was a very interesting course - especially at this strange political moment!

By Shweye P

Sep 15, 2020

Great course! Well organized. Some technical errors in reviewing in articles. All in all it is a course everyone should have a try.