Chevron Left
Back to The Global Financial Crisis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Global Financial Crisis by Yale University

4.8
1,364 ratings
296 reviews

About the Course

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Top reviews

TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

JC

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent course on the GFC, I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to learn more about the crisis. The instructors were very good and took a complex subject and made it very understandable.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 288 Reviews for The Global Financial Crisis

By Paul C

Jun 30, 2017

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the crisis and the methods used by the Fed to keep the financial system from collapsing.

By Richard

Apr 21, 2018

Excellent course, good professors

By Marcos R S

Jul 04, 2017

Great professors, useful concepts with an easy teaching method

By David L

Jul 09, 2017

Awesome course! Very well done!

By Karen I i

Jun 20, 2018

Such excellent course instructors.

By Gregorio T

Jul 14, 2017

This course was excellent!!! In a structured way it helped me gain the understanding I was looking for. Andrew Metrick combines the knowledge and teaching skills that really made the difference. I also found a lot of value from the interactions with the course mentor, Guenter Leonhardt. The presence of Tim Geithner provided valuable direct testimony. This was my first course at Coursera and really encourages to take more. I only hope I can find Andrew's likes as teachers.

By Blanca d

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course. Very well explained and lots of interesting content.

By Larissa N L V

Oct 19, 2017

Excelente course, very well explained ! I am happy to have done it , because now I finally could understand many things I couldn't before . Thankyou

By ULISES T G

Dec 29, 2017

Great course!! I really loved it!

By Surbhi g

Jan 27, 2018

A good detailed course.

By Jian W

Aug 31, 2017

fantastic contend, which is very wonderful!

By Ammon B

Jul 05, 2018

Incredible. Both Metrick and Geithner were excellent lecturers. All of the associated journal articles and speeches were helpful supplements for a deep background.

By Kalyani P

Mar 30, 2018

This course is a must for every finance student to understand the dynamics of the crisis. It would help you to understand the various indicators better and that how various events would affect you personally. It breaks down the complex and some what messy financial crisis into small link able events which enhances your understanding dramatically. The faculty is engaging and the insights from Timothy Geithner are valuable and first hand.

By Mike Y W

Mar 21, 2018

The breadth and width of topics covered in this course met my high expectations (it is Yale after all), but it would be nice if the course could be updated (I wouldn't mind paying more) with extra materials added in (or perhaps a new course or courses, "The GFC, Part II/III") for the past few years as I get the feeling this course was created in 2014. In addition, it would be nice if Secretary Geithner could have taught an extra week or two, and go more into the years leading to the GFC and the years immediately after it from his point of view. As a final suggestion, if there was a Yale specialization for market stress (or similar), including this course, I'd be all over it.

By Johannes P

Feb 22, 2017

Very informative course.

By Dr T A M D

Aug 11, 2017

Great Course, thoroughly enjoye

By Eduardo R

Jun 05, 2018

Excellent course.

By Niccolò P G

Jan 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It is the perfect choice for someone who would like to further deepen the knowledge of the subject. Moreover, although the lessons are registered and are not live-streaming, it still has been a privilege to hear what happened during the crisis from the lips of one of the major political Actors of that period.

By Robin D Z

May 06, 2017

Great lectures, easy to understand.

By Alex M

Mar 25, 2018

Very strong, methodological course of a complicated subject, made easy to learn by the excellent stewardship of Andrew Metrick. Updates are overdue for the outfall of Euro-crisis. Timothy Geithner is not as natural a teacher and his lectures are less rich. Overall however the course makes for targeted learning with appropriate detail and analysis that challenges pre-econcptions.

By Ken R

Jul 12, 2017

Very informative and thorough, with a good overview of relevant topics

By GBT

Dec 13, 2017

Excellent course and great insight into a very signifigant event in US history. Recommended to anyone of any background!

By Shibin T

Jul 11, 2017

very structured course, you learn something above and beyond the financial crisis - you learn something about the whole financial system.

By SHRINIVAS K

Jun 23, 2018

amazing course , can not explain in words.Thank you very much secretary and professor.

By Fahad I

Jan 25, 2016

Found course very informative, well organized and well presented