Chevron Left
Back to The Global Financial Crisis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Global Financial Crisis by Yale University

4.8
1,316 ratings
287 reviews

About the Course

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Top reviews

TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

RA

Sep 01, 2018

This course was excellent. The short yet crisp lectures have given me a fair perspective of what came before, during and to an extent after the GFC. I feel I will greatly benefit from this knowledge.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 279 Reviews for The Global Financial Crisis

By Eric C P

Jan 20, 2016

Every American should understand this problem. It should especially be taught in our high schools.

By alex h

Nov 24, 2016

This is an excellent history class on the recent housing collapse and financial crisis, but it also does a masterful job of succinctly and clearly explaining/illustrating the underlying causes of the entire global financial crisis, as well as to the individual events throughout the multi year ordeal. Slides are very well put together with some very informative data. I'd suggest this class to anyone who wants an updated understanding of global finance and modern day banking.

By Ajay P

Jan 24, 2016

The best course I have ever attended in Coursera. From the subject matter to the course facilitators and the material shared with the students, this course is intense, data-rich, highly analytical and thought provoking. Given a chance, I would redo this course in a heartbeat. A must for anyone interested in Economics or just interested to know conclusively, what happened during the Global Financial Crisis.

By Sukhdeep S V

Jul 24, 2017

Awesome

By John V T

Jan 21, 2016

An excellent overview of the crisis from the perspective of those who working the issues at the highest level. Both instructors are going to keep you interested throughout the sessions.

By Gavin C

Mar 15, 2016

A well presented and evidence based discourse on the Global Financial Crisis

By Anirudh B

Feb 17, 2016

Excellent overview of the global financial crisis! Prof. Metrick does a great job dissecting the complex financial system to help understand the crisis. The modules are well organized and engaging. Really gave me an appreciation for economic policy and financial markets.

By viki k

Apr 16, 2016

superb

By S L

Feb 22, 2016

great!

By Laurel S L

Apr 20, 2017

Excellent overview; top notch analysis of A complex topic presented thoroughly by knowledgeable economist in a way that made it surprisingly easy to understand. Beautifully done. A MUST do course for anyone in political or economic fields that involve or are impacted by G8 business/economic forces.

By QUANQINGHU

Feb 22, 2016

Great material and lectures, giving a nice scope of what happened and what is going on. Very nice class

By Paul S H

Feb 06, 2016

Excellent course - very easy to follow the chain of events leading to the crash.

By Aditya h

Dec 25, 2015

Explains thoroughly the cause of the Financial crisis, contagion and prevention. Touches on the Euro zone crisis and the problems with single currency for member nations. The course parallels a documentary but at the same time elucidates on various fragments leading to the crisis

By Yang C

Jun 18, 2016

The awesome course with great insight.

By Stylianos V

Oct 12, 2016

Top-notch!

By Judy H

Oct 01, 2016

This course is very informative. I was surprised how many pieces there are

to the financial puzzle. I found the suggested reading material to be interesting

and enlightening too. I plan to gradually read all of the books that I have not yet

read. The professor delivered the lectures in a clear and concise manner. This has

been time well spent. Thank you.

By Dheeraj D

Mar 16, 2018

Very Comprehensive.

By Dimitar Y M

Jan 21, 2016

Very interesting and pfofound in knowledge and analysis.

By Frank O

Feb 18, 2016

Excellent analysis for the novice student of financial markets.

By Wiktor S

Feb 08, 2016

Fantastic teaching. Didn't think I was going to do it but I'm hooked!

By Leong H C

Dec 30, 2015

This is a wonderful course. Thank you very much and a Happy 2016.

By Zubair A R

Mar 19, 2018

Excellent course

By Don A E

Jan 07, 2016

Great Course for Finance Majors, Economics Majors, and those with similar interest.

By Saurav D

Feb 10, 2016

Excellent! I can't recommend this course highly enough. Very well done. This is the future of education.

By Aaman L

Jan 18, 2016

Interesting and topical, from people who were in the thick of things and don't pull punches. The camerawork leaves a bit to be desired, but not the content.