Chevron Left
Back to The Global Financial Crisis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Global Financial Crisis by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,975 ratings
425 reviews

About the Course

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Top reviews

TS
Apr 8, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

JC
Mar 15, 2018

Excellent course on the GFC, I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to learn more about the crisis. The instructors were very good and took a complex subject and made it very understandable.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 417 Reviews for The Global Financial Crisis

By Miguel-Angel W

Dec 16, 2015

Very useful in order to understand all the mechanisms of the Global Financial Crisis. Need to be related to the new book of Ben Bernanke "The Courage to Act".

By Aaman L

Jan 18, 2016

Interesting and topical, from people who were in the thick of things and don't pull punches. The camerawork leaves a bit to be desired, but not the content.

By Lukman E

Aug 14, 2016

Very insightful and useful, particularly for someone whose limited knowledge and time to read papers and books about global financial crisis in 2007-2008.

By John M

Feb 24, 2016

Good explanation of the background of the crisis, and the impact on U.S. and E.U. as well. I never understood the term "shadow banking" before; now I do.

By JOHN T

Jul 14, 2020

A very good and structured course on the Global Financial Crisis. This course is a must need for all as it is very easily explained by the Lecturers.

By Vijay S

Mar 23, 2019

Very well constructed course matertial with enough detail and data though not to make it tedious, just wonder if there is way to shorten the length?

By Larissa N L V

Oct 19, 2017

Excelente course, very well explained ! I am happy to have done it , because now I finally could understand many things I couldn't before . Thankyou

By Lennert O

Jul 13, 2019

Excellent course. Well explained. Very interesting and engaging, even for someone who experienced the Global Financial Crisis from .the front line.

By Mihaela

Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was very interesting, very well organised, the workload was manageable every week. Thank you for the nice course!

By Christopher M

Apr 19, 2019

The only course available on the GFC. Great summary of the crisis and excellent recommended readings. I would recommend this course to anyone.

By ROBERT D

Jul 29, 2016

This is a very informative course, a very complicated global financial event explained in a way the average person can understand ,thank you !

By Eugenio D

Jun 18, 2016

Very well done in general, with useful materials. The lecturer does a great job of explaining even the hardest mechanisms. Highly recommended!

By Ayush D

Apr 30, 2020

It was a very enriching experience throughout the course. The professors made sure to elucidate the deliberation in the best possible manner.

By Raffaella P

May 28, 2016

I really like this course, Professor Metrick is excellent. He speaks and explains very very clairly and, thank to this, I am learning a lot.

By Neringa B

Mar 3, 2016

The Global Financial Crisis course material is presented in an aesthetic manner where relevant ideas are expressed with clarity and honesty.

By Jiaju L

Nov 29, 2020

Valuable courses with fantastic expositions, filled with straightforward demonstrations of enumerated trends and elaborating key solutions.

By Holger S

Feb 21, 2016

The course gives a great overview of the events and interconnections of the Global Financial Crisis. The best way to gain basic knowledge.

By Michael V

Apr 5, 2020

Fantastic! I greatly appreciated the content in this course. IF you own a house in the united states, this should be required coursework!

By Shibin T

Jul 11, 2017

very structured course, you learn something above and beyond the financial crisis - you learn something about the whole financial system.

By Danilo G

Feb 11, 2016

Thank you, the course helped me to understand the modern economy and gave me tools to try to acknowledge the current consequences of GFC.

By Bernie A

Jun 6, 2016

Very informative and explained in an easy to understand and patient manner. I hope this instructor will have more MOOC's in the future.

By William B

Mar 7, 2016

I just started and the course already gives me additional fresh background insights about the origins of the Global Financial Crisis.

By Carlos H

Aug 17, 2016

This is an amazing course, the mix between theory and practice is excellent, this is one the best course that I have ever taken.

By Abelardo Q F J

Dec 17, 2015

A nice presentation of the reasons for a financial crisis addressed to both people with and without much familiarity with finance.