Chevron Left
Back to The Global Financial Crisis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Global Financial Crisis by Yale University

4.8
1,364 ratings
296 reviews

About the Course

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Top reviews

TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

JC

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent course on the GFC, I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to learn more about the crisis. The instructors were very good and took a complex subject and made it very understandable.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 288 Reviews for The Global Financial Crisis

By Ayodele A A

Jan 13, 2016

I enjoyed the course!

By AKIN O

Mar 03, 2016

Very well explained, especially for the people who does not possess high economics background.

By Anastasia Y

Feb 16, 2016

T

By Hitesh K

Mar 29, 2016

Very insightful lectures and its really helpful to see supporting data/graphs for every point stated in lectures.

By Zain N

Jan 28, 2016

I would highly recommend this course for anyone who wishes to understand the events that happened during the GFC. Both, Prof Andrew Materick and Secretary Geitner provide excellent "insights & data"; and have made the course very interesting.

Looking forward for other coursers on Finance from Yale University.

P.S: The assignments are not easy as they seem to be. One has to carefully listen to the lessons and make proper notes.

By Iulia A P

Nov 06, 2017

Intellectually rigorous and excellently taught!

By Rossen K K

Aug 06, 2017

Exccellent course! Thank you!

By 杨雪青

Nov 30, 2016

brief and clear, informative and easy to understand

By Ruslan K

Dec 01, 2016

This is the greatest course I've ever attend. The knowledge and expertise of the Prof. Metrick and Mr.Geithner is over expectations. The course is very complex, well delivered (with simple and understandable language, reasoning and supporting materials), information is extremely concentrated, and huge knowledge of the authors is felt behind the scenes. The only think I lack is off-line (real life) attendance to the discussion with authors on questions that arise during the course. Hope, once I'll have an opportunity to attend Mr. Geithner and Mr. Metrics lectures and seminars and/or Yale university other real life courses

By Abhinav A

Jul 23, 2016

Best material I could ever find related to Global Financial Crisis. As a student of Economics, this course was very helpful it is must for someone who just wants to know what happened in an easy to understand and practical manner.

Both the faculties are of very high stature and have closely observed the crisis. Professor Andrew is a financial economist and explains beautifully the events and timeline of GFC and Professor Geithner was himself involved in all policy reactions and his role has been highly appreciated worldwide as President of New York Fed. Awesome experience really. Thanks Coursera. It's like a dream come true to be taught by such eminent personalities.

By Parth M

Dec 27, 2016

Extremely well designed course.

By Jason T

Apr 30, 2016

Great course!

By Murat C B

Sep 21, 2017

Very well organized... I have definitely learned a lot of things in detail. Thank you for your hardwork !

By John M

Feb 24, 2016

Good explanation of the background of the crisis, and the impact on U.S. and E.U. as well. I never understood the term "shadow banking" before; now I do.

By Richard T

Dec 07, 2015

This course is very interesting and the content is pretty clear-cut and easy to understand.

By Alexander G

Dec 15, 2015

Very useful and interesting. Thanks for the material from Moscow, Russia

By Rob P

Jan 25, 2016

An excellent course! Very detailed without being boring and expertly delivered.

An important course for everyone to study and one I will definitely be recommending.

By Lingxi S

May 27, 2016

Easy to comprehend.

By Yisu W

Feb 08, 2016

How clear and interesting the course is!

By Raffaella P

May 28, 2016

I really like this course, Professor Metrick is excellent. He speaks and explains very very clairly and, thank to this, I am learning a lot.

By Danilo G

Feb 11, 2016

Thank you, the course helped me to understand the modern economy and gave me tools to try to acknowledge the current consequences of GFC.

By José M C C

Jul 02, 2017

Great course, definitely worth it.

By Ricardo M

Mar 21, 2016

Excellent!

By Iulian P

Feb 25, 2016

very good discussion about the cronology, causes and outcomes of the global financial crisis

By Dorothy A

Apr 06, 2018

A course given by those involved in such critical conditions was fascinating and extremely helpful.