Chevron Left
Back to The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
3,286 ratings
856 reviews

About the Course

In 2015, the UN launched the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Adopted by 193 member states, the goals represent an important international step in setting humanity on a trajectory towards sustainable development. Within this course, you will get a historical overview of how sustainability has been understood, as well as a thorough introduction to the SDGs – what they are, how progress can be measured, and how the SDGs are relevant for the management of the global systems supporting humanity. The course will examine how various societal actors are responding to and implementing the SDGs. While all of the SDGs are essential to sustainable development, SDG 13, Climate Action, is usually perceived as the most urgent in terms of the need for a swift implementation on a global scale. Therefore, particular focus is given to this SDG. Through the course, you will gain up-to-date knowledge of the current understanding of human impacts on the Earth at the planetary level. Progress towards establishing global management of human interactions with the climate system within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) is also discussed. The course is designed and taught by Professor Katherine Richardson, who is a member of the 15-person panel appointed by the UN General Secretary in 2016 to write the 2019 Global Sustainable Development Report. In each lecture, Katherine interviews experts who provide insights relevant to the topic at hand....

Top reviews

JM
Jul 18, 2020

Thank you for offering this course (The Sustainable Development Goals-A global transdisciplinary vision for the future). I have passed it but I am not sure how can i get the certificate at this stage.

JJ
Jul 15, 2020

I loved it, ver interesting and relevant information to the situation we face nowadays! Everyone should take this course to understand that we must evolve as a society to have a better world for all.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 856 Reviews for The Sustainable Development Goals – A global, transdisciplinary vision for the future

By Ely M

Jun 29, 2019

I think it is a good option to get to understand the real problem we are creating to the environment, how SDG's are connected and what we can do to prevent it from getting worse. It made me think about adopting a new lifestyle and change many patterns we have that are harming the nature.

By Joaquin C F

Apr 16, 2020

Its a great course to learn the basics about the reason of the Sustainable Development Goals. There is a lot of interesting capacity building ideas and knowledge, featuring speakers and experts from academia and other sectors on crucial topics related to the implementation of the SDGs.

By Maryam A

Oct 11, 2020

This was my first time trying COURSERA and im positively surprised. I enjoyed the self-study whilst getting to read the other students point of views. Overall, im most definitely going to submit another course and get as much out of it as i did with this one! - Kind regards, Maryam

By Honorata F

Jan 6, 2021

I really like this course! Before that, I haven't heard about the SDG's at all and it opened my eyes to the complexity of them. But it also left me optimistic. I really believe that we can change the world and our behavior in order to survive by making our habitat survive as well.

By Sourajit A

Aug 25, 2018

Very relevant topics were covered, the structure and flow was easy to understand, very informative also. I now have a much better understanding of the topics and the effects and ramifications of the 17 SDG and what they mean to us, both in terms of society and business. Thank you

By Alexis L

May 1, 2020

So inspiring, this course helped me to understand how SDGs can impact our political life, our companies, and even citizens! Sustainable development is a huge challenge, fighting global warming and building a better world for tomorrow will help us to improve our entire society.

By Nezhad J

Mar 6, 2021

In my opinion, this course and in fact this kind of view should be extended and taught to all levels of society in order to promote the dimensions of a prosperous life in the world in all aspects. I hope to work on expanding attention to SDGs as a conscientious citizen.

By Bing L

Jan 29, 2020

Really enjoyed this course with Kate. I especially liked the lectures and the interviews with a range of diverse experts which helped me gain a broader understanding of sustainable developments and the various interactions of the SDGs with other sectors and disciplines.

By Kazi T A

Apr 4, 2020

After this course I have gone thru change my thought process and make me realize how important it is to be part of SDG success. It is the battle or plan of survival for humankind. The materials are great and I think I have to invest more time on reading each materials.

By Dorcas N k

Apr 11, 2018

This is a well structured course, it has given me the best understanding of the Sustainable Development Goals, and as a Development Studies PhD student, I fully subscribe to the SDGs and following closely on its progress and achievements especially in my country Kenya.

By Casandra L F

Nov 24, 2020

I truly enjoyed the course. It really highlighted the relationships between the SDGs and how we need to be mindful in our practises. If one focuses on only addressing 1 goal, you may be doing damage to other goals. We all need to work harmoniously, no room for silos.

By Abel M

Oct 21, 2018

Lets get more people to access this course, especially young people in African (SSA) countries, the challenge this side is payment methodology, you should come up with payment methodology say locally so that most people can access the course. It is so incredible!!!

By SAIF A

Jan 2, 2021

As we all know that Climate Change and its consequences are incoming catastrophes for the globe, therefore the SDG Course can help one understand the systematic battle to cope with serious possible outcomes as well as mitigate the intensity of social changes.

By Monir H

Jun 23, 2020

I feel so lucky to complete this exclusive course.

I do believe that "The Sustainable Development Goals- A global transdisciplinary vision for the future"

will expand the consciousness among the learners around the world for expected and developmental changes.

By Alicia S

May 25, 2019

The course was very informative. I have gained new insight on different aspects of the topic. I was encouraged to see the work that is being done with regard to SDGs. I appreciated the mixture of videos and readings. The quizzes were fun too. Excellent!

By Giselle M

Mar 12, 2018

Thank you very much for this amazing presentation and content, for sure I have much better knowledge about the SDG's than I did before started this MOOC. I would like to see more of this kind of MOOC's, specially regarding Business and Sustainability.

By Dr A J

Apr 5, 2020

One of the best courses I have come across. The time I spent was really worth it. The sessions are rich with content , clear with expression and satisfying with the knowledge it gives. I would like to congratulate Ms Katherine Richardson,my Professor.

By Tracey A C

Apr 22, 2020

Excellent overview not only of the SDGs, but of related issues such as inequality, governance and the role of civil society. Highly recommended for any work is working in the field and wants to understand the wider context of sustainable development.

By Utako K

May 9, 2020

Professor Katherine Richardson was wonderful in many ways. Especially the way she covers multiple perspectives on SDGs clearly mirrors how this comprehensive vision is constituted. Her lectures were well organized and easy to understand. Thank you.

By Arun V

Dec 21, 2019

This course was very interactive and informative., well designed and goal oriented. I wish best of luck to all who have enrolled to this course and my best wishes to the course instructor. She is nice and sound academician as well as a good leader.

By Halyna B

Apr 4, 2020

I am very thankful to Katherine Richardson, her explicit lectures and pulling in related scientists and researches for discussions the issues.

This course gives the fundamental idea about the SDGs and their influence on the future of the humanity.

By REX

May 31, 2020

It was very interesting , with a variety of materials related to SDGs. Most of all I really appreciate the well structured syllabus. Easy to access and also very helpful for people with no deep understanding of the sustainable development goals.

By Farah C

Apr 2, 2021

A useful course for the general public, policy officials and students of any discipline. I'd recommend this a core course in any academic programme. It will help with that shift in mindset that needs to take place if the SDGs are to be achieved

By Парцвания В Р

Aug 6, 2020

The course was very interesting, well structured and informative. Thanks a lot to Dr. Katherine Richardson, her team and all participants who made great contribution into preparation of the course. All the best from Moscow, Vakhtang Partsvaniya