Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Go by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
1,568 ratings
397 reviews

About the Course

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Top reviews

JP
Apr 4, 2020

Great intro. If you already know the basics, you probably don't need this course though. Not much of a deep dive, more of a "skim the surface" type course. Week 4 on IO was the most beneficial for me.

AN
Oct 23, 2020

Very detailed, nice introduction to golang's basic concepts. Might need to google to find better ways to handle some requirements of the assignments, but overall a cool programming language to learn.

Filter by:

376 - 393 of 393 Reviews for Getting Started with Go

By ildukim

Dec 22, 2018

Too basic.

By Kevin H

Nov 3, 2020

Pretty decent course with two flaws:

tagged as an Intermediate course while going from very basic stuff.

most of the assignments can be script graded while using peer review and people just grade it in pure randomness. Somebody just gives you a full point while others grade you on a error handling issue considering the assignment is just a toy program showing you can use a slice or something

By Shly

Feb 13, 2020

Course was very introductory on high-level topics for a class that assumes you are an intermediate or higher programmer. Requirements for weekly assignments were confusing and left a lot of unanswered questions on how certain things should be handled. Peer-based grading clogged the message board with "please grade my assignment" posts and unequal grading standards.

By Gin-Ting C

Jan 4, 2021

It's too text heavy for basic comp sci topics. It's good information but not on topic.

The topic is 'Getting started with Go' not 'Getting started with Computer Architecture'.

There should be more Go specific focused talks and assume a base level of comp sci from your audience.

Or, make basic comp sci a requisite to this course.

By Arkady M

Jan 3, 2021

Peer grading is the laziest form of grading. Do some work, write unit tests, provide a decent grader. For a so called intermediate level course there is too much bla-bla and too little go specific material. Programming assignments are few are not challenging to say the least.

By yasharnesabian

Sep 19, 2020

This was not a productive course at all! there are many syntaxes problems in the codes which by the way are only shown in the slides, first I tried to learn go using this course but now I decided to learn go using other online resources

By Paul R

Feb 15, 2021

The code assignments should be graded through unit tests not peer reviewed, I had code that was working and unit tested (so I knew it worked) and someone graded that is didn't work, which was incorrect.

By Peter M

Aug 24, 2020

Why say something in once concise sentence when you can say it in hundreds of words? There is so much unnecessary waffling in all these Go courses. Not to mention mistakes.

By Boadi I

Apr 7, 2020

I expected to see Ian writing and running codes. Just talking like that I think does not help. I took a programming course here and it was far far better.

By S.Devanathan

Jul 2, 2020

too hard when coming to the end sections

By AKANSH K R

Mar 17, 2020

Most of the things are basic.

By Syed M M H

Dec 8, 2018

Course should be updated.

By ILIN A ( А Л

Oct 11, 2020

To easy

By Bakhodir U

Mar 18, 2021

s

By Ardavan I

Oct 30, 2019

This course is the only talks and powerpoint slides, there is absolutely no code, monitor screen sharing, etc.

The courses talk about fundamentals and computer science stories. The entire specialization focus is less than 50% on the Go language itself. No Go mod, No libraries, No coding...

For instance, The professor is about to explain a new thing and suddenly remember forgot to mention something before so he jumps to the missing point and then jumps back to continue. HARD to follow up...

The quizzes have many typos/duplicates. That makes you fail!

Overall strongly I do NOT suggest to waste your money or time on this specialization on Coursera.

By Flavio S T

Apr 22, 2019

Very basic, suitable for people with no expertise in the field. It is missing a lesson about the go command itself, and the tools it provide. The Tour of Go is way better.

By Farshid Z

May 3, 2021

It is better to be corrected by the instructor instead of others!

By Deepak A

Jan 26, 2021

A programming course without IDE, lol