Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Go by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
1,566 ratings
397 reviews

About the Course

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Top reviews

JP
Apr 4, 2020

Great intro. If you already know the basics, you probably don't need this course though. Not much of a deep dive, more of a "skim the surface" type course. Week 4 on IO was the most beneficial for me.

AN
Oct 23, 2020

Very detailed, nice introduction to golang's basic concepts. Might need to google to find better ways to handle some requirements of the assignments, but overall a cool programming language to learn.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 393 Reviews for Getting Started with Go

By Frank C

Jul 30, 2019

Great intermediate course that doesn't start at "Hello, World!" Exercises were on point, made me do a little research and got me thinking how to find the answers.

By Ekene E

Nov 21, 2020

This course is very foundational and well explained. It will take you through all you need to understand about Golang. I am really impressed with the Instructor.

By Sujith S

Oct 13, 2019

This was my first coursera course. I always wanted to experience online way of learning. I am really happy that I did this. Thanks a lot for providing this.

By Ying T

Nov 11, 2018

A very good course for students who had previous coding experience so that people can get familiar with go quickly. The homeworks are also well organized.

By Oussama M

Oct 14, 2019

A very good introduction of the course, the teacher is very clear, there is some type mistake like on the struct declaration but everything is good!

By Prageeth W

Mar 8, 2020

great course, minor mistakes in some of the materials overall quite condensed and good for an experienced engineer to quickly grasp basics.

By Shahriyar R

Feb 22, 2020

The exercises were interesting/challenging and the explanation was decent. I love the way of explanation of simple but important concepts.

By Patrick B

Dec 31, 2020

some material needs updating because the language is evolving but regardless this is great course and the instructor explains very well.

By Luis R A S

Jul 21, 2020

Excelent course, need to know some things before hand and the start is rough if you don't know anything about go, but it's a good course

By Manjunath D

Jul 28, 2020

It was a wonderful course with just the right amount of topics for anybody who has prior experience and wants to learn a new language

By Vernon S

May 27, 2020

Building simple applications reinforces the information provided in the video lectures and provides a solid introduction to Go.

By Carl B

Oct 20, 2018

It's targeted toward intermediate but I found it a little more "beginner". Lecturer is great and the assignments are fun though

By Enrique M

Mar 25, 2020

i love the teacher. his communications skills are excellent and the course has balance of explanations for devs of all levels

By Nagarjuna G

Sep 26, 2019

Explained very clearly and easy to follow the tutorial. It's better to include the example programs at corresponding topic

By Agnaldo P d O

Sep 2, 2019

I have never seen Go Lang before, this course gives me an excellent overview what is this "new" programming language is.

By Artūras Š

Sep 15, 2020

Even assignments look not difficult, but while writing program there are "hidden" thinks to consider. I liked this.

By Sood, P

Apr 26, 2020

it covers all the basic concepts of GoLang and is nicely structured. Would like to learn unit testing concepts as well

By Naveena.P

Sep 4, 2020

This course is very useful for the beginners to get start with Go.I really enjoyed this course and it is very helpful

By Sudhansu S

Jul 24, 2020

Content was delivered with clarity on fundamentals. Assignments are designed well to apply learning from each module!

By Aditya G

Jun 4, 2020

Good course to start with Golang programming. The assignments are good and helps a lot in understanding the concepts

By BALLA L K

Jun 22, 2020

Initially i thought that the course is very difficult after that slowly i had learn a lot of thing from this course

By Felipe S

Oct 2, 2018

Very good course to get started with the Go Language. Better you have some knowledge with any programming language.

By Alessio L

Apr 13, 2020

Very well done! Professor was clear and concise and testing exams were proper for the required level of expertise.

By Manoj N

Sep 11, 2020

I think this course gives you a strong base line for the next courses and professional development in the future.

By Naveeja S

Mar 29, 2020

This is the best programming course I have ever attended. The Professor explains the key concepts very precisely.