Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,057 ratings
5,497 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

OI

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH

Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filter by:

4526 - 4550 of 5,470 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Ibrahim A O A

Feb 1, 2020

It's a pleasure to thank UCLA for teaching for everyone to learn to acquire a new language.

Secondly, I thank all the working teachers who carry on their shoulders the most honorable message throughout history, hoping that knowledge will reach the corners of the earth.

and a next times we are want to courses about information technology for develoe our skills until find job easily.

By Deleted A

Sep 5, 2016

Paced perfectly for me. A great review as my knowledge of what underlies our language system is well hidden after years of use. As I embark upon a class in Spanish, I hope this thorough look at English conventions may help me in learning this second language. My motivation centers on my grandson's enrollment in a dual immersion school; helping him with homework is a challenge.

By Shahin K

Aug 23, 2020

It was great. But would have been better if watching additional videos was not made mandatory for firefox. And providing extra material for practicing would be nice, for we could make our base on grammar & punctuation stronger that way. Overall I am happy with this course and Instructor. The course was well organized. Only lacuna I find is post material for practicing.

By Miriam R

Feb 2, 2017

This is really good. I expected a tedious review of my grammar subjects from grade school and high school. I am pleasantly relieved that the emphasis is on the areas that will be commonly used in academic writing; that is, sentence constructions. I have learned a lot and have also discovered that my compound and complex sentence constructions do need some work.

By Prabesh M

Aug 29, 2019

from this class,it made me proper man on doing in making the sentences right, like this is this and that's that; however, this class was cool where i got more knowledge than the school in LTC ( grammar) subject! by seeing the videos that this class had made and i understand,but something i didn't then also i got more knowledge than i thought . THANK YOU !

By Michael D B

Sep 16, 2020

This course was great. I only subtracted 1 star because coursera’s peer review system was a little clunky. I wanted to ask follow up questions or thank peers for their feedback but didn’t seem to be able to. I’m also not sure The “discuss” button underneath the lecture video rectangle also didn’t work so I couldn’t discuss any of the content with peers.

By Shalini Y

May 31, 2020

Overall, it was good. This course has cohesive content, but, what I feel, something is missing. It is a very short course, they have another intermediate course on grammar, though. They should include some faculty interaction in this course, as we all are at the same pace. We can't judge other person mistakes as a teacher can do this job better than us.

By Sami L

Nov 26, 2015

A concise review of punctuation and (some) grammar associated with punctuation rules in the grammar. A perfect choice for anyone wanting to review punctuation rules swiftly. However, those who would like to review grammar of the English language might not get all what they wanted from this course, which covers only what is relevant to punctuation.

By Alexander V

May 2, 2016

A really helpful and detailed course. You really can go trough it for four hours and gain quite useful knowledge about the punctuation and the correct way of structuring your essay. The only recommendation I would have is to give up on the adobe flash technology for the practice tests and use java script and simple html.

Thanks for the course.

By Ugo O

May 21, 2018

Very good step-by-step pedagogy! Learn a few things, that I will keep in mind. But, I believe this is for beginners, or people who have big issues with grammar. I can imagine this is also very good for people whose native language has nothing in common with English. I was playing the videos 2x faster, as I had understood where this was going.

By Mohammed H

Sep 3, 2020

I enjoyed this course. Highly educational and useful. I had so much fun following the videos and completing the quizzes. I'd say I had improved a lot since I started. The problem is, some of the practicing apps in the course don't work, which made me frustrated. I hope they fix them, so the students can get the full potentials of the course.

By Kirstie F P

Nov 7, 2020

I really love Miss Tamy Chapman's soothing voice and her well-enunciated words. Because of her, I've decided to enroll in another class of hers. However, I do suggest brief explanations on certain English terminologies in the video lectures. Not all of us remember what a gerund or an infinitive is. Overall, I enjoyed the modules.

By Shahoriar N

Jun 14, 2020

I was looking for a course that can sum up my knowledge regarding grammar and punctuation. For this purpose, I found the Grammar and Punctuation course is the best fit. The whole program was great; I liked the interactive learning section. The video contents seems a bit brief to me, except this, I loved this course. Thank you.

By Kamilia H

Aug 1, 2020

This course is a great refreshment about Grammar and a helpful guide about Punctuation. The materials are very easy to understand. What i really like about this course is that it is very informative without being too long. The quiz could be improved since it is only fully accessible via a certain browser. Thank you, Coursera!

By Srishti R

Sep 25, 2019

A good course for everyone who already knows grammar but wants to revise everything. Also, it does an amazing job at clarifying your doubts regarding the most difficult aspects of English grammar. However, this is not a course for zero level beginners because it does expect you to know basic concepts already before enrolling.

By Deepak

Jul 12, 2020

The course is very helpful, and the instructor communicates very efficiently with the students. There is only one problem that some of the links in the course are only accessible through desktop and not through smartphone. But that's only a miner issue, which I am certain that the technical team would resolve quickly.

By stacyg

Aug 18, 2020

This is a good course for learning English as a second language, and I learned a few things, but if you're looking to learn advanced grammatical concepts in English, I would recommend other classes above this one. This course has a lot of useful exercises and interaction with your classmates, which are very helpful.

By Athar A

Mar 24, 2018

The best feature of the course is that it was well organized and of highly advanced level. The material in tutorial was appropriate and it increased my interest in the given field. At - last, but not least the instructor deliver the course contents in an efficient wy. She also dealt the problems of all the peers.

By Schinell

Feb 27, 2016

It was an excellent refresher course.

The course included a lot of student reviews. In my opinion there was a plus and a negative to this. It was great at inspiring student interaction; however, because the teacher didn't review the work after, if the student had a misguided interpretation it may lead you astray.

By Paula D C

Sep 25, 2017

I enrolled hoping to learn more about other punctuation marks, such as: how to place periods when you have a quote, since in Spanish these rules are different and I keep making the same mistakes, or how to use the dash. However, it's a nice short course where I learned a lot about Parallel Structures and commas.

By Maria J S d C G

Jan 27, 2016

There's some room for improvement, that's for sure. The last video was really bad, not because of the content, but because the Professor was very sloppy in her speaking.

I also think there should be more practice exercises and a better way to know if the answers were correct.

But overall, was very happy with it.

By Raj N

Dec 6, 2017

It was not what I was looking for, but it helped me review some of the basics that I had forgotten. Explanations were very clear and to the point. However, the practice activities didn't work, so I had to then practice on the other major Grammar-based websites. Thank you for the effort in putting this course.

By Kanika A

Sep 30, 2020

It is a good course; gives an overview about tenses and a detailed training about how and when to use punctuation correctly. It also talks about the 4 types of sentences and how to use them effectively while writing. It enhances my understanding of the subject matter and boost my confidence for the same.

By Jason M

Jan 23, 2016

Maybe, I missed the information about this course being focused towards non-native speakers. Was this course focus to that target audience? As a native-English speaker, I found this course a bit easy. However, I enjoyed the refresher, and I will use this information in future courses. Thank you!

By Gutta S G

May 18, 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot. This is my first course in coursera, also I am very confused with English sentence formation. Now, I learnt a lot and will try to apply the most of this knowledge practically. I, also wished to have prepositions part in this, which is only disappointment for me.