Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,775 ratings
5,413 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filter by:

4526 - 4550 of 5,384 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Devika R

May 24, 2020

I am really satisfied with this course. With the help of this course , I have improved my English writing skills. I have learned a lot of new things, and I am really glad that I took up this course.

By Yufan L

Jan 16, 2016

The terminology is likely to be difficult for ESLs, and the guidance is likely too easy for native speakers.

Spent most of the time on 2.0x speed and multitasking because it wasn't nuanced enough.

By Gomer J L

Jun 8, 2020

This is my first time in Coursera, and I am amazingly impressed by this toolkit. However, some features for the commas and sentence variety practice test did not pop up. I hope it can be fixed.

By Samagra a

Jun 28, 2019

this course really helped me increase my knowledge about writing grammatically correct sentences and paragraphs , if you are looking to increase your level of writing , this course is for you.

By Helena C D B

Feb 14, 2016

Very good, But I missed some more practical exercises on writing. For us, non-native english speakers sometimes it is very difficult to identify our mistakes. But the whole module is very good.

By Shervin H

Nov 30, 2020

Actually It's great to learn punctuation. But the whole focus is on punctuatuion and some details in writing. It is great for people who are starting to learn how to write an academic writing.

By Altaf H N

May 11, 2020

As beginner in research area this is first milestone in academic writing, I have read and done lots of online courses. This provide better understanding with proper style and learning method.

By ABDULLAH A N

Apr 7, 2020

It is really exciting course though I failed two times to complete it. I think the instructor voice should br mo cleared.This is informative but need more clear the section. Thanks, Coursera.

By NGUYEN N T A

Mar 27, 2020

The course is so helpful which reminds me a lots of grammar and word uses. However, I find it inconvenient when I need to use Firefox in some lessons. Chrome will be preferred, in my opinion.

By GAURAV

Sep 24, 2016

Very Much Useful to Student Community, particularly when these are given in form of assignments to student groups. the videos are interesting at the same time it gives a joy of Fun Learning

By R. D H

Mar 20, 2020

Instructions and actions in some of the practices are neither intuitive nor are they clear. It appears that some are written with the assumption that a student has taken the class before.

By Nidhi D

Aug 9, 2020

It was a great experience to go through this course. It gave me more insight into the sentence making. I really learned the use of commas and other punctuation, really enjoyed the course.

By Paola S

Mar 1, 2017

In my opinion, it was a good course because it was well structured, understandable and easy to follow. Even tough I found it useful, I would like to find more content on english grammar.

By Lita W

Sep 2, 2021

Yes, I completed the course, but I don't feel totally confident that I know all of the content. For example, I need more help with parallel structure and comma use in complex sentences.

By Nguyen D K

Jun 21, 2020

The course is great with basic knowledge about the grammar and punctuation.

However, it is quite difficult to do the exercise (some files are good, the others have to be done in Firefox)

By BEGIN

Jan 18, 2016

I recommend this class to anyone willing to know how to punctuate and use correct tenses in English. The grammar rules are clearly explained and illustrated with many helpful examples.

By Lucas A

Apr 20, 2021

Excelent course, in a lesson the participant must upload a file, I believe it's a simple err.

Some information couldn't be open using Microsoft Edge.

The others componets are excelents!

By Pankti S

Mar 3, 2021

Best course for quick revision n grammar rules and usage. It is also perfect for a new learner to have some knowledge. The exercises and assignments add some more value o the course.

By Ji K

May 18, 2016

The course is quite informative and useful. However, I think the charge of 60e is too high since the skills introduced are both elementary and limited. 10e would be a proper price.

By melody s

Dec 22, 2020

My first online course with Coursera was a great experience.

Refreshingly, I was able to re-learn the placing of punctuations, as well as, using the correct sentence structures.

By Girish K

Oct 2, 2015

The course was short and to the point which helped me understanding the use of punctuations specially Comma and semi colon and different types of sentence structures and variety.

By Karen

Oct 17, 2020

The content of the course is excellent; however, the course would be more beneficial if the instructors would provide feedback to the students as opposed to only peer feedback.

By Isla A

Jul 10, 2020

The coure is amazing and really helpful! However, not everybody has Firefox, and it is hard to download on the internet, so they may miss the opportunities to take some quizes.

By Akshat S

Mar 27, 2016

The course is apt for the people who are adept at speaking and amateur in writing. The course definitely improved the way I frame and put out my sentences for readers to read.

By Abdul K

Jun 12, 2020

I'm very glad to this course, but I suffered to open the links as I'm a mobile user.

I request Coursera to work on that issue;provide the links which can be open in phone,too.