Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,759 ratings
5,409 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4601 - 4625 of 5,379 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By SHAJAN J P S

Apr 21, 2020

It's interesting. I am unsure if the feedbacks that I give or receive is correct. It would be helpful if someone moderates and verifies it.

By Robert E L

Feb 11, 2016

The course is good, but I think it will be even better if it covers more about the 16 tenses, more punctuation, and capitalization. Thanks!

By SiefElDin S

Feb 4, 2021

The course could use better form of assignments, more challenging or maybe something that actually helps reinforcing what we have learnt.

By Masaya I

Aug 13, 2020

If you take this course, you will be able to use commas effectively. In addition, you can know the steps when you write an English essay.

By Tatiane S D B

Mar 27, 2019

I would have bought the course, but it was very expensive for me. Because of this I didn't have acess to all content and I could't enjoy.

By Camilo J H

Dec 10, 2017

Good course. I would have liked to do more practice excersises since it is different to analyse sentences than to write my own sentences.

By Thảo L

Sep 15, 2020

The course is great and I improved a lot about the gaps in my English knowledge. However, the additional works sometimes don't work well

By José C E

Oct 29, 2015

Of the English grammar courses I've enrolled to, this is the easiest to understand, not to mention enjoyable.

Don't hesitate to enroll!

By Vikas R

Aug 10, 2017

i have learn a lot from this course. i have an excellent experience of this course.

really wonderful i don't have words to define it...

By Kalyana C

May 9, 2020

The faculty has explained everything clearly, and the preparation quiz had helped me a lot in knowing how much i learned the concept.

By Raga R G

Feb 25, 2016

Focused too much on commas. Could have incorporated other grammar elements as well. Nevertheless, a very good, easy-to-follow course.

By Nomena I R

Sep 23, 2020

This course helped me review some concepts of writing I totally forgot. It also introduced me to simple ways to improve my writing.

By Pao R

Feb 8, 2020

I like the course. It explain a lot of Punctuation, but I rather prefer that the course have more grammar and Punctuation exercises

By AFSHAN

Jun 16, 2020

It was a great experience. Peer feedbacks were great, and I learnt a lot of things. A lot of other grammar doubts got cleared too.

By Tan J R

Sep 8, 2019

The overall of this course was great ! Just a pity that the practices provided was often cannot be opened and crashed. Thank you !

By ZHONG W

Feb 6, 2016

I like this course very much! It just shares some simple principle, which I didn't pay much attention before! I did learn a lot!

By Wail M E A

Dec 30, 2015

Generally, the course is very good and was really useful for me. I just expected that it covers the use of all punctuation marks.

By Kay M

Jun 8, 2020

The course content is good. However, I experienced several technical issues and was unable to access the practice worksheets.

By MANJUNATH K

May 24, 2020

Very good experience and also went through some tough times to get this job done.So i thank you for this wonderful course time.

By Fatma O

Mar 11, 2020

I LOVE IT ...

THIS COURSE HAS HELPED ME A LOT IN MANY WAYS

I WOULD LOVE TO THANK COURSERA FOR GIVING ME THIS BIG OPPORTUNITY !!!

By Francesco M

Aug 28, 2019

Very helpful as introduction and review of punctuation and verbs. Some technical issues appear for the additional exercises :'(

By Sebastian Z

Jul 19, 2018

It is OK if you have learnt grammar and punctuation systematically. Quite glad that it solves some of my doubts in punctuation.

By sai k

Mar 7, 2016

After completing this course,i have a good knowledge on the types of sentences.I have learnt a lot from this course.Thank You..

By Muhammad O

Sep 7, 2019

Great syllabus and useful content but unfortunately some links of the exercises were not working. So please check these links.

By Gonzalo C

Nov 5, 2017

This was an easy course, the videos are short, but the suggested material helps to remember lots of "easy to forget concepts".