Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,639 ratings
5,384 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4601 - 4625 of 5,351 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Shweta M

May 31, 2020

This course was really great and I learned so much about different types of sentences and where to use commas and where not.

By sasikumar

Apr 19, 2020

Thanks for setup this course for learning grammar and punctuation,i hope i have learnt some thing which i have not aware of.

By Angelica

Feb 12, 2017

It would be grate if they can offer a course about explanation of more English grammar and Tenses (especially Perfect Tense)

By Manish P S

Oct 20, 2015

Simple, fast-paced and cohesive. If you want to know your shortcomings in writing, this is the course you need to enroll in.

By Sameer S

Jul 31, 2020

It's really awesome course. At first, I thought I am wasting my time, but it's worthy. And thanks for this dazzling course.

By Brandon D

May 27, 2020

Many of the links in the practice modules did not work. But otherwise, the class is very informative and a great refresher.

By Gowtham R

Apr 24, 2019

Great course to learn about types of verbs, conjunctions, punctuation (commas), sentence varieties and, parallel structure.

By kawsar a s

Dec 14, 2015

Its a very helpful experience. Highly recommended to others who encounter grammatical and punctuation problem occasionally.

By Rajib A

Dec 11, 2015

Thanks a lot. I learned some solid stuffs that I mistakenly thought I'd known already. A real eye opener. Thanks a zillion.

By Adil E M

May 9, 2020

Altough I have an intermediate level in English, I have learned how to punctuate correctly sentences. Thank you very much.

By Akshay K

Jun 21, 2020

Very helpful for students who wants write essay very efficiently and to recollect the grammar in a short time.

thank you .

By thalyta

Feb 13, 2018

I would rather have been reviewed by a teacher than my peers, and get a real feedback.

But i have learnt a lot. Thank you.

By Visahavel P

Jun 4, 2016

This is a good refresher on one's grammar and punctuation.

It's an absolute bummer that the quizzes are behind a paywall.

By Harshit

Dec 30, 2015

It is a good course for polishing skills; however, excludes usage of several other punctuations which are often confused.

By Camillia M

Nov 10, 2015

Good lesson for me! That's great! I understand about grammar and punctuation. I am improving my skill. Thank you teacher.

By Mohammed N H

Apr 7, 2020

It's a good course that help to know verb tense and how to punctuate correctly

Thank's for everyone who made this course

By Adnan G

Aug 30, 2020

This is a good course for improving writing, specially parallel structure and sentence variety improves writing skills.

By Maurice E

May 2, 2017

Great starting point for grammar and punctuation. The teachers point out essential information to understand the rules.

By ZHANGTINGRUI

Aug 28, 2020

My suggestion is that the sentence structure section should be precedes section involves usage of semicolon and comma.

By Omar

Aug 13, 2020

I think that the instructors should try to be more energetic and be on camera more for more face to face interaction.

By Claudia T P E

Sep 13, 2020

Everything is excellente but you should check the complementary links that go up because sometimes they are disabled

By PRATEEK T

Jul 21, 2017

The course is a well thought one .The material can be enhanced to accommodate more rules and usages into the course.

By Soledad R

Mar 1, 2016

I really enjoy practicing with this course. It contains clear explanations and a good variety of practice exercises.

By Aeshita K

Aug 8, 2020

It's a very nice course if you want to correct your English grammar, and you want to punctuate sentences correctly.

By Marwa N M

Aug 26, 2019

It's very interesting course in easy way

But it's better to get a pdf file containing the the material in the course