Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,166 ratings
5,238 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 5,186 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Rabab K

Feb 25, 2018

It was a great course. I know now everything about punctuation and the different types of sentence. In addition to that, I had a quick view on how to improve my writing. I found very clear, well-organized, and easy to follow as well. Thanks.

By Hakan E K

Dec 7, 2016

I really appreciated for all your effort to created this classroom.This class helped me so much;in addition to this experience I am also very happy to attend your classroom.I have upgraded my confidence since I started to take this classroom.

By mohamed l

Oct 3, 2020

I have done this course. I can say that I recommend it to everyone, it does help you with the grammar, punctuation and rules to embark on the journey toward better writing. I am hoping that this review will convince you to do so. Good luck !

By Lidiia S

May 7, 2020

I like the course because I've never studied English punctuation before. Furthermore, I think now it will be easier to write essays. My texts earlier seemed like 'I am Groot. I a m G r o o t', but I hope since now, it will be better. Thanks!

By Mariam A

Jun 10, 2018

This course is a good introductory to grammar and punctuation basics. There is so much focus on commas which is so helpful as well as the different types of sentences, so it forms a good base if you want to do more advanced grammar later on.

By Zulhumor

Dec 7, 2020

This course was easy to follow.The examples were clear to understand.My coursemates were also responsible.They all tried to support me.Thank you for everybody.I do hope that now I will write correctly not only grammarly but also punctually.

By Dr. U P

May 27, 2020

it is a great course - very well designed. I learnt many new things that I did not know. This course has improved my knowledge about punctuation marks, sentence types and many more. I would surely recommend others to enrol for this course.

By Pattita N

May 16, 2020

it was very helpful, and i understand about how to use punctuation, and grammer a lot better than before! To be honest, I am impressed, and i highly recommend if you are hesitant joining this course. Trust me you won't regret even a bit!

By Sophia B

Apr 14, 2020

This course was so helpful for me. Coursera explained things in an easy way that taught the basic but essential rules when it comes to grammar and punctuation. Learning these things will help me in college and future jobs, I just know it.

By 宾酱

Jan 15, 2018

It`s a nice class, the fellow students give me much useful advice, and the comments under my first class instruction really moved me. Also, I have learned many important grammar points that I didn`t notice as real as I do in this lesson.

By Angeles R

Jan 9, 2016

Very clear and useful information. I already enrolled to the following course within the specialisation. the only thing is that would love to be able to download and ebook, or something similar with the information provided on the course.

By Mohammad u

Jul 30, 2020

This is the best to get started with punctuation and grammar. It is short and precise. They provide all the necessary resources required also additional resources for you to improve and get better at it. Definitely recommend this course.

By Christian R B C

May 21, 2020

This course is awesome. You can learn a lot of grammar and punctuation topics. Additionally, the professors explain everything really well, and the activities and quizzes are interesting and easy-understanding. I recommend it completely.

By tria p

Apr 27, 2016

really nice and good can be learn in this course, l studied many words that known about grammar and punctuation in English language. assignment of this course is helping me to improve my language. the lecture look at good and friendly..

By Daryl B

Nov 21, 2017

This is course is so easy yet helpful. I learned a lot from the different videos and practices. I will surely recommend this to my peers, because it is not only educational but also fun to take. Thank you to all who made this possible.

By Meghal S

Jul 18, 2016

I like this Course very much.

Hope to do next course.

I have learned how to punctuate sentences correctly.

This will help me to write sentences in good and proper manner.

Thank you all the Professors, Mentors, and University of California.

By MD A

Apr 25, 2020

This is the first course in the academic writing series. I am excited to take other course in this series since it can improve my English writing significantly. Thanks University of California, Irvine for offering such a great course!

By Ayah H I

Jul 13, 2020

The video lectures are clear and easy to understand. The practice quizzes also really helped me to understand more the topics. Furthermore, there are additional resources for me to go in depth of the grammar and usage of punctuation.

By SHRIKUMAR M

Dec 29, 2019

The course was well structured and the concise but simple videos were really helpful in understanding the basics of grammar and punctuation. The assessments were well designed to not only test concept clarity but in a graded fashion.

By Ahmed A

Jul 12, 2018

This course have made me more confident in my writing skill through its brief lessons, exercises, peer-graded assignments, and help to spot my writing weaknesses and mistakes. I'm looking forward to complete the whole specialization.

By Arsalan J

Oct 16, 2015

I am finding this course very useful for me. Some places I lack using some correct verbs and sometimes not seeing parallel structure of the sentence, this course is helping me identifying those areas which are needed to be corrected.

By Sarah L

Jun 2, 2021

Great overview of commas. I wish there was more information about apostrophe's and quotations, but maybe that's in a different course. Regardless, even as a native English speaker I benefited from brushing up on these grammar rules.

By Ana M

May 28, 2020

Me pareció un curso muy completo. El material que nos ofrecen es muy claro y organizado; esto nos permite comprender la informacion. También me agradó que nos conectaran con otros sitios web que tienen más información al respecto.

By Paula J E

Oct 1, 2020

This course is a great help. It made me refresh all my English lessons from the past. If you really want to upgrade your writing skills, you should really start in reviewing and mastering your grammar and punctuation. Thank you!

By Atheena H

Jul 18, 2020

Excellent course wonderfully taught by some of best English Professors. This course not only provides an opportunity to learn but also to explore more beyond our limits. Moreover, this course is suitable to all kinds of learners.