Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,766 ratings
5,411 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

Filter by:

4476 - 4500 of 5,383 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Jason M

Jan 23, 2016

Maybe, I missed the information about this course being focused towards non-native speakers. Was this course focus to that target audience? As a native-English speaker, I found this course a bit easy. However, I enjoyed the refresher, and I will use this information in future courses. Thank you!

By Gutta S G

May 18, 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot. This is my first course in coursera, also I am very confused with English sentence formation. Now, I learnt a lot and will try to apply the most of this knowledge practically. I, also wished to have prepositions part in this, which is only disappointment for me.

By Learner4Life

Apr 10, 2016

Thanks for providing us this opportunity. It was a very nice course. There are few things which might help improve the course:

- For a four-weeks course, I feel the material was not enough. I feel there is room to add more items like the use of hyphens, colons, and determiners.

Thanks again.

By Nipun N

Jul 5, 2020

A beginners course for writing correct English sentences. The course carries a good amount of examples to practice which proves really helpful. Though some of the exercise through the links are not loading. Overall, a great course to start with if you wish to revise your basic English.

By Christian A M R

Jul 13, 2017

The course was excellent! But I think you can focus on other important aspects of punctuation or grammar (like run-on sentences). On the other hand, when doing the peer assignment, I think the way students give feedback each other could be improved. Above all, I'd recommend the course.

By Bhavna K

Aug 14, 2018

The material in this course is super helpful, but I wished there would be weekly discussion forums to discuss the problems with the weekly materials. Also, the practice exercise links do not work most of the time. Nothing is displayed at the page after clicking on the link.

By Anthony B

Jan 20, 2022

There is only one issue I have with this course. The videos auto size, and when they reach the largest resolution; all the video controls disappear. I can only pause or play the video. If I missed something I would have to wait 'til the video is finished, then restart it.

By Rita Z

Feb 21, 2017

This course provides a very good introduction on punctuation and parallel sentences. Also, it introduces how to write good essay. My suggestion would be that the course could reduce sometime in the week1 learning and add more content in the sentences writing. Thank you.

By Safiyah H

Nov 27, 2015

I can see the improvement in myself and in the other students in the peer reviews. This course took me a little by surprise by how fun it was, I hadn't expected it. I recommend this course, especially to foreigners who want to learn how to use the English language.

By Aly M

Jun 27, 2020

The course was very good, but we are missing the help center and the discussion board.

I finished the course and still didn't find the Group discussion icon. The help center is not active at all. Also, I have no clue why the search engine in the Arabic language.

By Nguyen P H

Sep 21, 2017

It was helpful to review the grammar I have accumulated throughout the years.

The punctuation rules are surprisingly interesting. I never really looked into the stuff so this was also useful, especially since I'm really particular about my essay presentation.

By Chieko T

Apr 6, 2019

It’s a very useful course, but peer-graded-system is not a good idea for English beginners. Some people give good advices, but others don’t have skills to give correct advices. Some advices were rather confusing. Taking quiz is better than peer-graded one.

By Wendy J

Aug 20, 2020

I wished at first they will let you practice before asking if we have any questions, also i never knew if what i said to the others students was correct or no, regarthless i really like the structure of the course and the lectures were also very helpful.

By Ioana

Oct 19, 2021

I​ liked the punctuation part as it was very helpful to me, but the grammar was presented too briefly to be useful. Also, it is the first course I've taken where the forum discussions weren't available to all learners, which was a surprise.

By Nima F

Apr 22, 2019

Great course on the basics of good grammar and Punctuation. I feel there is a lot more to grammar than what is provided; however, this is a great start for anyone looking to polish up on verb tenses, basic sentence structure and punctuation.

By Viviana R

Jul 10, 2020

I would be better if we can interchange comments with classmates when someone grades a task. Because, they can leave a message about the mistakes but you can't reply them. Which doesn't allow us to make feedback or ask them about the grade.

By Ellie K

Mar 19, 2016

Good course! Don't be leave the course if the pre-course test results suggest you may be too good for the course. The grammar part was a review for the most part, but the punctuation section taught me a good deal of the rules I didn't know.

By Yohan A

Oct 19, 2015

This course is simple and easy to follow. The lesson that had a great impact on me was about commas. When I learned about it's proper usage, I realized how long I'd been using commas in the wrong way! Thank you UC Irvine for this course! ;)

By Giulia D

Jan 2, 2016

I found this course very useful and instructive. I finally could learn some rules which my teachers were never able to clearly explain to me.

It is only a pity that I could not receive a certificate of attendance without paying the fee...

By Fariha S

Jun 30, 2020

It was fun learning however, the criteria should be strict when us learners are answering questions and not give us second chances to correct ourselves.

Secondly,

Would the certificate be useful if I want to apply outside my own country?

By BEYZANUR P

Mar 14, 2021

You should take this course. Because this course very useful for your essay writing and punctuation. Thanks for everything:) I gave four stars, because some exercises don't open. However, the rest of the course will be helpful for you.

By Moussa s

Nov 1, 2019

Well taking this course helps me a lot in my academic writing and it's full of knowledge. As you know am a writer and that course is really interesting and I gain skills on that. Now i feel comfortable and i enjoy writring. Thank a lot

By Danielle C

Jan 3, 2018

This was a great refresher course for me. It has been quite a few years since I studied grammar and punctuation, and I found that I had forgotten certain rules. My only problem was with some technical glitches. Otherwise, great course.

By Churamani P

Sep 22, 2015

The course focuses on some of the most important aspects of English grammar which are used frequently. Also, these are the topics where students tend to make mistakes. However, few additional topics could have been added to the course

By Safa B P

May 10, 2020

It was a good experience. Even though I'm an undergraduate student, these were some basic knowledge I was not completely aware of. I might have forgotten many rules. This helped me to strengthen my foundation. I do had a great time.