Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
17,633 ratings
5,383 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH
Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4626 - 4650 of 5,350 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Manosh C H

Apr 18, 2020

The course material and lectures were simple and understandable, but some practice materials do not work properly.

By Jed R B

May 3, 2019

The Course is delivered very well. Also it helps learners to easily get what the exercises and lesson it delivers.

By Raditya D

Jan 31, 2021

It's informative and good, but it's not really that fun or interactive. So, I think this is good but not amazing.

By Miguel A A

Jan 12, 2016

At the beginning it starts a little bit slow, but later on it speeds up and it becomes interesting and educative.

By Inmaculada

Apr 6, 2020

It is a good course to improve your skills ( Grammar and Punctuation). The way that the course use is brilliant.

By Shubham S

Jan 25, 2018

Cleared the confussion for commas and semicolons.Great course for beginners who want to start exploring writing.

By Fang D

Apr 29, 2018

Basic but useful cause. I've learned something new that my Enlish teachers never mentioned back in the college.

By Ho L T

Jul 10, 2017

It's not content many information, but it's useful, especially about the comma and semicolon usage. Thank you!

By Ashmin S

May 8, 2020

I like the explanation of the chapters. However, something else could be used instead or peer-to-peer review.

By Ifeoluwa D

Aug 23, 2019

This served as a good reminder of the basics in English which are easily forgotten and overlooked. Thank you.

By LEE, Y

Mar 27, 2019

Not bad, but I want to more information about tense. i hope the tense course need to put lots of information.

By Swati G

Oct 4, 2015

It explains various grammar rules in a very clear and concise manner. Eager to learn more of English grammar.

By Ghada H

Aug 7, 2019

It is good for people with intermediate people. have many tricks i never know before. i have enjoyed my time

By FENG X D

Jan 17, 2019

I mostly feel satisify with this course, but actually speaking, it seems that we can add more content in it.

By Pawan S

Jun 25, 2018

Course structure was really good. It would have been better if there would have been more practice problems.

By hua y

Dec 31, 2017

I had a good experience with this course.

It'll be even better if there can be a review plan for the course.

By Joy D

Oct 16, 2016

This was a great refresher course for basic grammar. I would love to take the next level up if there is one!

By Camila L

Sep 18, 2016

I'm still a little confused on some things, but otherwise great course! I really think I have learned a lot.

By Fahmida H

May 3, 2020

I like the course materials, but I think it will be great if there are more practice sentences and quizzes.

By Deleted A

Mar 15, 2019

I didnt expect the understanding and learning, that I had when I started the course online. Thank you Team.

By Lan X

Jan 12, 2016

This course is a good review of what I have learnt before, and it clears out some confusions. Quite useful.

By shayesteh s

Apr 9, 2021

The course was practical and to the point; however, creativity and fun assignments are the things missing.

By Joaquín S

Nov 28, 2020

Está muy bueno y bien explicado, lastima que algunas practicas no cargan, por lo tanto no se pueden hacer.

By Megumi T

Jan 27, 2020

The explanation is simple, so that you can understand the rules of punctuation easily through this course.

By Hanyan Z

Oct 26, 2020

It was a very useful course, and I learned how to use punctuation and how to create variety of sentences.