Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,579 ratings

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

MH

Nov 5, 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI

Jul 2, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filter by:

4651 - 4675 of 5,606 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Sami L

Nov 26, 2015

A concise review of punctuation and (some) grammar associated with punctuation rules in the grammar. A perfect choice for anyone wanting to review punctuation rules swiftly. However, those who would like to review grammar of the English language might not get all what they wanted from this course, which covers only what is relevant to punctuation.

By Alexander V

May 2, 2016

A really helpful and detailed course. You really can go trough it for four hours and gain quite useful knowledge about the punctuation and the correct way of structuring your essay. The only recommendation I would have is to give up on the adobe flash technology for the practice tests and use java script and simple html.

Thanks for the course.

By Ugo O

May 21, 2018

Very good step-by-step pedagogy! Learn a few things, that I will keep in mind. But, I believe this is for beginners, or people who have big issues with grammar. I can imagine this is also very good for people whose native language has nothing in common with English. I was playing the videos 2x faster, as I had understood where this was going.

By محمد م ه ع

Sep 3, 2020

I enjoyed this course. Highly educational and useful. I had so much fun following the videos and completing the quizzes. I'd say I had improved a lot since I started. The problem is, some of the practicing apps in the course don't work, which made me frustrated. I hope they fix them, so the students can get the full potentials of the course.

By Kirstie F P

Nov 7, 2020

I really love Miss Tamy Chapman's soothing voice and her well-enunciated words. Because of her, I've decided to enroll in another class of hers. However, I do suggest brief explanations on certain English terminologies in the video lectures. Not all of us remember what a gerund or an infinitive is. Overall, I enjoyed the modules.

By Shahoriar N

Jun 14, 2020

I was looking for a course that can sum up my knowledge regarding grammar and punctuation. For this purpose, I found the Grammar and Punctuation course is the best fit. The whole program was great; I liked the interactive learning section. The video contents seems a bit brief to me, except this, I loved this course. Thank you.

By Kamilia H

Aug 1, 2020

This course is a great refreshment about Grammar and a helpful guide about Punctuation. The materials are very easy to understand. What i really like about this course is that it is very informative without being too long. The quiz could be improved since it is only fully accessible via a certain browser. Thank you, Coursera!

By Srishti R

Sep 25, 2019

A good course for everyone who already knows grammar but wants to revise everything. Also, it does an amazing job at clarifying your doubts regarding the most difficult aspects of English grammar. However, this is not a course for zero level beginners because it does expect you to know basic concepts already before enrolling.

By Deepak

Jul 12, 2020

The course is very helpful, and the instructor communicates very efficiently with the students. There is only one problem that some of the links in the course are only accessible through desktop and not through smartphone. But that's only a miner issue, which I am certain that the technical team would resolve quickly.

By stacyg

Aug 18, 2020

This is a good course for learning English as a second language, and I learned a few things, but if you're looking to learn advanced grammatical concepts in English, I would recommend other classes above this one. This course has a lot of useful exercises and interaction with your classmates, which are very helpful.

By Athar A

Mar 24, 2018

The best feature of the course is that it was well organized and of highly advanced level. The material in tutorial was appropriate and it increased my interest in the given field. At - last, but not least the instructor deliver the course contents in an efficient wy. She also dealt the problems of all the peers.

By Schinell

Feb 27, 2016

It was an excellent refresher course.

The course included a lot of student reviews. In my opinion there was a plus and a negative to this. It was great at inspiring student interaction; however, because the teacher didn't review the work after, if the student had a misguided interpretation it may lead you astray.

By Paula D C

Sep 25, 2017

I enrolled hoping to learn more about other punctuation marks, such as: how to place periods when you have a quote, since in Spanish these rules are different and I keep making the same mistakes, or how to use the dash. However, it's a nice short course where I learned a lot about Parallel Structures and commas.

By Maria J S d C G

Jan 27, 2016

There's some room for improvement, that's for sure. The last video was really bad, not because of the content, but because the Professor was very sloppy in her speaking.

I also think there should be more practice exercises and a better way to know if the answers were correct.

But overall, was very happy with it.

By N.R.K. G

Dec 6, 2017

It was not what I was looking for, but it helped me review some of the basics that I had forgotten. Explanations were very clear and to the point. However, the practice activities didn't work, so I had to then practice on the other major Grammar-based websites. Thank you for the effort in putting this course.

By Kanika A

Sep 30, 2020

It is a good course; gives an overview about tenses and a detailed training about how and when to use punctuation correctly. It also talks about the 4 types of sentences and how to use them effectively while writing. It enhances my understanding of the subject matter and boost my confidence for the same.

By Jason M

Jan 23, 2016

Maybe, I missed the information about this course being focused towards non-native speakers. Was this course focus to that target audience? As a native-English speaker, I found this course a bit easy. However, I enjoyed the refresher, and I will use this information in future courses. Thank you!

By Gutta S G

May 18, 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot. This is my first course in coursera, also I am very confused with English sentence formation. Now, I learnt a lot and will try to apply the most of this knowledge practically. I, also wished to have prepositions part in this, which is only disappointment for me.

By Learner4Life

Apr 10, 2016

Thanks for providing us this opportunity. It was a very nice course. There are few things which might help improve the course:

- For a four-weeks course, I feel the material was not enough. I feel there is room to add more items like the use of hyphens, colons, and determiners.

Thanks again.

By Andrea L

Apr 21, 2022

I enjoyed this course so much. It's pedagogical and allows you to learn some rules of writing that, usually, other english courses don't do. What I would like to add is more exercise in the coursera platform, besides the exercises on the links and the group activities.

Thank you so much!

By Nipun N

Jul 5, 2020

A beginners course for writing correct English sentences. The course carries a good amount of examples to practice which proves really helpful. Though some of the exercise through the links are not loading. Overall, a great course to start with if you wish to revise your basic English.

By Christian A M R

Jul 13, 2017

The course was excellent! But I think you can focus on other important aspects of punctuation or grammar (like run-on sentences). On the other hand, when doing the peer assignment, I think the way students give feedback each other could be improved. Above all, I'd recommend the course.

By Bhavna K

Aug 14, 2018

The material in this course is super helpful, but I wished there would be weekly discussion forums to discuss the problems with the weekly materials. Also, the practice exercise links do not work most of the time. Nothing is displayed at the page after clicking on the link.

By Anthony B

Jan 20, 2022

There is only one issue I have with this course. The videos auto size, and when they reach the largest resolution; all the video controls disappear. I can only pause or play the video. If I missed something I would have to wait 'til the video is finished, then restart it.

By Rita Z

Feb 21, 2017

This course provides a very good introduction on punctuation and parallel sentences. Also, it introduces how to write good essay. My suggestion would be that the course could reduce sometime in the week1 learning and add more content in the sentences writing. Thank you.