Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,236 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 231 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Hector E

Aug 30, 2016

Although this course is rich in content, it lacks a lot of perspective around The History of Graphic Design, since it only talks from the american point of view.

By Vijayasundaram M

Mar 01, 2017

The course was well structured; and provided opportunity to seek and learn more on the topics dicussed

By Nene W

Feb 22, 2017

I learnt quite alot about design luminaries. Would prefer if it was truely global but still a very interesting course

By Virginia L

Nov 17, 2017

I love the examples, the theory behind without being too didactic. It could be longer

By Megan C

Aug 15, 2016

This was a very interesting and informative addition to this specialization. I loved the lecturer's style, and found this to be one of my favourite offerings so far. Very much looking forward to the capstone course and project.

By 当英直

Oct 24, 2016

Clear pattern of graphic design history!

By Clara

Jul 27, 2016

it gives a good understanding of graphic design evolution from post second WW to contemporary time. Very focused on American design.

By Lauren M

Jul 18, 2017

I didn't feel like I learned much from this course that I didn't learn in the intro course. I understand there are a lot of way to make and display images, but I didn't think the assignments were that helpful.

By Elizabeth O

Dec 18, 2017

Interesting and informative. More historic and research based than creating and doing. The professeur's lectures were bit fragmented and scattered at times which made it more difficult to follow, but great information overall.

By E. C C

Apr 06, 2017

Solid, if minimal introduction to some points from the History of Graphic Design.

By Maria B

Sep 12, 2017

i would prefer more insight into the european design

By Joly F Z

Aug 08, 2018

It gives a quick overview of key milestones in graphic design history through examples. It is very enjoyable and I have learnt to analyse the design thinking behind different work and appreciate design more.

By Tereza K

Aug 13, 2018

I've learned a lot thanks to this course. It is a great part of whole specialization because of the brief introduction to the history. It is very clearly described and inspiring. Actually I would appreciate to continue with my education about history :) So I can just recommend this course.

By Joy S

Oct 01, 2018

I am not into art. Nevertheless, this class and the others in this specialty were surprisingly interesting.

By Nicholas S H

May 06, 2019

I would like to know about how graphic design occurred in non-US or European countries.

By David M

Nov 04, 2019

It was fun and helpful to view other designer's work through different generations. This course was a great way to view references and become inspired with certain techniques and new approaches to graphic design.

By Amor S

Oct 16, 2019

If there are some recommendation for reading, it would be better.

By Samantha F

Apr 05, 2019

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

By Sami L

Dec 06, 2016

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

By Arshla J

Sep 24, 2016

Informative and sometimes fascinating.

By Dmitrii P

Apr 09, 2017

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text

By Luis H R

Jul 03, 2016

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

By Megan M

Jun 15, 2017

This class is very informative and well put together. Slightly boring and dry, because there aren't any creative projects, mostly just research. Its an important and useful class though.

By Wellington A M d S

Dec 26, 2016

The tutoring quality are over the top teaching with well done mentoring and high quality materials. But I felt a lack of coverage of other graphic design of other cultures such as other countries where many ideas were born. ie: Africa and Asia.

By Sayem

Dec 15, 2017

The assignments should have been more focused towards creating rather than writing.